We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“no taxi arround” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Ranked #179 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“no taxi arround”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

hotel is ok , if you are lucky to find a room which is not noisy, and it is ok too if you can get an executive room , otherwise breakfast is not good because restaurant service is lazy
also in executive floor they are a little strange (maybe because of economical situation) ,if you bring 1 more guest with you for them the main concern is how to get the drinks paied insteed to show hospitality
overal service is fair, but very cold !!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markus20er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    107
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
4
10
13
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Have had a good time at this place...not too much into the city so peaceful for a good night sleep! i have stayed here for an exhibition, and they provided free shuttle service which was very helpful. the metro station was about 1/2 km away, but easy commuting with taxis being available and metro line not too far.

breakfast was good specially for non-chinese travellers as they had options specifically to cater to the continental palate, and even for 'almost-vegetarians' like me :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumbailuvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hotel was a little away from the action, there was a large supermarket really close which was handy. Staff were good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ikdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights whilst in shanghai on business. My first thoughts are that my company didnt want me to party at all putting me in this hotel. This hotel is in a poor location for any sort of restaurants, night life, attractions or even access to the metro. It is so remote I even had cab drivers refuse to take me there on 2 occasions.


The hotel itself is perfectly adequate with neat and clean accomodations, 2 restaurants and a small gym facility. The included breakfast is good, although only starts at 6:30am which is no good when trying for the office by 7:00am.
The concierge and staff are very friendly and helpful.

Probably not the ideal place to stay if you plan to see Shanghai or if you are looking for any sort of night life (even hotel has no bar). But a solid choice if the location fits your purpose.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fan-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu is a business traveler oriented hotel. Many of the guests appear to be foreigners with business purposes. This is apparent at breakfast buffet. Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of items from both Western and Eastern fare. We found congee as well sausages for breakfast. We had breakfast at the hotel each of our 3 mornings and didn't find it boring. The restaurant staff was efficient but the sloppy attire of the bus boys can be improved.

The room was clean and functional, although a bit smaller than we were expecting. Our room had a sofa (probably a sofa bed). The bed was comfortable with a few pillows. There was a coffee/tea maker in the room. The bathroom had a tub with shower and a large counter with a good supply of bathroom amenities. Lighting in the bathroom can be improved however. As in the higher end hotels, a sound system is available in the bathroom as well as a phone.

Daily newspaper is delivered to the room's door. We found the English China Daily very informative and well written.

The area surrounding the hotel is mostly residential. At the opposite corner of the block where the hotel is situated, there is a market with many shops and eateries. A few blocks away on the main street, you will find larger restaurants. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the subway. Taxis are usually available at the front of the hotel.

Our major complaint was with the front desk staff. We waited a long time to check in to the hotel even though there wasn't a line up. Upon check out, we were charged for breakfast even though the travel agent said it was included in the room price. It took some time and a manager to be called before the issue was resolved.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valueseeker604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
186 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed 4 nights for business trip in March 2011.

This hotel is decent holiday inn standard with good price. The location is not so great as it is not in the main road, so your taxi driver might not know where it exactly is. 10 mins walk to extentive shanghai metro network. It would convenient only if you are in Pudong area.

No complaint about the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

It is sad to find yourself to be a nitpicker, but that is what travel in China has made me. Weekly trips to cities all over the country have given me the opportunity to achieve a zen-like attitude towards experiences, or become a nitpicker. How sad to discover that I am far from enlightenment.

Take this extraordinarily average hotel in a slightly out of the way Pudong location. Its relative remoteness brings its price down a little compared to the far superior HI Shanghai Pudong - 5 km away. But not only the price, the quality is lower as well. I have been alternating between the two for the last few weeks, and find that the Dong Fang Rd. HI is worth the extra 300RMB.

Why?

The rooms at Nanpu are all one size - Executive Floor buys you no more square footage than the only other option - the Superior room (ah, marketing. Superior to what? It is the only other, therefore the lowest, room available in this hotel). Additionally, having tried both rooms, the only additional amenity offered by the Executive room is a small sofa. In the bathroom, the water pressure leaves you running around in the shower to get wet, and the fixtures leak. (No, not cause and effect for you budding plumbers out there, separate fixtures.)

Rooms designed by illiterate or blind people people should not be priced at near $200USD per night. Whether you are in a superior room, or the pricier executive room, you will not be able to read in bed without a miner's helmet or a stiff neck.

The club lounge is delightful - bright with plenty of windows (unlike the dungeon on the ground floor where you scurry through the cloud of smoke to find a table for your breakfast. I look around for the guano collector as I am sure this cave has bats), enough choice at breakfast and cocktail hour, and superb service. As long as you don't read or shower, the Executive floor is for you.

The staff are brilliant. It is not their fault the designers should be given a strongly worded reprimand. They are friendly, helpful, and kind, even if they are a little out of their depth in serving demanding foreign guests. They cannot be faulted. Indeed they go a long way to making you think you could return to this Motel 6 on steroids.

The internet, while included in the rate for both room types, is one of those you get what you pay for. At times it was fast enough to actually work, and the next day it couldn't find its own ISP.

I have to face it, my quest to accumulate enough points for a holiday in Phuket may have to be abandoned. The aggravation of paying too much for mediocre accommodation is getting to me. One of the arguments for the Western chain hotels in China is to luxuriate in a soft bed for a change. Not so at this inn (wonderfully so, 5km away). However, I may take a local hotel without points option, spend 500RMB per night less, and save money for my trip.

At least then I will get what I pay for.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#93 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
World Expo
Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#66 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#96 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu

Property: Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Address: No.55 Huanlong Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#112 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#156 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu is conveniently located close to Pudong’s bustling Lujiazui Financial & Trade Zone. The hotel is just adjacent to Shanghai New International Expo Center, and enjoys speedy access to Shanghai’s Puxi Area by way of the Nanpu Bridge. Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu offers today’s business and leisure travelers dependability, friendly service and attractive facilities all at a great value.Each room has broadband internet access, an IDD and DDD telephone, TV with satellite channels, mini-bar, refrigerator, in-room safe and attractive French windows. The hotel’s 3 Executive Floors are especially designed to meet the needs of the discerning business executive, offering a host of unique services, including a spacious, exclusive Executive Lounge. Rooms for the disabled and a selection of non-smoking guestrooms are also available. Hotel features variety of ballroom and meeting room options, including a large ballroom that can be divided for multi-purpose use. All venues enjoy state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment and professional support from our meetings team, all guaranteed to make your event a great success. Meeting and conference facilities and services include: broadband internet access, video conference facilities, multi-media projector and on-site technical support. Meeting participants can also relax in the hotel lobby with wireless internet access.Chinese Restaurant “Sun Palace” brings you Huaiyang Cuisines with local specialties sure to satisfy your palate. The restaurant is ideal for both business and family gatherings.Danube Café offers guests a wide range of elegant and sophisticated cuisines from around the world. You’ll enjoy international favorites along with the best in western food in a comfortable setting.A well equipped gym, including aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment provides the perfect place to rejuvenate yourself after hard working day. Highlighted by its luxurious sauna and steam bath, all spa treatments are based upon the principles of restoring balance and harmony to both the mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing