We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oriental Riverside Hotel
Ranked #125 of 4,571 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast Qld Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Would stay here again, after reading some reviews on trip advisor I was a little unsure but after taking the chance I was very happy. Rooms large and bathrooms nice, Great location close to river , great views from rooms and good restaurants close by. Breakfasy buffett a little average and expensive but you have to eat there as there are many options outside. Taxis always outside hotel and tourist pedestrian tunnel straight outside that takes you to downtown Shanghai..

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    215
    69
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
36
18
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel is nice enough for a 5 star hotel. Clean, good service, but not the top tier of Shanghai hotels. Drinks are absurdly expensive in the atrium, but the included breakfast is excellent if you like Chinese style breakfasts. Fresh hand-pulled noodles most mornings was the highlight!

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the elevator, so check the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friedrichshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

This is the first visit to China. Payment culture is different than other countries that I visited where you only pay up after the stay or perhaps just a deposit. Make sure your credit card works overseas with a high credit limit or you have enough cash to pay up not only the total of the room rent for the duration of the stay but also additional costs which sum up to nearly twice the total rent for the days that had been booked.
Just call a cab at the airport rather than use the airport pickup service which costs about 20 times more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for a business conf. Most taxi drivers didn't seem to know this hotel, so pre-print a map if you're taking a taxi here. Check in was complicated because there was an error and though everyone kept smiling, the English-language skills of the check-in staff was very poor. this difficulty with communication persisted throughout the stay - the concierge couldn't understand my requests for help with restaurants and circus tickets, and I just couldn't get my request for an iron and ironing board understood despite multiple attempts. My guide later told me that it's a government-run property, so there's little incentive for anyone to 'serve'. The room itself was adequate, but smelled of smoke (on a non-smoking floor). The bathrooms have been updated and were impressive. I appreciated the free internet in the room. Breakfast was a real disappointment - a multitude of staff (most seemed to mill around aimlessly) and a wide array of food offerings (local and international), but nothing was kept warm (resulting in soggy food), and a good deal of the food didn't seem fresh (incl breads and sweets). The noodle station only operated periodically it seemed. Overall it was a functional, great bathrooms and free internet, but service and food below par, and communications really challenging.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 days and found the hotel was of a very hight standard. We had a standard garden view room and this was great. Had a view of Pudong hi rises including the Oriental Pearl Tower. Convenient hotel for sightseeing as bus stop was next to hotel. Tourist tunnel right by the front door of hotel gave access to The Bund. Breakfast was plentiful and good variety. Only negative was very limited information available in English. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

I was really impressed with the hotel. Room is really spacious, deluxe riverview has a lovely view of the bund, lots of closet space, beautiful bathroom, especially the shower, good service. Staff was so helpful with taxi arrangement and find out my terminal when I was late catching my flight. Though i was not a fan of their breakfast, which was not included in my package so it would cost USD 40 (!) - a bit too much for breakfast. But I cannot complain, Starbuck is across the road. My colleague stayed next door at Shangri-la with a much smaller room and double the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Situated on the east bank of the Huangpu River, between the Pearl Tower and the tourist tunnel, this hotel has the best location in Pudong of any hotel at any price – bar none! It shares the iconic “twin globes” building with the Shanghai International Convention Centre and its target market is Chinese weddings and business conferences. It is very Chinese and not all the staff speak good English but this is the 4th time I’ve stayed and I’ve never experienced the bad service some of the other reviewers complain of.

Prices remained very competitive during the Expo period and internet access is now free. You get the best price by purchasing a VIP gold card in advance – this saves you about 100RMB per night less than the best available internet rate and gets you 15% discount on everything that you book to your room. The bad news is that they want an extortionate 216RMB for the mediocre buffet breakfast – you can half this by having the room service continental breakfast, and half it again by walking 300 meters up river to Starbucks, or across the road to the numerous eateries in and around the Super brand shopping mall.

The refurbishment programme will have finished by the time this review gets posted – I was the first to use the newly reopened pool! The gym nolonger has cardio exercise machines – now it’s just weights machines and free weights, but more disappointing is the loss of the Moon River bar to make way for the new executive floor. There is a viewing terrace on the roof – but outside and standing only, and a poolside lounge with river views was about to open – but alcohol free. The lobby bar has no atmosphere and closes at 10pm, but perhaps this is a good thing – you really shouldn’t be hanging out in the hotel when the whole of Shanghai is on your doorstep!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#13 of 4,571 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#16 of 4,571 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Hotel

Property: Oriental Riverside Hotel
Address: No.2727 Riverside Avenue, Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#114 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oriental Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Riverside Shanghai
Hotel Oriental Riverside
Oriental Riverside Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing