We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #21 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great hotel, good location, would love to be back...
Four seasons will never disappoint ...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback . We are delighted that you have a nice experience at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

very clean, friendly staff and very good location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia_lpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We are honored to be part your trip. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I arrived on a warm December day. The lobby was surprisingly warm, smoky and humid which I didn't appreciate. I'm just not used to having to smell cigarettes any more living in the US. I'd just come from the US and stopped in to the Chinese restaurant off the lobby. It was tasty with impeccable service and few customers but the air was the same. I headed off to Beijing the next day but then returned for several more days of business. Fortunately the weather took a turn colder and the lobby was much more comfortable for the rest of my stay. I had breakfast in the lobby restaurant every day. Service was pretty good although refills on coffee could have been prompter. Food was plentiful and varied. The room was very attractive and unlike my other Chinese hotels it was at ground level and I enjoyed watching the street life as I ate breakfast. Location seemed decent and it was easy enough to get taxis. I did walk around the neighborhood several times and there is a nice mix of old and new China. The bedroom and bathroom were nicely appointed with the typical amenities you would expect from this level hotel. I did find that some of the public areas like the hallways outside my room were showing a bit of wear and tear. Not a lot but some. I didn't end up using the spa or gym. I had trouble VPNing into work for some reason. I haven't had that issue elsewhere. I did have internet access so not sure if it related somehow to hotel network or not. I've stayed at a couple other 5 star hotels on other visits and would visit them again before returning to this one especially with the lobby smoke although I'll still try Four Seasons elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bktw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear bktw, thank you for your valuable comments. We naturally are concerned to read your feedback relating to restaurant air environment and service, and apologize for any inconveniences caused. We really appreciate your suggestion on smoking issue. It has got the management attention with action plan implementation. We will also convery your precious feedback to the manager of Cafe Studio. Please come back and see our improvement. Should you have any other questions and concerns, please contact us directly through pr.shg@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a whirlwind trip to China. A 5-star hotel was our christmas treat to ourselves. Smooth checkin and once we were up in our room, we had a fabulous welcome pot of authentic chinese tea and snacks - which after our flight - was a welcome we thoroughly needed. A very comfortable and big room (love the pillow) with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg71brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We are honored to be part of your trip. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location to walk to Westgate Mall, Nanjing Road or The People's Square, among many other Shangai landmarks.

As for dining, the Four Seasons Shanghai - seven days a week - breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets are unparalleled.

It's a shame that U.S. Four Seasons properties don't mimic this property at their lounges and cafes... (note to The Bristol Lounge in Boston, which has gone down hill, and ceased to offer a proper Sunday brunch, save for Christmas, Easter, Thanksgiving and Mother's Day.)

The concierge staff, (Clarke, among others); the Executive Lounge staff (Tiffany and Walter included); and entire staff at the hotel, from the top (GM Peter Weber) down, are worthy of their jobs and make each stay a pleasure beyond words.

Only complaint: the smell of cigarette smoke the room, whenever neighbors are smoking. (ick).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildaboutmovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you very much for your valuable comment! So glad that you enjoyed our concierge, executive club and F&B outlet. We sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

It has a convenient location, near the Nanjing West Road subway station, about 8 -10 minutes away and there are quite a number of shops and restaurants near subway . But beware that now next to the hotel is a very big construciton site. It looks that it would take at least 2 -3 years to complete.

Layout of lobyy is very good. But the lobby restaurant doesn't look very much match the hotel. Checked in at the club floor. The club has a very good view of the surrounding area. Staff at the club floor has very good standard of service, no doubt. Food, drinks and computer avaibale inside.

I stayed in a room with very much space, about 60 sqaure metres. The room has a very nice closet area, spacious and bright bathroom. Toilet, shower and bathtub are all separated. L'occitane amenities are available.

The room has a 2-seater and a 1-seater sofa, a TV set, a writing desk and mini-bar, and a plant, which is interesting to be placed next to the bed. I would say the room layout is not very well thought, though it provided everything you needed. For a Four Seasons, you expect more than the basic provisions, but style and taste. The bed is too soft, and seems used for a long time, the centre of the bed is so soft that you felt like sleeping in a depression. I had to move my body in midnight to the side to gain a firm part of the bed.

I also visited the indoor pool on 4/F in one morning, there was no other guest at the time. It has a 25M rectangular pool and a hot water jacuzzi. Towel, loung chairs, water, magazines, background music are available. Do make some exercise if you have time.

Breakfast provided a big variety of food, Shanghainese style for sure, western, and even Japanese. Food quality is generally good, but the coffee served is not hot, so I have to ask for a change, which I don't expect to happen in a Four Seasons. Other than that, the hotel is a good hotel, but one would expect more from a Four Seasons. Frankly, I feel more like I was in a good Le Meridien than in a Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed the last 3 days of a 2-week trip. Staff went above and beyond. Had a communication problem with a tailor and the concierge translated my concerns. The breakfast buffet was great too. Very welcoming. For two women traveling alone, we felt very safe here too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We are honored to be part of your trip.Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Address: 500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#177 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $259 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing