We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business oriented hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #67 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I stayed here for 2 weeks during a work visit to Shanghai. This place is in many ways a very standard top end hotel: Big open foyer area, lots of business oriented amenities, expensive eating options and room service and rooms that are just a bit tired. However, I was very satisfied with the place and the staff were lovely.
In the rooms, the bed was comfortable and there were plenty of power points for charging devices. I was even able to use my australian plugs without an adapter in a few spots.
There is a medium sized 24 hr gym which was never too busy, regardless of what time of day I dropped in. Also there is a good sized 25m lap pool.
The foyer has several ATMs that accept foreign cards which makes it easy to get cash if you need it.
The hotel is located on a busy intersection and is away from the city centre but it is very easy to get around. You are less than 10 minutes walk from the Lancun Rd metro stop and about 15 minutes walk to the Shanghai Science metro stop (where you will find a large market as well) if you decide to do some exploring.
I was busy with work most days but didn't want to eat at the hotel due to high prices and so was happy to discover there are plenty of good places to eat scattered along Lancun Rd or just north of the hotel near a nice canal area.
The staff at the hotel were lovely. They provided all the service you expect from a high quality hotel brand.
This is a business oriented hotel, it is very standard and western but it provides a good service and is conveniently located if you decide to play tourist.

Room Tip: If you have an east facing room and you are staying in summer, remember to keep your blackout curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EmersonSRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

I stayed here for 6 nights in September 2017 on business.
Location was excellent, about 15 minutes (approximately 20 RMB) from the Maglev train station (to the airport).
The hotel is about 15 minutes' walk away from the nearest MRT station (LanCun station), so getting around is fairly convenient. There are a large variety of restaurants around the MRT station area, including Western fast food joints like McDonald's, Domino's Pizza and KFC, besides local cuisine.
Check-in was quite efficient and I encountered no issues, and was even given a free cookie, which was a nice touch.
Room was spacious, very clean, ample lighting, and I had a considerably great view (I stayed on the 28th floor). Internet WiFi was free, and each room had its own WiFi router so connection was very stable, but the speed was just average, in my opinion.
Minibar was stocked, but not free.
The beds were very hard (which I liked, but may be uncomfortable for some).
Breakfast was pretty good, with a wide range of selection, both Chinese and Western.
The hotel offers free shuttle service when a certain number of rooms are booked.
One minor observation was that the interior decor in the hallways outside the rooms seem pretty dated (but not inside the rooms).
There is a 360-degree revolving restaurant on the top floor, which seemed interesting, but I did not try that.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor possible, for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WengHerng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights on business. It was convenient to an exhibiting I was attending as they ran a shuttle to and from the exhibition. It is very close to the maglev station, about 20minutes and rmb25 by taxi. I booked an executive room, which included extra space and desk for working, buffet breakfast, evening cocktails and an excellent buffet for the cocktails hour(s). After the 1st night the staff new what I wanted to drink, and had it on the table when they saw me coming. Same thing in the morning with coffee. The free wifi is ok, each room has its own router. It was free throughout the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

This hotel is fabulous in every way from the quality of the rooms to the staff and the treatment of Hilton Honors Gold members were exceptional . The room I had was huge and the marble bathroom a special touch. The staff were very attentive

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank 195EMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a night on Aug 29 as it was close to pudong airport (30 - 40 min) and I must say this hotel staff is least courteous and very unprofessional and rude. It says internet free but only for Hilton Honour guest. Otherwise just argue and fight with staff ( & if you are Chinese ) you may get a complimentary WiFi. During breakfast, the waiters had no idea what they were doing. They picked up stuff from my table when I was not even finished. Overall this is the worst hotel in Hilton group I guess. I will never stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank BoomAudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

On website the hotel should add a card with hotel details in chinese for taxi as we struggled with language to get here in taxi as we speak no chinese.

At arrival concierge offered no assistance with bags until we had brought into the hotel.!this is disappointing service!

In room or online, hotel could add a local walking map to help visitors.

Bed is very comfortable and hotel and gardens are very well maintained

Kitty at checkin was extremely helpful , thankyou for making us welcome.

Staff in executive lounge were very helpful and the quality and selection of food was excellent/amazing.

Attempted to add this feedback via
hilton app, but was rejected.

I will recommend the hotel and i would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Grimes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We had a comfortable stay for the night. The room was excellent, with great views across Pudong. Shower was a bit small, no handle on inside to close it and water leaked through door. Swimming Pool was average, a bit plain, echo-ey and a bit of a mission to get to. As a keen photographer, I asked to pop into the Revolving restaurant during the day to take pics of the view (it is only open at night, except Sundays), but was refused. Was sad about missing the opportunity. Food at the Executive Club was fairly average, service was great.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#61 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,518 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#76 of 5,159 in Shanghai
474 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#53 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong

Address: No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $124 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, located in Lujiazui Business Center, the 47-story Jin Jiang Oriental Hotel (the formerly Sofitel Shanghai Jin Jiang Oriental Pudong) soars majestically over Pudong with convenient access to Shanghai CBD (central business district). The hotel features 850 tastefully designed rooms in West Wing and East Wing, 6 inspired restaurants, a health club, an in-door swimming pool, an out-door tennis court, and conference facilities for up to 600 delegates. X-Sensation, the famous revolving restaurant and bar is an ideal venue to entertain friends, family and business associates. With almost 10-year experience of professional service and kind atmosphere, this deluxe 5-star hotel offers great packages to ensure your next business trip is a fruitful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing