We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 5,203 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

we stayed at Puli for 4 days. in city as lively as Shanghai it is great to have such an anchor where everything is quiet and tasteful and where you can really rest

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capitaine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Bond75,

Thank you for your posting. Puli means beautiful uncut jade and we believe it describes the feeling of our guests when they come into the hotel off ChangDe Road into the forecourt then into the high ceiling foyer and then into the dramatic lobby. There is a certain sense of expectation when a miner finds a jade stone before it is polished into hopefully a flawless, precious gem.

I am so happy to read that a similar effect of fulfilling your expectation worked in this case!

We like nothing better than to look at faces of our guests in the lobby when we greet them upon them entering for the first time.

Hope we can welcome you back soon to provide more calm and relaxation for you in the fast-paced city of Shanghai!

Merci beaucoup and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.My husband was sick on the second day and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.The desk clerk phoned the 'foreigner's hospital' to find the English translation for the medicine he needed and a bell boy accompanied me to the pharmacy because I was worried about getting lost.The room was gorgeous and very modern and apart from the fact that I hated Shanghai, we would definitely
stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillarneyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear KillarneyFarm,

I recall your visit as it was eventful in a bad way for you and your husband due to him falling sick.

Thank you for posting a review though: much appreciated.

Hope all is well with both of you!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed at the PuLi twice this month for weekends, and I have to say I loved both experiences.

The hotel is in a great location, just above the French Concession and centrally located with easy access to other notable districts. The Bund this is not, but that's not what I was most interested in for my stay, and it's just a short cab ride or subway ride over there for an afternoon with the views of Pudong.

The PuLi looks quite ordinary from the outside but the interiors are quite striking. As a designer (and someone who is familar with a wide range of design hotels), the asthetic is near flawless. It evokes the urban zen minimalist vibe rather convincingly, and nothing appears cheesy or cheap. The lobby is quite lovely, with a long bar that includes the check-in desk at one end and an actual lobby bar at the other.

If there's one thing that the PuLi understands, it's lighting, which is really the best way to evoke a sense of calm and relaxation. The lighting in the rooms is flawless, and with a blackout curtain that literally shuts the room down (and another layer of blinds, also automated) you're really setup for a great night's sleep. The bed is unbelievable comfortable, with a firm but forgiving mattress. The internet was somewhat disagreeable when I was there (not unusual for China, but still annoying) but otherwise everything was just right. The tub was very comfortable and close the window for a view, and the shower (both hand held head and rainfall head) was fantastic.

The spa is really what makes the hotel, I have to say. Though I didn't have any treatments, the men's lounge with steam room, sauna and hot tub is amazing. This is where they really get it right. After a long day around the city it's phenomenal to come back and relax for an hour in a calm environment. The toilets are all Japanese and automatic (a new experience), and the lounge gives way to a terrific indoor pool. Indoor pools generally are a disappointment, making you wish you were outside and making you feel cooped up. This pool has huge windows facing onto the park, and again, the lighting is so dim and mellow that you feel instantly relaxed. One evening I was there entirely alone and it was incredibly soothing. It's even nice to relax on one of the chaise chairs in the pool area and relax. One morning I watched as the rain beat against the windows while I remained warm and comforted inside.

I can't speak to the food or dining establishments in the hotel save for one in-room breakfast which was solid but not overwhelming.

Overall, the PuLi is a terrific bet if you want something other than the Western standard fare of other hotels in Shanghai and aren't wanting to spend a ton of money. For my second visit I considered staying at other hotels and I really couldn't find anywhere that matched it in terms of luxury and appeal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Mr Matthew K,

Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive review. I do hope it inspires future travelers as it indeed truly depicts all the details we worked so very hard for to get right.

I am delighted to read that you agreed with our intentions!

For your future travels in China: we are developing 4 more hotels in the next 3 years. New York is always somewhere on our minds. If the right opportunity is presented to us: we would look into of course.

In the meantime happy travels and hopefully we can welcome you back - this time also to try our restaurant!

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I travel to Shanghai often on business and have my usual stay. This time, I went there with my wife and children for a short break over a long weekend and took the recommendation of a friend who is in the travel business. The property is gorgeous and I can see that no expense was spared to build the hotel - a truly 5-star property. Unfortunately, like most services in China, the service personnels are mostly untrained or undertrained. When we arrived in a taxi, a bell boy held the opened door but we had to take our luggage from the trunk. When we were inside, another bell boy rushed to take our luggage (he was there the whole time, not that he was busy). The front desk is a long, long bench made of 3-inch thick wooden top. Judging from the width of the desk, at least several hundred-year old trees had to be cut down for the purpose. The interesting thing is that half of the desk is the bar and the other half reception desk. After we checked in, a female receptionist was to show us to our room. My wife had to change clothes quickly for a luncheon reception, so she asked to take her small bag with her to our room, but was refused, because, we were told that it was the procedure of the hotel to have our luggage taken to our room by the bell captain. When we insisted, the young lady tried very hard to explain her point of view. My wife finally just went over and took her bag. The Concierge was at one end of the long front desk, with only a tiny sign. When we asked for a direction, the poor guy behind the desk had to consult 2 other people and aked us to wait when he had to entertain another guest who approached. I later realized that if the information is not stored in the computer system, the response is always "sorry". The contact-less key system was not very reliable. We had to go back to the front desk once a day to have the keys reprogrammed to work. What made it more annoying was that when the key became invalid (after we had entered the room), the electrical system shut down - lights out and blinds shut. We were so embarrassed that we chose not to tell the Sales Director, who left a greeting message.
Having said that, I must say the people there were friendly, the property impressive and the location excellent. It would be a good choice if you plan to stay there often (so that you are recognized). Otherwise, it is worth a visit to see what you can do with a lot of money in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Jingan Park are better - quiet and with a soothing park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear "Rarvis and family",

With great concern I have read your comments and I have contacted you directly in a separate note to discuss your experiences personally as they are not indicative to what the Puli Hotel and Spa stands for, I hope you will accept this.

Thank you very much for bringing them to our attention.

I very much look forward to keeping in touch personally as said.

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Puli, remember this name cause it's gonna become one of the very best hotel in the world. If my first stay in this property wasn't totally satisfacting, a second new experience has exceeded all the expectations making of this hotel, the very best in Shanghai and as i said, probably one of my "top three" of the planet.

Imagine a brand new hotel, ideally located next to Jing'an park, in the vibrant heart of this great city. Imagine the finest design like the most peaceful sanctuary you can dream and finally imagine the highest and most attentive level of service and you'll have an idea of what is The Puli.

Right away you get into this amazing hotel, you'll feel like in a dream. The lobby is just the most exquisite place where to relax with its long bar prolonged by a fantastic terrace with day beds where you'll enjoy the most delicious cocktails of the city or a very extended wine list by the glass. There is a very special atmosphere in the lobby with this dark shiny ground and all these pieces of modern chinese art blended with a few pieces of antique. Really beautiful and serene just like the adjacent library with a perfect lighting and a lot of sofas where you can lay down.

However, when we arrived at The Puli, we haven't had time to look so much at this great lobby, probably one of the most beautiful hotel lobby we've seen. Actually, a very elegant guy was waiting for us at the entrance and he has escorted us directly to our huge and fabulous suite or maybe more our Shanghaiese residence, our "cocoon", our "home far from home"... On the way to the lift, we have been greeted by each member of the staff in the lobby using the family name and with a very polite and elegant way of being.

We booked an Club accomodation which worth the little more pennies you'll have to spend. We have been introduced by the Chief Butler, the excellent Ersipit, to our private Guanjia (butler), Jason. Both of them were extremly elegant, discreet, efficient and the check in has been as smooth as possible. They bring us a welcome drink, cold towels and a bottler of chilled White wine was waiting for us.
During all our stay, they have been so excellent, looking at the littlest detail to turn our stay into a memorable and perfect experience.

Staying at The Puli Club is an experience full of surprises and it will be not too hard to feel like at home so quickly. The suite was hard to leave cause everything was so beautiful (this is truly the best decore we saw from such a long time, elegant, intelligent, serene), so comfortable, so unique... The view was breathtaking, the massive bathroom with large windows on Shanghai just dreamy and our deep bed was hard to leave in the morning... We were enhanced by the smell of essential oil diffused in our room (we choose it before arrival by a private contact with our butler) but missing the breakfast would be a mistake cause it's one of the most yummy breakfast we had. Great presention, delicious dishes and an extensive choice associated to something original...

The Puli Club comes with other benefits like a full free minibar refilled daily with your favourites, an in room delicious canapés service around 6.30pm, a long bar allowance giving you the opportunity to enjoy your cocktail in the superb terace at the time you want, high speed internet facilities and even an Iphone you can use for free to all your local calls and this very dedicated service so exclusive...

And how to miss the state of the art fitness club, the WOW pool offering peaceful views on the park in an atmosphere of total relaxation, the Jing'an restaurant where you have to try the sunday brunch...

Talking about great things regarding The Puli could be extended so much but to realize even better how fantastic is this property, just book it cause this is the most amazing hotel we have had the chance to experience for such a long time.

Congratulations Mr Van Der Valk cause you're an excelent manager and all the improvements in the hotel are spectacular and The Puli is now n°1 in Shanghai, in Asia, and why not in the world...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Dear ccrr77fr,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. Great to be in your impressive list of reviews and so positively too.

As we say at The Puli Hotel and Spa: "once you book the Club rooms, there is nothing much else you have to worry about; just simply get here!"

Wishing you continued happy and successful travels.

Best personal regards,
Martijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A quiet and beautiful hotel in the city. Very large and well decorated rooms of the sort you'd expect in a tropica resort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Thank you Mr SJX for posting a review.

Our "smallest" deluxe room is already 42 square meters!

For a full listing of all room amenities, please have a look on the website.

Hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Shanghai.

Best regards,
Martijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is a heaven of peace in a crazy city like Shanghai.
Service you can find here is one of the top in the city and all the staff can realize all your requestes.
The Spa inside the hotel offer a lot of different services. Perfect both for business and vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Dear MrDago,

Great to read that you have enjoyed our hotel.

Thank you for letting the TA readers know.

Happy travels in the meantime and best wishes from all of us here at The Puli Hotel and Spa.

Martijn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,203 in Shanghai
620 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#10 of 5,203 in Shanghai
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road | Jing'An District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#191 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $346 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's first luxury urban resort, The PuLi Hotel and Spa is centrally located between Nanjing West Road and YanAn Road. With 193 rooms and 36 suites, The PuLi offers 24-hour butler service, in-room dining, concierge, laundry and valet services, and a one Michelin star restaurant, PHÉNIX eatery & bar. The Health Club has a superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara Spa in Shanghai. With different venues to choose from for your private event or meeting, guests can experience handcrafted service from tailor-made menus to programming assistance. The Level 1 Garden Terrace, Level 2 all-day dining restaurant and Private Dining Room, Level 3 Meeting Room, and Level 26 as a multi-functional space where one can host exclusive and intimate events and gatherings up to 150 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing