We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service; comfortable seating; water views; good food”

Bayes Southern Bar & Grill
Ranked #36 of 153 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Description: New Southern theme restaurant in Orange Beach. We pride ourselves in having great food and friendly service.
Restaurant details
Description: New Southern theme restaurant in Orange Beach. We pride ourselves in having great food and friendly service.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

They get it---if you pair good food with great service, you will build a loyal following. We had the crab cakes, fish tacos and the steak salad. The offerings were generous and tasty. Our server was very attentive. The outside seating is oppressively hot during the day but is pleasant in the evening. We will be back.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Truman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Hubby and I visit the Wharf several of times each month for drinks and dinner. After reading the reviews, we decided to try Bayes. It was a great experience with excellent service. Nice atmosphere, pretty decor and right on the canal. We dined inside. Steak and redfish were both excellent. Can't wait to try other menu items. Bayes is also convenient to the Expressway with plenty of parking at Springhill Suites.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank KimmieSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager m, General Manager at Bayes Southern Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Thank you for your review, come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

I just selected this restaurant for the location and reviews on TripAdvisor. It was my birthday (we didn’t tell the restaurant!) and I was so hoping it was going to be good. We were very pleasantly surprised. My husband had the mahi mahi and I had the shrimp and grits. The parmesan grits and tasso sauce/gravy were so good, the shrimp wasn’t even needed!! We will definitely be back later this summer.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager m, General Manager at Bayes Southern Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Thank you for coming, it seems we owe you a white chocolate bread budding for your birthday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

We went in for dinner with a fairly large group. Service was good from the start. Crab cakes were a good starter. I enjoyed the lightly blackened red fish for dinner. The restaurant sits on the water next to a marina. Good location.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Callitlikeyouseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager m, General Manager at Bayes Southern Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Thank you for your time in review Bayes. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

The whole atmosphere here was a little weird to us. Swanky restaurant atmosphere with cornhole to play outside. We ate outside since it was a nice evening, and it felt cold inside the restaurant. But, we were quite annoyed by all the bugs that kept landing on our table. Tiki lights or candles would have been helpful. The bright light that were on kept attracting bugs. For all the money we were paying on the food, we expected better service. Took a while just to get water refills. Food was good, but not the best we've had. I had crab cakes (appetizer) for my meal with smashed potatoes as a side. They were tasty, but the presentation was weird to me. It was served on a skillet on top a bed of lettuce and strawberry vinaigrette. It would have been great if the salad was served on the side and not in the skillet. The lettuce was soggy and way too much of it. Hubby ordered steak well done, but it came medium well. Kids had chicken fingers with fries, which they loved. On a positive note, their cesar salad was huge and delicious!! Overall it just wasn't our thing, so we probably won't come back here.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank jlgrayson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayes Southern Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bayes Southern Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing