We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average Shanghai hotel, you'll need a taxi to go anywhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Ranked #61 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Average Shanghai hotel, you'll need a taxi to go anywhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is not a bad hotel, but the front desk staff was a bit rude.

The lounge staff was much better.

Club lounge was nice, but not having descriptions on some items led to wasting food. Dim sum with mystery fillings, isn't always what I want. Cook to order breakfast eggs a problem. Every day, except the last, never got the egg order right the first time. One time it took three times!

Nice river view.

Had a meal in the restaurant, and was disappointed. Service slow. The restaurant was empty, yet we were forced to sit way to the side.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaimitoCartero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you very much to share your comments with us! Your feedback is very helpful and important to us. We will pass your information to the related department. It’s a kind remind for our staff to keep the service standard. Sorry for the inconvenience caused and hope you will come again, we will promise to give you a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    206
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
44
53
37
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed during May for 6 nights and must say that its one of the best hotels I Have stayed in. All of the staff went out of their way to assist and advise and all were pleasant to talk to. The room view was fantastic with full height windows looking out over the city, the breakfast buffet choice was extensive and extremely well done. The international nature of the staff added to the time spent there. I Would certainly stay again and would recommend over other large hotels I have stayed in while visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us! It’s a great honor to receive the recognization from you and much appreciate for your recommendation. All of us will continue to deliver the excellent service and show our care to the guests. Sincerely welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangh, Chinaai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We do a lot of family Sunday brunches at various hotels around Shanghai- but the InterCon is our favorite. The food is great (we love the seafood buffet!), the service is friendly and helpful, and the price is a great value considering the high quality of the ingredients. We plan to return often...especially since the kids' had such a great time playing on the beautiful lawn and being entertained by the kid's club.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments and glad that you had great time here in our hotel for the Sunday Brunch. We relaunch the brunch with international cuisines and kids activities by Awesome Kid's Club who will take care of the kids while parents indulge the brunch. Thank you and we welcome you and your family and friends back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel has great large rooms - nicely furnitured, with great bathroom (large bathtub, with innovative TV behind the mirror), I had a great view on the river from the 18th floor.
The breakfast buffet was very diverse and offered anything you can imagine. Service is very good. I really enjoyed the stay.
Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs provide great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The sunday brunch was outstanding

The selection of seafood was great and price was very reasonable compared to the likes of Shangri-la's Yi Cafe ,

The there is out door seating which is great and they have great activaties available for your kids .

I would highly recommend Cafe 1188 as the new place to hang out on a sunday for brunch the team are doing a great job .

Desserts and great they have New Zealand Ice cream which is my personal favorite

The service was very attentaive and relaxed .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! Our Sunday Brunch is re-launched this month and we’re happy to hear good and positive feedback from the guests. Glad that you like it and hope you will come back with your family and friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

During my recent stay at the Shanghai Expo I found the service to be exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel is lovely, from the lobby to the rooms, and the garden setting was beautiful. I highly recomend this hotel when staying in Shanghai.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We appreciate your comments and recommendation. Your recognition is truly valuable to us. That’s what we are striving for "Great Hotel Guests Love". We sincerely welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleppo, Syria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

great hotel service the staff restaurant the view i have stayed form 11 of April for 7 day i like this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments and we’re glad to hear that you had a great experience with us. Hotel is located near the Huangpu River with beautiful garden and 1930's villas which is like the city resort. Sincerely welcome you to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#25 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#96 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#100 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing