We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad, but a bit disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #55 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I wasc pretty sure, that I booked 5* hotel - one of the best rated in booking.com. I didn't like it much, because of pretending style. Actually everything was ok, but sometning bothered me... nice staff and good breakfast was a basic. overpriced, but in the center of SH.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank expat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear expat72,

Thank you very much for sharing this review following your stay at The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the coming future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

I booked the hotel during a business trip and it was a good choice. Perhaps the staff is not the most welcoming but the rooms are really nice and clean. The decor is characteristics with a fusion between modern and some recalls to the 30s (when the hotel was funded). A bit funny how everytime I entered the room and inserted my card, the telly would switch on with a song (I wanna go to Shanghai?) - I think I have learnt the song by heart as it was a bit catchy.

The hotel is only a 20 minutes walk from the Bund and a 1 minute walk to the tube.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diegothereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear diegothereviewer,

We thank you so much for your amazing feedback about The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoy your stay here. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

So I booked this hotel for my two friends travelling in China for the first time (it was also their Wedding Anniversary). Great location- just a couple of steps away from Metro Exit and opposite of Raffles City which is filled with shops and restaurants. Walkable to places such as Bund, Nanjing East Road etc
Nice decorations - room can be a little bit bigger for the cost though but all is fine.
Two chocolate boxes for my friends for the wedding anniversary:)
Ok services and friendly staff. The only complaint I have is the lack of prepayment options. No wechat, alipay or bank transfers for those wishing to pay the rooms upfront and ahead in time. I had to actually go there to pay it in cash which considering how tech savvy China is, this is a tad disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear WMBandit,

We thank you so much for your feedback about The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai. It is wonderful to hear that you and your friends are impressed by our lcoation. For those kind comments regarding the prepayment options, please rest assured we have already bring related management team members into attention which are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I loved staying at this hotel whilst on my travels in China. It has lovely decor, very high standard rooms with big comfortable beds and nice touches ranging from fresh roses in the room to luxury slippers, chocolates etc big spacious bathrooms too with bath and separate shower. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a smaller more personalised stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flo_1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Flo_1369,

Thank you so much for having chosen The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai to stay and for taking the valuable time to share on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I decided to treat myself to a 4 day stay at the Yangtze Boutique Shanghai because it was so beautiful. I really loved the room, the comfortable bed, the spacious and lovely room, the sumptuous bathroom with a full-sized deep tub and walk-in shower. It was really great.The hotel is very well situated - easy to reach from the metro, close to downtown shopping districts, easy walk from the Bund.

The only drawback, however, was the front desk team who need some training on being more polite, more gracious welcoming, and more customer oriented. The doormen, the concierge, and the restaurant staff were all very warm, friendly, helpful, and kind but the front desk staff acted like they were working in a very fast paced McDonald's. The hotel was not busy so there was no excuse for this. Upon checkin, I was informed that I was upgraded which delighted me but that was the last time they spoke to me - just thrusting my key at me and talking to each other and ignoring me. I asked for advice one night around 10pm on where to get food, the front desk clerk laughed and said "Anywhere" - well, most of the restaurants on the pedestrian street were closed at that hour and I wandered trying to find a place. When I checked out at 9:30am on a Sunday morning, there were no other guests in front of me - the staff never asked me how my stay was, if I enjoyed it, or even thanked me - just tossed my bill at me and walked away leaving the doorman to run up to me to help me with my bags. It left a bad taste in my mouth of an otherwise excellent, beautiful, and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Sarah M,

We thank you so much for your feedback about The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai. It is wonderful to hear that you are impressed by hotel facilities. For those kind comments regarding our front desk service, please rest assured we have already bring related management team members into attention which are much appreciated. And please accept our gratitude for providing us a road map to improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Wonderful hotel, lovely decor, very high standard.
We enjoyed a few nights in shanghai on honeymoon and highly recommend this hotel, we were impressed as soon as walked in the door, amd the rooms are amazing.
I particularly enjoyed watching a film while in the bath tub after a day of walking!
The hotel has a number of starbucks/costa coffees close by and is a short walk to the main pedestrian shopping street, and about 10-15minute walk to the river. We used the subway, a station is v.close by to see the gardens, circus and to cross the river.

Highly recommend a stay here.
There are only 9 floors so dont stay here if you want a view, we didnt want a view as we spend most of our time out exploring the city anyway!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REds281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear REds281,

We thank you so much for your amazing feedback about The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoy your stay here. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located to POIs however fairly limited when it comes to great F&B options. The rooms are spacious and thankfully had a comfy bed which isn't always the case in Asia. Service like others have mentioned is in need of some improvement. Think the English at the front desk needs be improved as she had explained that for my two night stay I only get 1 breakfast when my rate is inclusive of breakfast. The one day I had breakfast, my plates just piled up along with those of other patrons - mind you it wasn't even busy yet as it was still early. This is our preferred business hotel so I will likely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lingc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Lingc77,

We thank you so much for your feedback about The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai. It is wonderful to hear that you are impressed by our rooms. For those kind comments regarding our service and staff language skill, please rest assured we have already bring related management team members into attention which are much appreciated. And please accept our gratitude for providing us a road map to improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,749 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#57 of 5,159 in Shanghai
242 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#30 of 5,159 in Shanghai
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.740 Hankou Road, People's Square, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $175 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Shanghai with endless flow of people, there is a place that could take you back to the 1930s to appreciate the golden age of Shanghai. That is The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai.The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, an Art Deco masterpiece infused with gold age of Shanghai, owns the superior geographical position. Located in the People's Square, centre of Shanghai, the hotel enjoys convenient access to all parts of the city with the Shanghai Metro Lines 1/2/8 less than 30 meters from the hotel. Moreover, the hotel is bordered by major cultural and entertainment highlights within walking distance, such as Nanjing Pedestrian Road, People's Park, the Raffles City, the Shanghai Museum, and the Shanghai Grand Theatre.This hotel attracts guests with its private and graceful environment instead of the splendid and magnificent impression. The stained glass dome looks so gorgeous with carved staircase winding up. The candlelit crystal lighting collocates with palatial valance creating the elegant and sumptuous atmosphere. The unique collections displayed on the wall of guest room floor corridors, such as jewelry boxes, manual-shaving-hair tools, ancient door latch, traditional pipes, ladies' hand bags, Hawksbill needles, cookie boxes, etc, all tell guests the history of Shanghai. Entering each room, the song " Rose, Rose, I love you" reminds each guest of the prosperity of the old Shanghai with its sweet voice and nostalgia melody. Standing on the guest room private balcony, you could feel the quick pace of the modern city while retrospect the past good times at the same time.Yangtze Hotel, the predecessor of The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, opened in 1934, owns 80 years of history. Decorated with lavish art deco style, this hotel was touted as "The Third Largest Hotel in the Far East" by the renowned architect, Li Pan. This hotel used to be a popular social resort gathered many celebrities and movie stars, and it was exactly the birthplace of the most classic and well-known song "Rose, Rose, I love you". In order to inherit this cultural heritage, Yangtze Boutique reserves this song as the background music in the room, and names one suit of room as "Rose Suite" to be one of the signature of the hotel, which becomes the favorites of many guests. Over the past 80 years, the Yangtze Hotel witnessed the ups and downs of Shanghai. In 2009, the Yangtze Hotel was renovated gorgeously and re-emerged in a great sumptuous way, reserving the classic Art Deco design style while mixing the 1930s old Shanghai style together. Just like the time flying back, The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai guides guests back to the glamorous and extravagant life in old Shanghai with great charm and elegant demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
Langham Yangtze Boutique Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing