We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Food was excellent service great but overwater accom very over priced

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrfam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Likuliku for part of our honeymoon mid-March 2012, for 3 nights in the Deluxe Beachfront Bures.
We arrived on South Sea Cruises (tip: pay extra for captains lounge!)

We are both foodies and were told the food was excellent - but it was far beyond our expectations. Each dish was so delicious - the biggest stress of our time there was deciding which option to have!

The term "resort" doesn't really explain this place - it is more like a B&B! The staff are excellent, introduce themselves and learn your name, and it is so quiet (about 50% capacity when we were there) you feel like you are the only ones at the lagoon!

There are a million other small touches that make you love this place.

If you are a lover of good food, then I highly recommend Likuliku - it just made our honeymoon that extra bit special.


(Note: It is disappoints me that others have negatively rated Likuliku because of "creatures". While there are mosquitoes, geckos, and some bats flying over at night - this is the price you pay for having a quiet, private lagoon on a remote island. The rooms are super clean, and we did not see an single insect inside. But then again, maybe my tolerance is high because I'm an Aussie!)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 - halfway between the Restaurant/pool and the walkway to the Overwater bures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon. We came in from the mainland via South Sea Cruises. From the moment we arrived on the dock it was a great experience. Greeted on the dock with music and escorted to our rooms.

The over-water bures were simply amazing. Spacious and very well appointed with indoor and outdoor lounge space. The deck was lovely looking over the cove and had a great little coral reef and fish below.

One important thing to note when you are here - its very much about relaxing. Sleeping in, walking to breakfast, lazing by the pool till lunch and afternoon massage, some snorkeling, snacks on the deck and then walking down to a lovely dinner.

In think we got so relaxed that when the activities co-ordinator came around during dinner to ask us if we wanted to sign up for something, we always felt our days were busy enough :)

A great place for a super relaxing special occasion.

Room Tip: The over-water bures are worth the extra money. Being able to snorkel off your deck is worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattsimpson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This review is very difficult for me to write. We spent three weeks traveling for our honeymoon and the "grande finale" was supposed to be Likuliku Lagoon. By reading the website, our travel agent's recommendation, and others' reviews we were very much looking forward to some relaxation in a quiet, intimate location. We planned to spend 5 nights at Likuliku but only managed to stay 3 and likely would have left earlier had we not already pre-paid for everything. Consistent with everyone else's comments, the staff were absolutely amazing. They were very kind and personable and went above and beyond to learn our names and a little bit about us. The food was also amazing. I am a slightly picky eater and had no trouble picking an item from every menu provided and everything was delicious.

Our decision to leave was primarily that this resort was not the right match for us - reading between the lines of "intimate" and "secluded" should also be "wildlife" and "creatures". Our hut was on the edge of a forest, afterall. It were these creatures that drove us to leave. We were awakened the first night by the sound of something that was caught between the thatch roof and chicken wire protecting it that was struggling to get out for quite some time. There were frogs, ants, mosquitos, and geckos everywhere (including in our room) and we had to coat ourselves in insect repellant before going outside. Every night, we dined under the stars (romantic) and also the palm trees that were loaded with giant, rustling fruit bats (not so romantic). The final straw was when a fist-sized spider dropped out of a tree onto me and then jumped to our table during dinner. After three sleepless nights and me returning to our room in tears on two occassions because of being terrified by these creatures, we decided to leave.

Likuliku is expensive, but the service and food are amazing. If you are more adventurous than us and can handle the wildlife, then it might be a good match for you. Others from places such as Canada, where the largest spiders are an inch or so and fruit bats are the size of sparrows, may also encounter challenges here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We just have just completed our 9th Stay at Liku Liku and have rebooked for our 10th Visit in March 2013.
Often after a period of time, some Resorts naturally get a little "tired" but this is not the case at Liku Liku. It was great to see that our usual Bure, along with most others had been renovated and more work is being done on modernising lighting etc. The Bed was terrific as were the Pillows, so a good sleep was easy. The Gardens have been thinned out and look beautiful.
The hardest act for Liku Liku to do was to find someone to follow Brett and Chloe in their Kitchen/Restaurant, as they were superb. We arrived on BBQ/Lovo Night and the following night an 8 Course degustation was served, which was a bit too long for dining in the heat. We then started having some doubts, but once the Menu's started rolling out, the Food was superb, Ihaka Peri is doing a sensational job with lovely fresh produce and superb seafood, if you go, eat all the Coral Trout you can !! As for the Deserts, I normally I don't eat these, but not at Liku Liku, I can easily make an exception here.
The entire Team of Tulia, Jim, Sake, Samu, Jale, Neume, Joelie, Sake, Opeti, Samu, Aquila, Alipate, Usuai, Mere, Seta, Serai, Natha, Namesi, and Josie looked after us brilliantly, we are always indebted to them for the great job they do and their wonderful humour.
It is sad to see Sala and Kimi departing, but they have new opportunities ahead of them.
So, if you are looking for a wonderful place to chill out, with a fantastic pool, overwater Bures, or Bures with their own Plunge Pools, Liku Liku is the place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A big thanks to Sala and her team for making the start of our Honeymoon so memorable and enjoyable.

Many months ago Sala helped my now husband to prepare a most memorable proposal with a coconut shell message on their beach asking if I would be his wife! You may have seen it some time ago in the Likuliku Newsletter! We decided to head back to where our marriage plans started for our honeymoon.

Likuliku was great the last time we were there, but this time it was even better! They had just made some sutle improvements to an already fine resort experience. Nothing is too much trouble, Sala runs a very efficient team and the food was absolutely fabulous.

Likuliku is on our return list, which does not happen very often as we tend to vary our travel and we will be taking our children to Malolo Island Resort this July for more Ahura Resort hospitality, can't wait.

Sala you are a great and knowledgeable host!

Lozzie64

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lozzie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

There's is not enough words to explain how amazing this place is! I always wanted to go to Fiji so after doing a lot of research on the net I picked Likuliku. So we made the 26 hour flight from Ireland and we where not disappointed! We loved it so much that we decided to go back 18 months later for our honeymoon. The food here is like nothing ive ever had before, each meal was nicer than the last! I could feel my clothes getting tighter each day lol. On our first vist we stayed in a garden room but decided to splash out on the honeymoon and go for the over water room. Sooooo worth the extra money! They where out of this world! But I would still recommend the garden rooms if you found your budget wont let you stretch to the over water as they are very expensive. I hope to one day return to Likuliku but with it being so far away it might not happen anytime soon:) but if your thinking of going think no more just BOOK NOW:)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank malone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
23.6 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
1.6 km away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
19.4 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
947 reviews
18.8 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
0.5 km away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likuliku Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likuliku Lagoon Resort

Address: Malolo Island | Mamanuca Islands, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range: $1,151 - $1,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Likuliku Lagoon Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Likuliku Lagoon Resort is a multi award-winning, unique, luxury haven for couples only and the first and only in Fiji with over-water bures. A unique and special place, designed with integrity to cultural values, traditional designs and architecture and embraced by the renowned warmth of the Fijian people. From the water it looks like an ancient village, so traditional is the architecture. Likuliku embodies the richness of an ancient culture with vibrant present-day lifestyle touches. With over 18,000 stays and over 4000 return guests, Likuliku is a truly magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Likuliku Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Likuliku Lagoon Hotel Malolo Island
Likuliku Lagoon Malolo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing