We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #156 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have stayed here twice and of course, it's good that is why I went back the second time. I wanted to write this review a while back but I did get the time to sit down and write until now. The second time I stayed was in the year 2010 where I stayed for a month and the first time was in 2009 when I stayed for almost half a year.

Yes, they cut me a deal for a much lesser price since I stayed for almost 6 months. The rooms are spacious, they gave me a suite with a living room, small kitchen and the bedroom. The location is nice and quiet and is closed to the BUND, great view of the BUND from the hotel room that I was staying in. It is not closed to the subway, but if you know the bus route it is very convenient.

It's clean which is very important, the only thing I would complain about is the bathroom where the water sink was clogged at the bath tub on several occasion but when I asked them to fix it, it was done immediately.

The hotel also had washing machines where you need to buy tokens to wash your clothes. Which I quite like rather than throwing it for dry cleaned which could be pricy at the hotels. So, here you can do your laundry once a week and also has dryers where you could dry your clothes of course.

Food is alright but the view from the restaurant upstairs is excellent. Overall, it is nice, clean and convenient. Away from the noise yet a great view of the BUND from a distance. Enjoy!

Room Tip: They also recently renovated, not sure if all the rooms are renovated, but find out which floor of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank li_patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    85
    46
    20
    15
See reviews for
25
47
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Apartment house with some floors for serviced apartments. Basic room, moldy shower, and not a functioning hot and cold shower, scalding hot and then ice cold. Breakfast buffet not much. mostly Chinese food and some mashed potatoes and bacon. They lost my package I had send there. Won't stay there again

Room Tip: Booked with C-trip , when you arrive you can upgrade for double money. Nearby hotels are much more f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

room-for my point of view,the living room is quite spacious for 2 person.tiny bedroom.bathroom bathtub always overflow when takeing shower.nice view from my living room.
food-breakfast average,you eat the same food everyday.
location-it take me 30 min walk to the shopping area.
it got a hard bed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD-CORP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed at Panorama hotel for a weekend because of its price and proximity to the bund. Staff is unfriendly and speaks little English. I got a very spacious living room, average bedroom and tiny kitchen and bathroom. Excellent view of the bund from the 26 floor. Cleanliness of living and bedroom is acceptable but toilet and kitchen were just dirty, black mould in bathroom. It is far to walk to any metro station.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KabulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

First thoughts were very negative. Tired rooms, dirty carpet, black mould in bathroom. REALLY hard bed. Unfriendly staff. No conciergecservices.

Breakfast pretty average. Great views if you get a front room. Good location.

Try to stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Get a view. Better still, get a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just off the Bund, this hotel has lots going for it despite obvious problems. Great location close to transport, gardens, spectacular river vistas, exercise on the Bund and close contact with the locals. The best feature of a ten day stay in a three room suite on the tenth floor, was without doubt the sumptuous breakfast which erased all the problems of ageing decor, cigarette smoked furniture, sluggish air conditioning and old fashioned television sets, concreted bed mattresses and stained carpets. We survived a regular overflowing of the shower unit which helpfully had a Please Slip Carefully sign on the wall...a very nice Chinglish warning... and we developed a system of transferring the living room suite cushions onto the bed so as to make sleeping more comfortable. The other useful expedient was to pop into the local markets and purchase your own air deodoriser for immersing the carpet with lavender spray to rid the wonderful spacious suite of rooms of the appalling dead cat spells. Now the food offerings were so memorable that we were more than prepared to forgive Accor for allowing this hotel to remain in business. Thanks to the obviously stressed staff who were patently aware of how awful some aspects of their workplace were, they deserve better than this run down and poorly maintained hotel. Hopefully, the Accor management will get the message and renovate big time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianmorrisontowncrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, OH
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I just finished a 3 night stay at this hotel. It is well worn. There has been some updating of the rooms but the common areas still look unkempt. You could see by the marks on the wall and floor how my room used to have two beds and now was a single with a seating area. Of course the light switches for each bed were still in the old locations.

The air conditioning never really got the room below 80 degrees. It was actually warmer inside than outside. I don't know what will happen in the summer!

The bathroom was crowded and dated. Granted you are limited to what you can do with a remodeling but I don't think they did anything in the bathroom, including removing the mold from the tiles. Hot water was adequate although the shower had seperate hot and cold faucets so you had to watch the temperature closely. (no anti-scald mixing valve)

The lobby is a check in desk with no seating area or other amenities. The hotel is limited to the top half of the building. The bottom floors are serviced apartments. One entrance is for the hotel and the other is for residents.

The restaurant is on the 30th floor and has an excellent view of the financial district and the river. Of course it was completely fogged in for my visit! I ate breakfast there twice. The food was OK although the choices were limited and the service was poor when you could locate a staff member.

Unless you get a Great Rate, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThere_Didntdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#184 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#151 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#47 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#73 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Hanting Express Shanghai The Bund Waibaidu Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel

Property: Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Address: No.53 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (Formerly The Panorama Hotel On the Bund Shanghai)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#134 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Shanghai
The Panorama Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing