We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Treasure Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
US$926
US$837
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malolo Island Resort(Malolo Island)(Great Value!)
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Six Senses Fiji(Malolo Island)
US$796
US$769
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
US$306
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$888
US$864
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton Denarau Villas(Denarau Island)
US$480
US$400
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji(Denarau Island)
US$263
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
357
323
135
69
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
323
135
69
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubmeal planfishhappy houra la cartefiji timestar resortdive shopmini golfturtle pondbaby turtleskids dinnernightly entertainmentwater sportsrelaxing holidaybar fridgesand bar
Filter
Updating list...
617 - 622 of 926 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2012

It had been 30 years since we visited Treasure Island and decided to return in Mar 2012.

Mother nature had simply destroyed one side of the islands beach, real shame, but no attempt
while we were there to relocate us or clean the beach.

Room had a blocked out door shower, untiled veranda, broken door lock, broken shower
fittings and rusted spouting that spewed water right on the door way.

Meals were average, staff tried to be happy but simply were not and this showed throught.

We had come from the Outrigger and the couple next door quizzed us about it. we told them, spend the little extra and go to the Outrigger 600% better.

If our Travel agent had of selected this we would have demanded a refund but we chose it and have to live with the mistake.

We checked out 2 days early, will never return.

Room Tip: Dont go until the place has a complete shutdown and is renovated.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank muzza2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Bula,

You are correct in that mother nature has relocated some of the sand on the island and some areas are currently rocky. However it is expected that shortly the sand will return as what mother nature takes she usually returns and it is a natural cycle on coral islands for sand to move around.

We are currently installing additional fire fighting hydrants around the island and this has made some areas a little "untidy" as we carry out this necessary work. This will be completed in the next week or so and we can then return the gardens to the normal look.

I offer my apologies that we did not meet your holiday expectations and hope that you will one day return to see that we have restored Treasure to the way you expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in an ocean front Bure which was nice enough. Our net curtain fell down and after 3 days of registering requests to have it put back up - we gave up.
The restaurant is just plain bad, nothing much good at all to say here - service was slow and definitely not with a smile and the food was ok to poor.
The general state of disrepair on the island was the biggest concern - toilet facilities literally falling apart, the odd tables and chairs in the restaurant which dont fit together....?.
The kids loved the kids club which by far was the best part of the island.
For the money we paid we could have gone to a much nicer hotel in Fiji.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Relaxed762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Bula,

Thank you for your feedback and can I apologise for the maintenance department not taking prompt action on the scrim curtain in your bure. This is not acceptable and staff have been spoken to about this and we will work very hard to ensure that maintenance items are responded to as soon as possible.
The Resort is not brand new; you are correct; but we are working hard to ensure that everything is kept fresh and in working condition. Many of our guests like the fact that we are not all modern and chrome and glass but built in a more traditional style.
Our restaurant tries very hard to appeal to all types and tastes and offers a range of food and beverages to meet demand. We are trying new recipes to keep up with trends.
Our Kids Club is constantly receiving rave reviews and I will pass on your comments to the staff involved.
We apologise for not meeting your expectations on your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Perfect family holiday. We had 7 nights with our girls 5 and 2. Bures were clean and functional with plenty of privacy. It felt like we had our own piece of island with every bure having a good garden area, hammock, beach area. I could let my toddler sleep at lunch time and even have a quick dip knowing I could see the room or just hang out in the air conditioning or hammock. We stopped at the turtles and iguanas most days on the way to the restaurant.
Before we went I was someone who was unsure about using kids club but my 5 yr olds enthusiasm had me overcoming any ambivalence. Tui was fantastic and worked very hard entertaining all the 5 year old girls. Would be plenty for older kids to do too. Parents are able to go along and watch any activities if you feel you want to keep an eye on them (like the banana ride behind the boat or swimming activities). The two year sometimes went to kids club in the evening with a baby sitter (about $16 AU a night) so we could have a quiet meal for a change.
Facilities - most rooms are renovated and the others being done, I saw new mattresses delivered. Pool beautiful and bar area relaxed with stunning scenery. Restaurant was like a "blast from the past" but fine. Kids menu was enjoyed by our kids, lunch and dinner great food, hot breakfast could be better.
I suspect many reviews are a bit emotive as it is hard not to feel touched by the friendliness of staff. The Fijians are not like any others and their good will seems genuine (which I have to say I didn't feel when we visited the other resorts on the busy Denaru).
I had the misfortune of an accident while there and the staff went to great extents to get us all back to the mainland as quickly as possible. The island nurse stayed with us all day, was invaluable at the hospital and didn't leave us until we were safely in another hotel for the night. Thank you

Room Tip: Probably would choose a room in high 50's as they are close to restaurant and have the most sand at the moment. This will probably change with mother nature.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holiday152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Bula Holiday152,

You certainly identified one of the great attractions of Fiji in general and of Treasure in particular and that is the true warmth and friendly nature of the staff and the people of Fiji.

We are certainly very lucky that we have very lush vegetation on the island as it helps to keep everything cooler when you move to away from the sand and water to the shade of the trees.

Our kids club staff really create a bond with the members who participate and everyone gets a great thrill out of the activities and our desire to pass on a bit of Fijian culture.

Everyone here was greatly relieved to get the report back from our nurse that you were well and she was very pleased to be able to assist you. Treasure is one of the few Island Resorts that has a nurse on island 24/7 and this can be very comforting for guests especially those with young children.

All the staff look forward to welcoming you and your family back home to Treasure Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Bula - Treasure Island we love you! Having visited in 2009 and again in 2011 we can't wait to get back. Whilst some would say old, we'd say rustic. that is the charm of the place. We noticed the gradual changes between 2009 and 2011 - the Bures, pool decking, beach walls. The Bure we recently stayed in had been upgraded and was lovely. Cleaned every day by beautiful house keeping staff who left flowers daily, which the kids loved to find.

Returning to Treasure is certainly like going home. We recognised alot of staff who in turn recognised us. Many staff have been working at Treasure for a long period of time, one big happy family. It was great to see familiar faces and to catch up with them again. All the staff were great from housekeeping, gardeners, spa, dining, drink and reception staff.

Kids club was fantastic. Lots of activities to keep our girls entertained. The staff were gorgeous. They did more activities then the adults! From t-shirt painting, banana boat rides, treasure hunts, feeding turtles and hat weaving!

If you are after a holiday where you do NOTHING but relax, either by the gorgeous horizon pool or on the beach, where you can relax in hammocks dotted around the island or on the sun lounges on the beach front in front of your Bures, where you dine on yummy food (tuna steaks daily!! for us), where staff are like family, where there are no phones or TV to disturb your peace, then this is the place for you!! (There are also activities if you are so inclined).

Arrr pure bliss, Vinaka!

Room Tip: There really isn't a lot of difference between the Ocean view Bures and the Island Bures - except for a few metres of garden. We preferred the Island Bures as you had gorgeous gardens to look out to and then the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Bula Smeaa,

Thank you for taking the time to write on your recent experiences at Treasure. Yes we have been gradually changing things over the years as we try to update the Resort without losing its charm and homely feeling. We do have some members of staff who have been with us for a long time and they bring with them a wealth of knowledge on the history and characters that have been associated with Treasure. Fijian staff do have the most amazing ability to remember staff who have stayed with us before and many of our guests do comment that it is like returning home; to be welcomed back by so many people who remember them. The staff also takes great delight is seeing members of the various families grow up and mature over the years of visiting with us.

Your Treasure family looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We haven't been to Treasure for 20 years. We used to go every year with our son when he was small. It hasn't had any money spent on it in that time and it will take $250,000 or more to do up the restaurant and surrounding area. It was like a time warp nothing had changed in 20 years. The toilet facilities in the main area were dreadful, old and falling apart as was the decking around the pool. It was dirty, had flies and ants everywhere. On the half day trip lunch is included. A second rate lunch served by unhappy Fijian staff. In its hay day it must have been raking in the money and it should have been ploughed back into the buildings which are just falling apart. The Island was damaged in the recent storms and they have lost a huge amount of the sand off the beaches and there are now only rocks! They have the gall to rate it five star and to ask $500 and more to stay there. Get a life guys! Baby Boomers expect better!!! Do not bother going there, ever!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pauline1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Treasure Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Bula Pauline,

we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your half day trip to treasure Island. While it is true that the resort is thirty years old it is in the process of having major upgrades done on it. All our Beachfront and Oceanview Bures will have been upgraded by the end of this month. I am surprised that you felt that the decking around the pool was falling apart as this was just repaired in December. It does look a little unusual at present as you have the new and the old timber side by side and thus it will look a little different until the new timber weathers to look like the old.

We have lost some sand on areas of the beach due to the cyclone strength waves in January but Mother Nature is already returning the sand to the beaches. Some sea wall damage was also caused and this repair along with the thatching of our beach shelters is well underway.

The staff would love to have you return so that they can show you all the improvements that are being done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews