We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well educated staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #64 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean but a bit too old compared with another double trees I have been. But I was impressed by the people working here. Doesn't matter if reception, club, concierge all people speaks English and are super friendly and nice. Would come back just because of the people working here

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stuki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Nice facility and staff. I was there for business so this was close to the venue i had to attend which was in the Pudong area. It wasn't hard to reach the the The Bund and associated tourist areas. I like to stay at Hilton properties.

Room Tip: good for business locations but you can laos reach the tourist areas easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiewang2, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear TropicalMike,

We are happy to know that you are satisfied with the staff, facilities and location of the hotel. We would like to thank you very much again for your trust on Hilton.

Our entire management team and team members are looking forward to warmly welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Jackie Wang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed here on business for one night - not my normal Shanghai stay but this was organised by a colleague. On reception a disinterested staff member passed me a room card then moved onto to some more important task such as shuffling paper. I proceed to the nearby lifts, only to discover that there is no room for me. Back to the lobby where a (only slightly) more helpful person advises me to walk to the other wing, where I finally locate a lift and eventually my room. If you have two separate towers, some distance apart, why would you not tell your guests in which tower they are staying? Especially the case where the main check-in desk is right next to a lift lobby, while the other one is a 100m walk via a small unmarked door out of sight of reception. Isn't this service 101? If its too difficult or too uninteresting for your staff to do this, then buy a sign!

As we had an early kick-off and as I generally despise Chinese hotel buffet breakfasts, I completed and placed on the door in good time my breakfast order. Come time to leave and I discover it is still in place - but get this, some hotel worker had placed over the order card the newspaper bag! So someone saw the order and decided its not their job.

I complained to the hotel staff at check-out, where I finally encountered someone with service training and aptitude - note to hotel management: keep and promote this woman. She will be needed to train all the new staff I think this hotel needs.

To the credit of the Doubletree Hilton I received an email later that day apologizing for the error.

On my return to Shanghai I stayed at the Hilton instead. It would take something serious to get me back to this Doubletree..

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank DrStoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiewang2, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear DrStoat,

Thank you very much for your kindness to share all your experience with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience that caused to you.

We are highly alert that all new associates should have been received comprehensive trainings before being sent to the front. We will focus on that and ensure a better experience for your next check-in here in DoubleTree Shanghai.

Our entire management team and team members are looking forward to warmly welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed here for two nights on a recent business trip. The hotel is exceptionally well designed, with contemporary Chinese paintings and artefacts adorning the walls and hallways of the hotel. The hotel is split into two wings, with the majority of the rooms in the West Wing. The reception area is beautiful with very helpful and courteous staff. The rooms are well sized with a very large bathroom with separate bath and shower. The housekeeping staff were very efficient and polite. I had the buffet breakfast in the hotel, and it was very tasty offering a large selection of various cuisines, including Western (e.g. fried breakfast and cereal) and oriental (e.g. congee). The restaurant staff were very polite and courteous. Whilst I had a very nice and comfortable stay, I will admit that Mandarin, expectedly is the predominantly spoken language, including in the hotel. Although there were English speaking staff, some times it made communication quite complex, and questions had to be asked twice before a basic level of understanding was achieved. However, do not let this detract from what was a very nice stay, in a hotel that is well located (about ten minutes from the Bund viewing point, if you wanted to see something touristy), and staff are very courteous and efficient.

Room Tip: Have a Mandarin phrasebook with you - just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom9610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiewang2, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Dom9610,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are happy to know that you are satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We would like to thank you very much again as it is distinguished guest like yours that support us and encourage us to create among all our team members great energy and confidence. We will enhance the training on English to improve guest communication experience.

Our entire management team and team members are looking forward to warmly welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Jackie Wang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I stayed here for 2 weeks during a work visit to Shanghai. This place is in many ways a very standard top end hotel: Big open foyer area, lots of business oriented amenities, expensive eating options and room service and rooms that are just a bit tired. However, I was very satisfied with the place and the staff were lovely.
In the rooms, the bed was comfortable and there were plenty of power points for charging devices. I was even able to use my australian plugs without an adapter in a few spots.
There is a medium sized 24 hr gym which was never too busy, regardless of what time of day I dropped in. Also there is a good sized 25m lap pool.
The foyer has several ATMs that accept foreign cards which makes it easy to get cash if you need it.
The hotel is located on a busy intersection and is away from the city centre but it is very easy to get around. You are less than 10 minutes walk from the Lancun Rd metro stop and about 15 minutes walk to the Shanghai Science metro stop (where you will find a large market as well) if you decide to do some exploring.
I was busy with work most days but didn't want to eat at the hotel due to high prices and so was happy to discover there are plenty of good places to eat scattered along Lancun Rd or just north of the hotel near a nice canal area.
The staff at the hotel were lovely. They provided all the service you expect from a high quality hotel brand.
This is a business oriented hotel, it is very standard and western but it provides a good service and is conveniently located if you decide to play tourist.

Room Tip: If you have an east facing room and you are staying in summer, remember to keep your blackout curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EmersonSRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I stayed here for 6 nights in September 2017 on business.
Location was excellent, about 15 minutes (approximately 20 RMB) from the Maglev train station (to the airport).
The hotel is about 15 minutes' walk away from the nearest MRT station (LanCun station), so getting around is fairly convenient. There are a large variety of restaurants around the MRT station area, including Western fast food joints like McDonald's, Domino's Pizza and KFC, besides local cuisine.
Check-in was quite efficient and I encountered no issues, and was even given a free cookie, which was a nice touch.
Room was spacious, very clean, ample lighting, and I had a considerably great view (I stayed on the 28th floor). Internet WiFi was free, and each room had its own WiFi router so connection was very stable, but the speed was just average, in my opinion.
Minibar was stocked, but not free.
The beds were very hard (which I liked, but may be uncomfortable for some).
Breakfast was pretty good, with a wide range of selection, both Chinese and Western.
The hotel offers free shuttle service when a certain number of rooms are booked.
One minor observation was that the interior decor in the hallways outside the rooms seem pretty dated (but not inside the rooms).
There is a 360-degree revolving restaurant on the top floor, which seemed interesting, but I did not try that.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor possible, for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WengHerng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights on business. It was convenient to an exhibiting I was attending as they ran a shuttle to and from the exhibition. It is very close to the maglev station, about 20minutes and rmb25 by taxi. I booked an executive room, which included extra space and desk for working, buffet breakfast, evening cocktails and an excellent buffet for the cocktails hour(s). After the 1st night the staff new what I wanted to drink, and had it on the table when they saw me coming. Same thing in the morning with coffee. The free wifi is ok, each room has its own router. It was free throughout the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#55 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,043 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong

Address: No.889 Yanggao South Road | Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $125 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, located in Lujiazui Business Center, the 47-story Jin Jiang Oriental Hotel (the formerly Sofitel Shanghai Jin Jiang Oriental Pudong) soars majestically over Pudong with convenient access to Shanghai CBD (central business district). The hotel features 850 tastefully designed rooms in West Wing and East Wing, 6 inspired restaurants, a health club, an in-door swimming pool, an out-door tennis court, and conference facilities for up to 600 delegates. X-Sensation, the famous revolving restaurant and bar is an ideal venue to entertain friends, family and business associates. With almost 10-year experience of professional service and kind atmosphere, this deluxe 5-star hotel offers great packages to ensure your next business trip is a fruitful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing