We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still has the magic”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Have just returned from 5 nights on Mana and was pleased to find it still has the magic island feel it had some 25yrs ago.
Yes, some of the resort is tired, however they are working on updating the older buildings and building new facilities. We stayed in an island bure and found it to be clean and comfortable and was serviced daily.The only time we were in the bure was after the evening entertainment. Our six grandkids aged from 10 down to 3 found the kids club ,the pool and south beach filled in their whole day ,everyday and they all crashed at the end of each day.
The food overall was adequate ,the egg nest at breakfast is great, but it was nice to have an evening meal at the south beach restaurant for a change from the buffet. Staff were excellent , friendly and helpful at all times.
We were advised of the renovations by our agent who sent us a map outlining where they were working and given the option to change our bure or upgrade, which we declined.
As for outdoor showers this is always being mentioned in the forum along with the food situation where people are advised to buy up on snacks.Not once have I seen anyone mention cooking facilitie are available.
Another great holiday and we will return again.

Room Tip: If a small family 2-4 ask for a single bure. if larger check out the bure's with adjoing doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Myself, my boyfriend and friend have all just returned from mana island today. I am writing this review now as hoping to be able to stop anyone from wasting their hard earned money going to a resort that really needs to be torn down and started from scratch.

Where to start?

Arrival-all herded off the boat like cattle, sign forms, find our bags and then left to try and find our own rooms. Not very welcoming.

Room-meant to be a ocean beaure. A old double story timber building-view of ocean blocked by overhanging branches. Now here comes the good part-whilst I can handle a room not being completely clean this was a joke. Bathroom tiles moldy, mirror scratched, stained, shower curtain stained, towels stained, blanket had holes, roof patchy, door handles falling off. First night got locked out of room-key wouldn't work. Some lady comes down and tells us need to put the key in but not all the way.....says maintenance will fix it. Next morning maintenance comes-takes over a hour to fix-not even sure what he did. Bedding not changed everyday-room not cleaned till 2-3 every day and takes ages for it be cleaned along with new towels forgotten to be changed. Lights not working, weird thumping noises, staff talking noisly outside windows etc, no tv or radio.

Water sport activities-very disappointing!!!! On a island with very little to do and equipment old and rundown and not working. Jet ski's not working-promises off them being fixed-never managed to fix them even though we were there for a week. Banana boat broken.

The resort provided some activitys but not many. No extra activitys provided if raining besides a movie to watch in the main lounge.

Dining-2 restaurants. Buffet or al la carte. Buffet over priced-63 fijian per person and food not warm and food not being replaced. You need to make a booking for a la carte (south beach restaurant) before eating there for lunch or dinner. Food good there however this made us mad. Rang up and made a booking-got there to be told by a waiter rudely that we didn't and had to wait. After waiting for some unknown reason when there was plenty of tables waiter acknowledged us and asked us if we had enjoyed our day. The Same thing the next night.

Some night entertainment-band plays ever night. Happy hour drinks not that cheap. Had a waiter try and undercut the resort and offer us a cheaper fishing trip that ended up being more expensive. Dodgy!

Boutique (store) had a extremely basic range of items. Mix up with prices twice that went there-overcharged.

The pools are tiny and outdated especially the horizon pool-nothing like the pictures!!! The only thing this island has going for it was the beautiful beaches!!

Construction work going at all hours and was bring done at all hours of the night-trying to have a relaxing meal at south beach restaurant and can see them all working and grinding away.

Not enough lighting through garden paths/walkways and potholes, grounds a mess-not maintained/gardened, everything looks old/tacky/outdated, golf buggys and trucks constantly going past. Resort looks more like a 1 star caravan park. Saw a mouse/rat at the restaurant. Food at south beach resturant a little expensive. Japense guests treated more favorably.

Were told this morning to leave bags out the front door at 9-truck didn't arrive till 10.05!! Had to follow up with reception to make sure wouldn't be forgotten. Pool chairs missing chair covers to lie on-just hard wood.

Would recommend the sub sea adventure and checking out the little resturant/back packers on the north beach.

As negative as this review sounds it wasnt the best experience-pretty poor. For the amount of guests they receive I can't understand why they can't fix up the rooms, buy new blankets without holes, get new mirrors etc-basic things. Always felt dirty after using the shower and their towels.

Ladies bring your own hair dryer as the ones they provide don't work!!!

Anyone who likes equipment to be operating, rooms and grounds to be kept to a certain standard, friendly staff etc i wouldn't recommend this resort-very disgusting and poor!! Spend your money at a nicer island resort. For a resort that constantly has them working on paths and random bits and pieces can't see what they have actually improved. This resort should be ashamed of themselves for so many things!!

If the resort responds to this review please bear in mind they will deny all this but the place is a &@$7hole-would not even recommend it for my dogs.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nadine8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaSales, Public Relations Manager at Mana Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Bula Vinaka Nadine,


Our guests at Mana are not herded off as you claim, because the island is a large one, we have all our guests wait until all guests from the boat gets off the jetty and than we escort them to the Check in area and along the way we explain to our guests that facilities that we have on the way to the main check in area.


Mana is a large island and inorder to ensure that our guests find their way correctly around on their first day at the island. If guests were escorted around, than we will have guests finding a longer route to the main resort area or going in the opposite direction.


Our Ocean View Rooms are completely different to that of the Deluxe Ocean View Bures, we no longer have Ocean View Bures, over a year now, as we have done complete renovations to them. The Ocean View Rooms as we write is what we are currently working on, on a one on one basis and thus would take some time to finish. We have completed around 50% and we still have the rest to complete as we do realize the works needed in them.


Our Motorized activities are contract to Awesome Adventures and it was during the last 2 weeks, where maintenance was much needed and was advised to all house guests and apologies for the inconvenience was extended.


As mentioned in other reviews, Mana is currently doing a few upgrades and this was advised to all our Agent partners. The much needed upgrades has come in a time, where we feel will bring Mana forward.


Our pools are only little, because our main feature on the island is the 4 beautiful beaches that we are surrounded by. Meal plans are offered through our Agent partners and we have a higher rate on the island because of our partnership with our wholesale partners.


Mana Island Resort and Spa strive towards ensuring that our houseguests get the best out of their holidays and thus we have a high returnee percentage of guests coming back time after time. In fact we have a database of over 200 Returnee guests, mainly from Australia and New Zealand and one of our returnees, has been to Mana over 60 times.


We do not promise 5 star services, but we work towards excellence in service and standards.


Vinaka


Mana Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We arrived and spent 3 hours transferring between rooms as they were all filthy and had things broken. Even after being upgraded to one of the top rooms it was still old and smelt like smoke (we had an infant with us). The staff tried to help but ended up being a nightmare. Our 1year old had to wait 2 hours for her dinner! It is very commercial and expensive food - that is very average and hasn't been updated in a long time. We went to plantation island before Mana - and although that isn't new either, it was a whole different experience and we LOVED it. We were supposed to stay 5 nights on Mana but ended up leaving after 2 as we had had enough and couldn't put up with the old gross rooms, rude staff and expensive prices. Not what we wanted to be doing on our honeymoon!

Room Tip: The island/garden bures are ok, after seeing all the other rooms, they aren't much different, ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CloeJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaSales, Public Relations Manager at Mana Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Bula Vinaka Cloe and Joel

The choice to move room initially was yours because of the works that we were doing nearby. We upgraded to higher categories and away from the works, but you were still unsatisfied. As per numerous reminders when you were on the island that we were doing renovations and that your travel agents should have made you aware of this you still felt that we had no right to do upgrades. You were on a special and this special was specifically done for this season where we are doing upgrades to the resort.

It was reported on your meetings with our team that you were disappointed that we did not have cooking facilities and that you brought food to cook for your child who had so many allergies and that you were disappointed that your agent told you this. You also mentioned that we only have an out door shower, to which your child would have gotten a sun burn if you had her shower outside. No where do we claim that we have a Kitchen and that our Island bures have another shower rather than the outdoor shower, thus we believe that because of this you psychologically believed that everything else ruined your holiday.

As you are aware that our General Manager together with the board of Directors and team has had the task of trying to overhaul the service and operations of the Resort. Much to his chagrin, this has not been easy in terms of specific time line or changing the modus of operandi or culture on the island, however all information and specifics have been sent out to all travel partners and understand our need for the upgrades.

Trying to make your stay a more comfortable and enjoyable one, and taking into consideration that you had a small travel budget, thus you saying that you could not afford to eat every night in a Restaurant as a gesture of goodwill we added onto your resort Credit, but you still decided to leave on your own will and write on Trip Advisor. From the start you had already made up your mind that you won’t enjoy your holiday, because of the food that you brought for you to cook and we had not cooking facilities.

We apologize that you feel that way about the resort, but your lack of research for the type of resort you wanted made the blunder of your dream holiday.

Vinaka

Mana Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

It is with regret that I write this negative review of Mana Island and Resort after spending our family holiday there in November 2011.

Firstly I would like to say that that the staff, food and accomadation at the island were great with the staff taking it upon themselves to help out with our 1yo daughter who became a favourite of Simon at the bar and Tale at the buffet who were sensational with her. The island itself was clean with the beach on our side of the island being perfect for our 1 yo to swim and crawl around. The food we found was ample without being anything special and our room cleaned daily and beds made.

The only problem I have with the island is that on the last day I had $500Aus taken from our luggage which was left at the front door of our Bureau as instructed by staff who pick it up and transfer it to the wharf then onto the connecting boat. Yes, I should have kept the money on me but I didn't and paid the price.

Since our holiday I have attempted to contact management on no more than 6 occasions with no response. I have even called the island from home here in Australia and have been told by staff that someone will contact me (still waiting).

Overall we enjoyed our holiday at Mana but will not return due to the light fingered porter and lack of response from management who I am sure will post some crap about them investigating the complaint. Oh and thanks to the person who also took the washing powder and baby products from our bags also.

Room Tip: North side of the island is the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanKylieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaSales, Public Relations Manager at Mana Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Bula Vinaka DanKylieW,

It is with sadness that you feel that the Mana staff have anything to do with the lost of your belongings or missing items from your luggage whilst your luggage was outside your room for collection to take to the Jetty.

Logically, you would think that if a staff member of the resort was to have taken your money and missing items they would have to open your suitcase and to rummage through it to notice or find money. They would have to open your luggage in the open, where there are people walking around to see what they were doing.

When did you find out that there the monies we missing, when you reached the mainland? Did you go straight to the airport or another hotel before you had excess to interior of your luggage, where you are saying that we are to be held responsible for the missing items? Did you go from Mana to the next hotel or did you fly straight home? There were other people who had handled your luggage and you assume on the first people who picked up your bag amongst other 30 – 40 bags on a routine that is done daily, with no other reports of missing items, were the ones that took the items?

Mana Island Resort and Spa has come a long way and we have done so much to improve the standards and services provided to our guests to which customer care and honesty is paramount.

We are sorry for your lost of belongings, but making false accusations where there is no proof and to be writing a review on Trip Advisor to deter guests from Mana is unprofessional and in a business world, very Tacky.

Vinaka

Mana Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Recently returned from 5 nights on Mana, we had a helicopter transfer as we would have missed the last boat. What a highlight !!! The trip was only 12 minutes and the view was sensational. Within an hour of landing at the airport we were on Mana and in our bure.....
The bure was old, daggy and outdated. The outdoor shower was nice but Im struggling to find much more to add about the bure. We spent as little time there as possible and if I return to Mana I will spend more money on a better room. If you can afford it, UPGRADE !!!!!!!

On returning to our room the last afternoon the workmen were outside our bure digging up the path, old cement mixer grinding away. Not my idea of relaxing!! I rang reception and asked to be moved, they moved us to another tired old bure with a hole in the floor from white ants lol. I suggested to reception that they shouldn't put people into bures were work is or will be happening considering there were so many empty bures and rooms on the island. I believe that the resort was only at 20% capacity.
Another trip to reception and they put us into a ocean view bure in the 500 block, wish I had inquired about an upgrade to these bures earlier on as they were lovely.
We ate at the South beach restaurant mostly, the food was nice but the view was fantastic.
breakfast at the buffet was as is at every resort of the same age, lunch mostly at the buffet as the slow service at South Beach meant that precious day light was wasted waiting and there was a lot of snorkeling to be done !
We snorkeled at north and south beach and had a trip out to the sand bar , enjoyed all these spots. Highlight was a big ray out off the drop at the sandbar.
We didn't step foot in the pool, it looked clean if not a bit tired and small. ( We went there for the ocean !)
Overall I thought it was outdated and not good value for money as far as accommodation goes, however the views are beautiful.

Room Tip: The 400 and 500 blocks are lovely and more modern than the garden bures (100's)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This resort is like a bad nightmare!! From the depressed people gathered around the swimming pool each evening (no doubt wondering why they paid so much to be there!) to the people walking out of the "restauraunts" (so called) in disgust because the food, if available (much of it wasn't when we were there-despite the ferry ariving several times a day)- is bloody terrible, and my expectations were certainly not high having been to Fiji before.
The resort is old, run down, the staff are bloody useless, even for Fijians, and give you the feeling you're certainly not wanted there. We left early before we were even half way through our stay and stayed at the Outrigger (a great place by the way), and I've never done that before in my life.DO YOUSELF A FAVOUR AND DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I'm afraid I am going to be repeating a few reviews here but I was really concerned after reading the negative reviews as they were quite concerning. I was very worried if I had made the right decision to stay here. We all have our different opinions and are "thank goodness" free to express them. For me personally, I cannot say enough good things about Mana Island. I stayed in the Island Bure and was thinking of upgrading, but honestly it was clean, comfortable and in the middle of everything. Staff were friendly and lovely. Meals were lovely in both restuarants. If I was to make a two observations, one, would be I would not like to be there in peak season, I think the pool area is small and would be crowded, but you do have all the beaches to spead out and two, the flies at the south beach restuarant were everywhere and annoying. (and hey Im searching hard to find a complaint, so if they are my worst , they cant be doing to much wrong as everthing else was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank snoopy68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
31.0 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,307 reviews
10.3 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
14.6 km away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
940 reviews
29.8 km away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,215 reviews
30.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range: $189 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing