We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Hotel ...but staff needs to warm up a little”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Ranked #154 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel ...but staff needs to warm up a little”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here for trade show. Hotel is in Pudong but requires a 15-20 minute ride to the Shanghai New International Expo Center in Pudong (assuming no traffic jam). Bus service was offered to the show site.

While this is a Holiday Inn, it almost reaches the comfort levels of some Crowne Plaza hotels except for one critical area: The staff is very impersonal. Here is an example. While I booked and prepaid a non-smoking room 1 month in advance, the hotel said they could not offer a non-smoking room. (This seems to be an ongoing problem with this chain of hotels). The staff on the executive floor (a young lady) said it would take a time to make a smoking room ready for me. But, she said, it would not cost me any extra money. COME AGAIN? Why would she even make such a ludicrous statement? I pay one month in advance for a non-smoking room. But they will do me a favor by giving me a smoking room at no extra cost?! To be fair to the hotel, they did offer me a (smoking) suite. They thought I was quite agitated by the "no extra cost comment" but, in actuality, I was mildly irritated. I accordingly declined the suite.

As I suspect that most rooms are similar to Club level rooms (except maybe for maybe for a few amenities in the bath and selection of pillows), I must say that rooms at this hotel are quite comfortable and clean. Comfortable bed. Good desk. Lighting throughout (it could be a little brighter in the rooms), sound control in bath, modern/bright bath with tub (regular spout, hand spray and rain shower), CNC, HBO, iron, safe.

The lounge was not one of the best I have stayed at. Just like the staff, a bit cold (white chairs and tables). More like a clinic than a lounge.

As was expected, breakfast was good and adequate in selection but not 5 star standard. Interestingly enough, the buffet selection in the club lounge was almost the same as downstairs. I must say that the bacon was the best I have ever tasted in China. They also managed to get my eggs done over easy. Not an easy feat in Asia.

Diner at the western restaurant was acceptable but certainly not outstanding. Prices were moderate for high priced Shanghai. The restaurant staff was not overly attentive in view of the fact that the restaurant was nearly empty and again very impersonal. Could this be a language problem? If so, management should teach them to smile a little.

In all, a decent stay at a good hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTB_BIKE_MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear guest,
Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu!

Thank you so much for taking your time and effort to share your detail and positive comments of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu here. It is indeed our great honor to receive such beautiful and encouraging feedback from our guest. It will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

we are looking forward to welcoming you back and deliver the high level of service that we strive for.

Best regards,

Ada Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    110
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
11
15
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu

My stay in this Hotel is 30days in one shot for business reasons. I am very satisfied with the service as well as with the possibility to move around. Taxis are in front of the Hotel and the subwaystation is approx. 10min walk away. To reach a bar area takes around 7 min by taxi which is ok. The industrial park Pudong New District is around 25 minutes away by taxi and depending on the traffic plus minus 5 minutes. Downtown by taxi is around 15min.
Breakfast is perfect, can get everything and the service is good and friendly too. Laundry can be done without thinking getting it back overwashed or damaged. It is also well packed.
Wireless lan as well as wired lan is available and works fine.


BR Alex

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Glant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear guest,
Greeting from Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu!

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us, we have passed your comments on regarding our front desk and F&B staff who are always pleased to hear from satisfied guests.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best regards!

Ada Wu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

hotel is ok , if you are lucky to find a room which is not noisy, and it is ok too if you can get an executive room , otherwise breakfast is not good because restaurant service is lazy
also in executive floor they are a little strange (maybe because of economical situation) ,if you bring 1 more guest with you for them the main concern is how to get the drinks paied insteed to show hospitality
overal service is fair, but very cold !!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus20er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Have had a good time at this place...not too much into the city so peaceful for a good night sleep! i have stayed here for an exhibition, and they provided free shuttle service which was very helpful. the metro station was about 1/2 km away, but easy commuting with taxis being available and metro line not too far.

breakfast was good specially for non-chinese travellers as they had options specifically to cater to the continental palate, and even for 'almost-vegetarians' like me :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumbailuvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hotel was a little away from the action, there was a large supermarket really close which was handy. Staff were good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights whilst in shanghai on business. My first thoughts are that my company didnt want me to party at all putting me in this hotel. This hotel is in a poor location for any sort of restaurants, night life, attractions or even access to the metro. It is so remote I even had cab drivers refuse to take me there on 2 occasions.


The hotel itself is perfectly adequate with neat and clean accomodations, 2 restaurants and a small gym facility. The included breakfast is good, although only starts at 6:30am which is no good when trying for the office by 7:00am.
The concierge and staff are very friendly and helpful.

Probably not the ideal place to stay if you plan to see Shanghai or if you are looking for any sort of night life (even hotel has no bar). But a solid choice if the location fits your purpose.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fan-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu is a business traveler oriented hotel. Many of the guests appear to be foreigners with business purposes. This is apparent at breakfast buffet. Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of items from both Western and Eastern fare. We found congee as well sausages for breakfast. We had breakfast at the hotel each of our 3 mornings and didn't find it boring. The restaurant staff was efficient but the sloppy attire of the bus boys can be improved.

The room was clean and functional, although a bit smaller than we were expecting. Our room had a sofa (probably a sofa bed). The bed was comfortable with a few pillows. There was a coffee/tea maker in the room. The bathroom had a tub with shower and a large counter with a good supply of bathroom amenities. Lighting in the bathroom can be improved however. As in the higher end hotels, a sound system is available in the bathroom as well as a phone.

Daily newspaper is delivered to the room's door. We found the English China Daily very informative and well written.

The area surrounding the hotel is mostly residential. At the opposite corner of the block where the hotel is situated, there is a market with many shops and eateries. A few blocks away on the main street, you will find larger restaurants. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the subway. Taxis are usually available at the front of the hotel.

Our major complaint was with the front desk staff. We waited a long time to check in to the hotel even though there wasn't a line up. Upon check out, we were charged for breakfast even though the travel agent said it was included in the room price. It took some time and a manager to be called before the issue was resolved.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valueseeker604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#110 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#94 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#76 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Pudong
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu

Property: Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Address: No.55 Huanlong Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#112 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#132 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu is conveniently located close to Pudong's bustling Lujiazui Financial & Trade Zone. The hotel is just adjacent to Shanghai New International Expo Center, and enjoys speedy access to Shanghai's Puxi Area by way of the Nanpu Bridge. Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu offers today's business and leisure travelers dependability, friendly service and attractive facilities all at a great value.Each room has broadband internet access, an IDD and DDD telephone, TV with satellite channels, mini-bar, refrigerator, in-room safe and attractive French windows. Rooms for the disabled and a selection of non-smoking guestrooms are also available. Hotel features variety of ballroom and meeting room options, including a large ballroom that can be divided for multi-purpose use. All venues enjoy state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment and professional support from our meetings team, all guaranteed to make your event a great success. Meeting and conference facilities and services include: broadband internet access, video conference facilities, multi-media projector and on-site technical support. Meeting participants can also relax in the hotel lobby with wireless internet access.Danube Café offers guests a wide range of elegant and sophisticated cuisines from around the world. You'll enjoy international favorites along with the best in western food in a comfortable setting.A well equipped gym, including aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment provides the perfect place to rejuvenate yourself after hard working day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing