We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
451
453
76
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
453
76
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french concession japanese breakfast huaihai road art deco staff speak main shopping star hotel city view bars and restaurants business trip enjoyed my stay lobby area hotel is in a great location rooms are clean the ground floor spent nights metro station
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Love the overall style of the hotel. Rich in tradition and the food are superb. Breakfast is awesome. Room service menu need to improve though. As the brand, strong touch of Japanese culture. Staffs speak better English than hotels in general in China. One suggestion is to have more attentive staff for the night shift. I came very late at 3 a.m., a lady with 2 suitcase and 1 handbag, no one helped opening the glass entrance door to the reception. Thought there was no one once I reached the other side of the door, a bellman sitting behind the concierge desk. Other than that, all concierge on morning and afternoon shift are helpful.

Will stay there again on y next visit to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wiwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Wiwin W,

First of all thank you very much for the time you have taken to share this wonderful review and recommendation on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you mention the language abilities of our staff since this is something we are constantly focusing on. I am truly sorry to read that the service you received during your arrival was below the standards we aim to deliver to our guests.

Please rest assured your comments have been discussed with our management team to make sure this doesn't happen again in the future.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again so we can improve your impressions.


Stella Huang
Guest Service Team
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018

This place used to be HQ of foreign colonial. Buildings may look a little old but great enough. Rooms are large and all euipments are excellent. Restraurants inside are all good. They serve Japanese breakfast and buffet breakfast. Both are super good! And services of hotelman are also first class.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichiro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear ichiro s:

Thank you so much for choosing Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai and taking your valuable time to share with the Tripadvisor community.
We are delighted to learn that you’ve enjoyed the overall experience and thank you for highlighting our traditional and great place.
Rest assured I will share your kind words with our team and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again during your next business trip to Shanghai.
Once again, thank you very much for kind words!
With best regards,


Stella Huang
Guest Service Team
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

I like the historic background of the hotel and the architecture is really nice.
The Japanese breakfast was really yummy as well.
Regarding the room, i will say it is good, tidy and clean.
However, the wifi seems not well that well.
Good location as well!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icarus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Dear Icarus ,

Thank you so much for choosing Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the broader TripAdvisor community.

We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

We are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay. As we strive to create memorable hotel experiences for all of our guests, we very much appreciate your recognition of the Japanese food and the room.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Warmest regards,
Stella Huang
Guest Service Team
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Second visit to Okura and we would go back. Staff is great and always very helpful. the breakfast buffet is a 5 start - caters to all types of eating preferences - including sushi. They also have a lovely bar / tea area in the main lobby - straight from the 60's.
Very clean rooms and well maintained.
The staff is so very friendly but extremely professional.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Dear Bellahani,


Thank you very much for the thoughtful review of your recent stay at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our services, the breakfast, lobby bar and other facilities. Your comments and compliments are valuable to us as they help us know what we do best and what we could improve. In Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai we strive to be your ‘home’ away from ‘home’ therefore returning guests like you are the biggest compliment we can get.

Our team will be so pleased with your wonderful feedback.

Once again, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Kind regards,


Claire Chen
Guest Service Team
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

After reading some of the reviews, we were actually pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. The lobby and dinning room decor is elegant. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast buffet has ample options. The beds are comfortable and the room was big enough. There are nice garden and skyline views from the room. The hotel is a short distance from the subway station. It’s conveniently located in a nice part of town and there are multiple stores within walking distance. The bathroom could use some updating and a better quality hairdryer would be appreciated.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dwitter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Dear dwitter56,

Thank you so much for choosing Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai to stay and for taking your valuable time to share with the TripAdvisor community.

It’s really a great delight to know that you’ve enjoyed the overall experience, location and our services!
Our hotel, the bathroom and facilities are in a constant process of updating and renovating. Please rest assured, your valuable feedback will be processed and followed by our management for the further improvements.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!


Warmest regards,


Stella Huang
Guest Service Team
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews