We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canadians found Mana Island Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Canadians found Mana Island Excellent”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at Mana for a week and loved it. We have

Are the facilities brand spanking new? No.

Was the food the best we ever had (a la Mexico all inclusive)? No.

Would we encourage any family to go? Absolutely.

We read a few reviews of people who hated it.... We think those are the kind of people who will never be pleased.

If you going with your family, we think you will find the regular standard island bure too cramped. We originally organized that but upon arrival we mused the hot stuffy cramped conditions would spoil our holiday so we decided to spend another 150 Fiji dollars per day for the ocean front units. Awesome choice. 2 story, 2. Balcony, 40 meters across grass to beach, near kids club (also AWESOME>. Kids loved that.. Plenty of room with 2 bathrooms. Best decision we made.

The staff are all wonderful and in terms of other intel to help your decision we met a family from Goldcoast Australia that frequent Fiji and they reckoned it was the best around for proximity to Nadi.

The reef is excellent. Plenty of fish and we saw other interesting characters including turtles, rays and a few harmless sharks.

If you want the Bahia Principe on the Mayan Riveria, donT come as it won't meet your standards. But if you want an excellent holiday with not too many people around with decent facilities, decent food, and excellent staff go for it.

We also recommend a family get the adult meal plan as kids eat for free.

Enjoy and Vanake!

Room Tip: Families forget the island Bure. Go for the ofront view units (2 story block facing south island)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    636
    243
    117
    94
See reviews for
771
491
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I went here for the first leg of my honeymoon (2nd being Australia) from the US. Although I wouldnt rate this the ideal honeymoon resort, it definitely is family friendly with a full line up of events for the family.

I did not go to the buffet everyday as it was a tad bit expensive (the US dollar does not go as far as the Australian dollar). Food was fine but I also enjoyed going to the backyarders hostel for food and some cheaper beer. One of the staff warned me not to go there but we immediately disobeyed.

The beaches were uncrowded which was great. We stayed in an island bure which was cleaned everyday. Its kinda neat to shower outdoors when its raining. We did get a bug or two in the room, but nobody minded; You are on an exotic island and we expected this.

Room Tip: We tried to beg to get a honeymoon bure, as it was our honeymoon, but to no avail !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank awong99124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our first trip to Fiji and first time holiday with our 2 1/2 year old daughter. We have been to relaxing beach holidays a few times in Thailand and around Australia but opted for Fiji for the 3 1/2 hour flight from Brisbane.
After reading the reviews on trip advisor we stocked up on snacks from home and bought bottles of water, milk and yoghurt from Denarau. We also bought the meal plan for breakfast and dinner which suited us perfectly as we ate way too much at each sitting which carried us through. So while on the subject, overall we found the food to be pretty good. Breakfast had a huge variety. We particularly liked the egg nest which meant that we could get poached eggs just the way we liked it - loads of fresh fruit too which was good. We ate at both the buffet and booked the south beach restaurant for the other nights. Service was fanastic at both restaurants and staff were very attentive. There was an abundance of seafood, meat and vegetarian options. My only gripe was that childrens meals weren't very nutritious and the fish and chicken were battered and fried. Some plain (without sauces and herbs 'generously' added to them) steamed veges would have been nice. But overall it was pretty good and we wouldn't complain (although my husband would have been in heaven if he could have had a good espresso but we never got this in Thailand either even staying in 5 star).
We booked an island bure for 3 nights and the ocean front suite for 5 nights but when we got to the island they had upgraded us to the ocean front suite. I was actually looking forward to the outdoor shower and 'island' feel of the bure. The ocean front suites were located on South beach and were huge, too big for just the three of us - they were clean but lacked the distinct island feel we were looking for. However they were located right on the beach which had the best snorkelling i have ever seen. We were amazed that only 30 metres from the shore you could experience such awesome sights. Handy when you've got a little one too, and some of the tropical fish swam close enough for her to see which was a real bonus.
After a stroll to check out the honeymoon bures we asked if we could upgrade to these as they were just what we were looking for - private right on the beach, traditional Fijian style bures with added extra such as a bathroom garden and spa, and came with own golf buggy. They were excellent and we truly took a deep breath and felt completely relaxed and on Fiji time whilst we stayed here. The island is truly beautiful and our holiday was like a slice of heaven.
We used the kids club and the mei mei (for children under 3) for a couple of hours a few days to get in some couple time - the best massages we have had was a Fijian Bobo at the spa and our daughter loved being with the kids and going hunting for hermit crabs. We had heard Fijians love kids but honestly they really do.
We loved the fact there was no TV or phones as we wanted an island holiday otherwise we could have just stayed at any old hotel at the Gold Coast or on Fiji main island. Internet was expensive so we only used it a couple of times.
The staff were amazing and the people were beautiful - we especially enjoyed visiting the local village and school, taking some supplies for the kids.
We're sold on Fiji and will definitely return for another holiday.

Room Tip: Honeymoon bure was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have been to Fiji 4 times and stayed at several different islands. We have chosen to re-book and return to Mana Island later this year.
We found the staff and kids club were very friendly and welcoming. The buffet had a lot of different choices, the snorkelling was amazing, the pools were great although we chose to swim in the crystal clear waters most days.
We stayed in an island bure with an outdoor shower which was very different. The island bures are only small although it is only to sleep in.
We found it a lot cheaper to walk a few minutes to the local village to buy soft drinks, snacks and lunches. Hair braiding and massages is also 1/3 of the price.
We look forward to returning this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morisset, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at Mana Island last year in July. Two adults, two boys 14 and 10. Absolutely loved it. The staff are fantastic and the kids really loved it. They both preferred it to Bali and want to go back again this year.

Room Tip: We only had one room for the four of us. Next time we go anywhere on holidays would definately spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sharron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We've all got different expectations and things that make us happy on holidays, and I think that accounts for the variance in how this resort is rated.

My family.....(husband, 6 and 8yr old, sister and partner, two teenage girls and her 10yr old) all stayed at Mana Island end of January 2012. My sister and I have travelled extensively around the world - including many Asian countries, and have experienced accomodation ranging from backpackers hostels with squat toilets (in our younger backpacking years) to top class resorts with all the creature comforts. When we travel for a relaxing beach holiday now with our family, number one priority is to be nearby a great beach - North Beach on Mana Island certainly delivered. It was lovely, white sand and plenty of long beach to find your own private space. The snorkelling was spectacular....wasn't expecting it to be better than the Great Barrier Reef! There is a huge drop off approx. 15 metres out from the shore, with loads of tropical fish. The coral is pristine and unspoilt (unlike a lot of Thailand coral which had been damaged by long boats coming into shore with tourists). Our children loved it and it was a highlight of their holiday.

The next thing on the list of course is clean, comfortable accomodation and good food. The Mana Resort delivered exceptionally here as well. We all stayed in Burres 503 and 504, just a few metres from the beach front at the end of the resort. The rooms were really spacious, clean, had new bathrooms and a lovely traditional feel about them. The resort was not manicured to the degree that The Warwick on Coral Coast was (stayed there for a week too - not half as good), but was well maintained and it felt lovely and natural - it's such a huge resort, walking across it to sunset beach, at times felt like you were in the middle of a tropical jungle.

When we were staying at The Mana Resort, there were a large group of Chinese people booked in also, as part of a tour. Not sure if this influenced the food quality...but our whole family agreed that it was fantastic. There were three vegetarians travelling in our group, and there was always plenty of choice for them too. Breakfast, lunch and tea at the buffet were an absolute delight. We all like to eat at high quality restaurants in Australia, and the resort totally exceeded our expectations. Loads of variety. Could not fault.

The staff were lovely and friendly. My daughter's cough that she had on leaving Australia worsened and I had to see the nurse a couple of times. She was very proffessional and helpful. I felt reassured that she was able to dispense antibiotics if she had worsened.

We did not note any mouldy smells....but it is a tropical island, and has a wet season....you can't not expect humidity to enter into resort buildings. Pools were fine! Kids loved them...nice cocktails at the pool bar. Kids had a session in the kids club....and later that night all the kids performed a traditional Fijian dance for the resort dressed in costume. Staff were lovely to them.

We all look forward to returning to Mana Resort...a perfect mix of natural beauty, laid back atmosphere, beautiful beach, food and comfortable accomodation. If you are looking for sanitised, westernised, 5 star stuff and get upset by tiny things like a ripped seat on a ute that may transport you and your luggage to your room... then Denarau Island is probably better for you.

Room Tip: Would not stay on South Beach...not half as nice as North Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank SueSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Having looked at the reviews of Mana before I left I was prepared that it might not be exactly what I hoped for. I was right, it was EVEN better than I could possibly have hoped for.

I just read a review saying the island was dirty, unhygienic and the food rubbish. Again, I disagree with this and feel that it really undervalues the resort. My partner and I were very lucky to be upgraded and had a wonderful Deluxe Ocean View Bure. The room was amazing and the view we had priceless. The staff I found to be very friendly and accommodating particularly when they found out we are British.

There is one tip I would give anyone staying at Mana. Book to eat in the la carte restaurant every night and at lunch too. I found the buffet is OK for what it is and breakfast but is no comparison to the view from the restaurant as the sun sets at night. Also, I found the staff to be a lot friendlier there too. I would also recommend that you pay for your meals in advance. Having seen the prices of meals in the restaurant, we got extremely good value going full board.

If you are going, have a good time like we did and I fully recommend scuba diving, it was amazing and the staff there excellent. If you are not that adventurous, the snorkelling is amazing and it is like being in a tropical fish tank.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
21.5 km away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
427 reviews
7.2 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
866 reviews
5.4 km away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,621 reviews
10.9 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,313 reviews
9.0 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing