We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$188
US$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$244
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$154
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,563)
Filter reviews
2,563 results
Traveller rating
1,549
735
196
51
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,549
735
196
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe jin mao towercloud bargrand cafepiano bartallest hotelhotel startsifc mallthe pearlthe financial districtriver viewan amazing hotelthe club loungefloor to ceiling windowsacross the riverluxury hoteltop floorbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 2,563 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Excellent all around... only problem is that I couldn't afford to stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Excellent all around... only problem is that I couldn't afford to stay more than one night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMJMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a really good place to be! The first 54 floors are offices and the hotel runs from 55 to 89th floor. The views are amazing from every room (although I had a view of a constructions site).

You really don't need to leave the hotel as the gym and spa are very good, plenty of restaurants of good quality, great service (pick up at the airport, English speaking personnel) and overall a good atmosphere.

The hotel is centrally located in Pudong which is a very clean and safe area. Brand Super Mall is close but it has mainly US and European brands and very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TedMBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

It is nice to see that even though it is now considered an "older" property in Shanghai hotel standards (where new hotels are popping up every year), that the Grand Hyatt has maintained it's service standard. Check-in was quick, and courteous, and we used a diamond suite upgrade certificate and was given a suite at the club floor. When you reach the floor, and step off the elevator, the first thing that attracts your attention is the circular open area where you can look up and see the crowd who are in Jin Mao looking down! Then when you look down, you see how high up you are, it's quite breath taking. The suite was spacious, though had a very strong smell as if they were trying to cover some smell with carpet deodorizer!

Service at the club lounge was great, at one point, we left a pair of sunglasses in the lounge, and when we went back later that evening, one of the club lounge attendant, asked me if we had left our sunglasses earlier, and promptly gave it back! We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank hkfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

It's great to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and my colleague at the Grand Club Lounge handled your lost & found item well and I will ensure that they are recognized accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Andy Chang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Overall this hotel is superior in its class. The service is superb, the rooms are faultless and everything is catered for ( except perhaps room requests when checking in). The pool and spa area was fantastic after a busy day in and around Shanghai. And of course the views are stunning from almost everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pb3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This Grand Hyatt has been in operation already longer and it shows with certain details in the rooms. However the rooms are spacious and when located in the right part of the hotel provide a breathtaking view of Shanghai (if the smog lets you see it). I was initially given a room facing the large construction site nect to the hotel but as construction would continue 24/7 I changed quickly to another room. Because the Hotel starts at floor 54 upwards it is an experience to stay here while in Shanghai. The restaurants are a bit overpriced but there is a shopping mall nearby with many restaurants and supermarket.

Room Tip: Get a room on the non construction side. Also be aware as some rooms have a connecting door to the room next door with little sound isolation.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelefes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews