We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$395
US$236
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$97
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$143
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$109
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$424
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
20
55
43
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
55
43
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is locatedreception staffmetrotaxichinesechinaairportihg
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 128 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

Room had stained carpets and shower door did not close completely. Breakfast very minimal. Furniture in room was not very comfortable. Bed was ok. No in-house restaurant. Shopping mall about two blocks away. Family Mart nearby for convenience items. Desk staff friendly and English no problem. Probably will seek different accommodations next time. Hotel rooms need updating.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Leonard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your letter and your valuable advice .About your suggestions on facilities and equipment, we will reflect to the higher authorities as soon as possible, and try our best to make some improvements. Free breakfast is one of the characteristics of our hotel, and we will change the taste and menu with the collection of the feedback from our honorable guests. We believe you will be satisfied with the next stay and Sincerely looking forward to your coming .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

This was a great experience for me because it was not the usual hotel that I would stay at when flying into Shanghai. If you have ever flown into Shanghai, you know you have two major airports. This hotel is located about 25 minutes from Shanghai Pudong International. I had a cheap ticket that I bought, and flew into Hongqiao, and then was looking for something better than 1/2 way for my next early morning flight. This was it.

The hotel is located about an hour from Hongqiao on the way to Pudong. It is located in more of the Port area, in the city, but off the main highway. It is a gated hotel with a guard, and it is surrounded by nice apartments.

The hotel is very clean and appears to be very new. It has about 11 floors, and is very quiet. The staff was wonderful, but the English level is a little weak. I used a few hand motions, and my weak Chinese, but all went well.

The rooms were very clean and nice. It was a quality IHG product. I will stay here again.

I found the bar, dinner and breakfast to be great. The owners even have a nightly BBQ for the guests. This is extra, but not very expensive.

They do not exchange money at this hotel. If you need that for a taxi or anything else, you need to make sure you have cash with you.

This was a great adventure for me. A little off the beaten path, but it was not a problem. This is now on my list to stay. The price was about 1/2 the cost of the normal hotel that I would stay at to gain access to an airport in China. I think it was around $60 USD.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WuSongLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Reservation Department at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central Hotel and leave your comments, glad to see your recognition of the hotel location, the hotel is located in the Golden Bridge Business Center, convenient transportation, adjacent to Metro Line 6, travel fast, next to the Golden Bridge International Commercial Plaza fully meet your needs of catering, shopping and entertainment, etc., We believe you will be satisfied with the next stay and Sincerely looking forward to your coming .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

Rooms are good and staff is humble. Language can be issue for outsiders cause apart from couple of folks in reception it will be difficult to communicate in english. The hotel dose not have a kitchen and the restaurant opens only for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank hitt_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regretfully has failed to meet your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. We must pay attention this issue and ensure the well training to the front line staff meanwhile ask the supervisor who can speak frequently English give the fully supporting to the front line staff when they need help. Sorry about than and warmly welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2017

Yes, it's what you pay for but I really expected more from the Holiday Inn chain of hotels. The restaurant only serves breakfast and closed at other times. Selection for breakfast is subpar and tailored for locals. Room was rather old and noisy facing the highway. Asked for a change of room and the air conditioner fan was very noisy. Then the door did not lock and a technician was sent up to fix door alignment issue. Will not stay here ever again! Slow checkin and checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Dear guest,
Our sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met during your recent visit to Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central. Your observations and opinions are well appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities. We've communicated with the related department, and improve our quality of breakfast and room facilities. Our restaurant offers breakfast and lunch. Please do not hesitate to contact our staff if you have any question.
Our apologies for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2017

I stayed here for 3 nights during January 2017. Things you should know

1. Its about 40 km from Shanghai Pudong Airport and a taxi ride costs about RMB 150. Its also similar distance from Hanqiao Airport in Shanghai.

2. If you decide to use the Maglav from the airport or back to the airport, the Maglav station is about RMB 50 ride away from the hotel.

3. Its a basic hotel with clean rooms, decent washroom, least amenities - no frill place.

4. The Breakfast is basic, with more emphasis on Chinese dishes. However you can manage, if you are a vegetarian like me

5. The room is decent size and reasonably furnished. Be prepared for only Chinese channels on the TV (including paid ones!)

6. The staff (most of them) speak little english and its best to take assistance from some sort of web translator while seeking directions from them (dont count on Google Translate as Google has its difficulties in China, we all are aware about).

7. There are few restaurants near by (walking distance). McD, KFC are about 10 - 15 min walk from the hotel and Chinese restaurants in 10 minute walking distance

8. The nearest Subway - Metro station is about 8 - 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

9. There is wifi in the rooms which is adequate and they have a small business centre kind of lobby where you can access computers / internet and so forth

10. They do have a Gym, which honestly I did not visit so i have nothing to say about it.

11. The air conditioning in the room was making the room too warm (January night temp was about 1 deg C) and despite keeping the temp at 15 Deg C, the room was warm enough that I was forced to keep the window open an inch for the nights I stayed

12. The property is on the main road so if you keep windows open, be prepared for some traffic noise (bearable as its not in the business district so traffic is smooth and sparse)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ashutosh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WU O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central and
taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback like yours,such as the location, sleep and breakfast, is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards.
We hope that this experience will not deter you to visit us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews