We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$95
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$267
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
175
428
306
75
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
428
306
75
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive clubtravel agentmetro stationconvenient locationbusiness triptaxi driverchinese foodbusiness hotelnanjing roadinnskfclineloungetaxisconvenienceaddressexit
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Convenient location (next to subway & train station) but room is not large & very little aircon. It is lucky that the temperature droped at night. Otherwise, we need to open window but it will be noisy.

Room Tip: It is better to choose room facing training station, not the road which will be noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KcLi8833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june w, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our related department and make the necessary changes.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future where we are sure you will have a better experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Had to stay there for 2 nights, I had all facilities I needed in the room, room itself was big but old fashioned and had a smell of cigarettes. breakfast was varied, basic service. The good point was the location, very close to central train station.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank rinathermoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june w, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Dear Guest,
Our sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met during your recent visit to Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown.With regards to the room facilities and wifi, we are sorry to learn that you were disturbed by them. Along with the further improvements in the near future, we will try our best to give every guest a comfortable stay experience.
We look forward to welcoming to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Its just located very neat to Shanghai train station and Route 1 or the metro. Route 3&4 are also accessible from this hotel.

Got a room at level 4 not much views. Room, bed and pillows are OK. Breakfast buffet average as well.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june w, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. First, thank you for your recognition to the hotel location. And we are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to the guest room. We really appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest experience. We will continue to update the guest room decoration and facilities to provide you a better stay experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

If you have business in this specific area of Shanghai you have this hotel and the Intercontinental to choose from....Redone property. The check in staff were not hat informative even speaking Mandarin. Club Level Room on the 13th floor room 1309.
Quite nicely appointed room, comfortable bed and chairs. However as this room was close to the elevator, about 0300 through 0500, the staff were preparing for the day, I guess, as they were hauling carts across the floor, elevator and very loud. Quite bothersome. The lounge had simple offerings, nice place to get away from the crowd, but dont expect to much for snacks. The restaurant for breakfast had minimal offerings. Disappointing, but enough for a meal. I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Dont book the club level...nothing special
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobc965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june w, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback with regards to our hotel Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to our staff and breakfast offerings. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings and will definitely strengthen staff training and increase the breakfast variety.
We do hope you can give us another chance. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Despite the aged look of the exterior, the interior was actually well maintained and clean and comfortable. The bed linens and towels were clean and new. Breakfast had something for everyone. Next to metro and railway station. There is also a McDonald's and KFC walking distance.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank saida a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june w, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Under your support and encourages, we will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews