We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to love?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I see all the recent negative reviews and am wondering how there could be such a disparity. We are (still) in an executive suite at the end and it is big and lovely. The bed is very comfortable, the view divine. There is a sink area inside the shower room and another sink area outside the shower room. We are watching the Masters on a 42" TV. The bed is topped by a big soft white comforter (not one of those "partial coverlets" so many hotels have). The front desk was very helpful checking in. The chaise lounges at the beach have shades to pull up if you want them and umbrellas to use if that's not enough shade. The pool area is beautiful with lots of lounges to sit in. Had lunch today at their cafe which had the basics - not gourmet food but not bad food either (sandwiches, hamburgers, etc). Room was serviced nicely with lots of towels, shampoos, soaps, etc. From my vantage point, this is a lovely hotel at a reasonable rate (we paid $185/night for the executive suite room compared to others at $200+ for this holiday weekend). We are having a lovely Easter weekend, largely due to the comfort of this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: While the bedding is nice, we found the pillows a bit too "big". Might want to bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NolaGal_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    162
    60
    34
    23
See reviews for
159
151
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Counce, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I booked a "penthouse" room for a getaway. They had one available and we took it. The room is 1004. It is right next to the 3 elevators that you can hear all night. We stayed four nights due to sping breakers booking most rooms. Purchased a fan to try and sleep. Also, we had our car keyed...management was not sympathetic...general manager came out in my opinion to make sure it wasn't her car. We had parked next to her.
As we are checking out, there is a guest with a nine year old (?) son screaming at the front desk staff "this is the worse hotel ever". He then had an altercation with the security guard which appeared to be the problem from the start. Lastly, they want all your car info when you check in. They should worry about the scores of people that I know were not guest ,parking and walking through the hotel lobby to the beach. I brought this up as I was checking out and once again the staff stated "we are doing the best we can on this issue"..well, there you have it.

Room Tip: do not stay in the penthouse rooms by the elevators..doors stay open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retire1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was the first time at this hotel, and it felt like it was run like a family business. Everyone was very nice and courteous. Every room faces the water, and the beach in front of the hotel was very clean and had an excellent sand bar for the kids to play on and even skim board on. The location is good because you'd can go deep sea fishing or rent a boat right across the street at Zeke's marina, or go to the shrimp basket (AYCE) fish on Monday's and Thursday's.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharris115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trezevant, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We had no maid service the first night and no towels. The front desk was very rude. I ask for coffee packets for the next morning and front desk clerk didn't have none and didn't try to get any or say I will send some up later. The balcony when you sit down you can't see through the top railing not very well planned isn't that the whole purpose to go out to the balcony is to see the ocean. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Hampton Inn was wonderful the next night.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stay in Orange Beach area several times a year. I will say this is the worst hotel we have stayed in yet. Very "VERY" dated. Only good things I can say would be it is on the beach, and it has a roof. Only have 2 valet carts and security gaurd has to stay with it, No microwave or fridge available unless you rent a penthouse suite. Fitness room is two treadmills, elipticals and a recumbent bike stacked on top of each other. Our bathtub was cracked and rusted so it looked as though someone bled to death in it, it wouldn't drain so you were standing shin deep in water while showering. Not a pleasant get away. Will follow up with review of Hilton Garden when we check in there! Wish us luck

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Couldn't find anything wrong. Everything was clean and well maintained. I upgraded to a corner executive room and really enjoyed the extra space and windows. It had the beautiful beachfront bay window plue three others making it feel very open. The breakfast buffet was very good with service to match. Wi fi worked well in the room but not so much at the pool.

Room Tip: Room numbers start at 1 on the east and go to 20 on the west. I enjoyed the executive room on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedfishDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Rented a room for the weekend for a quick get away. The hotel staff were very friendly even though with it being a spring break weekend they were very busy. The bartender in the lounge was super friendly and so were the wait staff at the restaurant. The room was amazing. The beds were the most comfortable that I have ever had in a hotel and I slept like a baby. The gulf views were amazing. I would stay at this hotel again in a second!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamagirl1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
6.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 19 in Orange Beach
466 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
6.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing