We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central
Ranked #436 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This location was the cheapest Holiday Inn Express in Shanghai; of the maybe 15 other locations they have here. It's a little old and the area is a bit obscure; but I think it was a good deal for USD$45. The Metro is within a 8 minute walk. Even at 11pm, it was a quick walk back to the hotel; and we felt safe.

The room was clean. Like others, we did have a problem with the door latch not lining up to lock. But that was quickly fixed.

The front desk staff didn't have a good handle on their English skills. Some of their words were inappropriate and confusing. But we got there.

Breakfast was good! I liked the strange variety. It was interesting. Unusual to have boiled peanuts in their shell for breakfast. And the tofu pudding was surprising as I often thought it was reserved for dessert after dinner. Everything was fresh and appetizing. The three staff were attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MapleLeafGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, 智选假日宾客关怀团队 at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central Hotel and leave your comments. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
IHG Social Listening Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Room had stained carpets and shower door did not close completely. Breakfast very minimal. Furniture in room was not very comfortable. Bed was ok. No in-house restaurant. Shopping mall about two blocks away. Family Mart nearby for convenience items. Desk staff friendly and English no problem. Probably will seek different accommodations next time. Hotel rooms need updating.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Leonard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your letter and your valuable advice .About your suggestions on facilities and equipment, we will reflect to the higher authorities as soon as possible, and try our best to make some improvements. Free breakfast is one of the characteristics of our hotel, and we will change the taste and menu with the collection of the feedback from our honorable guests. We believe you will be satisfied with the next stay and Sincerely looking forward to your coming .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This was a great experience for me because it was not the usual hotel that I would stay at when flying into Shanghai. If you have ever flown into Shanghai, you know you have two major airports. This hotel is located about 25 minutes from Shanghai Pudong International. I had a cheap ticket that I bought, and flew into Hongqiao, and then was looking for something better than 1/2 way for my next early morning flight. This was it.

The hotel is located about an hour from Hongqiao on the way to Pudong. It is located in more of the Port area, in the city, but off the main highway. It is a gated hotel with a guard, and it is surrounded by nice apartments.

The hotel is very clean and appears to be very new. It has about 11 floors, and is very quiet. The staff was wonderful, but the English level is a little weak. I used a few hand motions, and my weak Chinese, but all went well.

The rooms were very clean and nice. It was a quality IHG product. I will stay here again.

I found the bar, dinner and breakfast to be great. The owners even have a nightly BBQ for the guests. This is extra, but not very expensive.

They do not exchange money at this hotel. If you need that for a taxi or anything else, you need to make sure you have cash with you.

This was a great adventure for me. A little off the beaten path, but it was not a problem. This is now on my list to stay. The price was about 1/2 the cost of the normal hotel that I would stay at to gain access to an airport in China. I think it was around $60 USD.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WuSongLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Reservation Department at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central Hotel and leave your comments, glad to see your recognition of the hotel location, the hotel is located in the Golden Bridge Business Center, convenient transportation, adjacent to Metro Line 6, travel fast, next to the Golden Bridge International Commercial Plaza fully meet your needs of catering, shopping and entertainment, etc., We believe you will be satisfied with the next stay and Sincerely looking forward to your coming .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Rooms are good and staff is humble. Language can be issue for outsiders cause apart from couple of folks in reception it will be difficult to communicate in english. The hotel dose not have a kitchen and the restaurant opens only for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank hitt_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regretfully has failed to meet your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. We must pay attention this issue and ensure the well training to the front line staff meanwhile ask the supervisor who can speak frequently English give the fully supporting to the front line staff when they need help. Sorry about than and warmly welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Yes, it's what you pay for but I really expected more from the Holiday Inn chain of hotels. The restaurant only serves breakfast and closed at other times. Selection for breakfast is subpar and tailored for locals. Room was rather old and noisy facing the highway. Asked for a change of room and the air conditioner fan was very noisy. Then the door did not lock and a technician was sent up to fix door alignment issue. Will not stay here ever again! Slow checkin and checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear guest,
Our sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met during your recent visit to Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central. Your observations and opinions are well appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities. We've communicated with the related department, and improve our quality of breakfast and room facilities. Our restaurant offers breakfast and lunch. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff if you have any question.
Our apologies for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I stayed here for 3 nights during January 2017. Things you should know

1. Its about 40 km from Shanghai Pudong Airport and a taxi ride costs about RMB 150. Its also similar distance from Hanqiao Airport in Shanghai.

2. If you decide to use the Maglav from the airport or back to the airport, the Maglav station is about RMB 50 ride away from the hotel.

3. Its a basic hotel with clean rooms, decent washroom, least amenities - no frill place.

4. The Breakfast is basic, with more emphasis on Chinese dishes. However you can manage, if you are a vegetarian like me

5. The room is decent size and reasonably furnished. Be prepared for only Chinese channels on the TV (including paid ones!)

6. The staff (most of them) speak little english and its best to take assistance from some sort of web translator while seeking directions from them (dont count on Google Translate as Google has its difficulties in China, we all are aware about).

7. There are few restaurants near by (walking distance). McD, KFC are about 10 - 15 min walk from the hotel and Chinese restaurants in 10 minute walking distance

8. The nearest Subway - Metro station is about 8 - 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

9. There is wifi in the rooms which is adequate and they have a small business centre kind of lobby where you can access computers / internet and so forth

10. They do have a Gym, which honestly I did not visit so i have nothing to say about it.

11. The air conditioning in the room was making the room too warm (January night temp was about 1 deg C) and despite keeping the temp at 15 Deg C, the room was warm enough that I was forced to keep the window open an inch for the nights I stayed

12. The property is on the main road so if you keep windows open, be prepared for some traffic noise (bearable as its not in the business district so traffic is smooth and sparse)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ashutosh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central and
taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback like yours,such as the location, sleep and breakfast, is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards.
We hope that this experience will not deter you to visit us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I stayed for 5 nights in January 2017.

The reception staff, although efficient, are most unfriendly.Never a smile nor a good morning as you pass reception (even coming in late one night the main door is opposite reception and they couldn't even be bothered to look up never mind say hello, good evening etc). I even used to make a point of saying good morning to them! and in reply they mumbled back to me. I must say as a IHG regular this unfriendly attitude is rare and I suggest the manager addresses it.

The hotel itself although clean and decently maintained has no heart. No bar, restaurant (apart from a breakfast room) or even somewhere (I'm a non drinker) to sit to buy a coffee. No opportunity to chat to anyone so I advise if you are on your own (which I wasn't) go to another hotel.

So that's it, basic, clean but don't expect any more.

Room Tip: rooms to the front face the arterial motorway and are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to share such a thorough review of your recent stay experience with us! We are always seeking feedback from our guests to understand of what they value during their stays and what can be improved to make their stay experience more memorable. However, with regards to the reception staff`s manner, I am sorry to learn that you were disturbed by our service. We must pay attention this issue and ensure the well training to the front staffs to ensure this will not happen again.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central in the future where we are sure you will have a comfortable stay.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Caoyang / Zhenru
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinsha
Shanghai South Railway Station
L'otel
L'otel
#196 of 5,222 in Shanghai
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wuj...
#1,446 of 5,222 in Shanghai
173 reviews
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central

Address: No.1359 Jinqiao Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200129, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $61 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Jinqiao Central Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing