We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
75
164
102
31
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
164
102
31
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nanjing road tallest building wax museum people's square art deco in room wifi subway station walking distance double bed rooms are nice asia comb taxi slippers district exit
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 378 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2016

I swithered on giving this hotel an average or very good review for sometime before writing this review and have decided on the very good option as the initial problems we had were resolved quickly and efficiently. This hotel is in an excellent location for first time visitors and tourists as within walking distance of the bund, peoples park and many fantastic shops and markets. Very very busy main street outside with lots of comings and goings and a great insight into real Shanghai life, the hotel was very busy when we stayed with a mixture of tourists like ourselves and business people. On arrival we were given room 611 which is next to the health centre and Spa, never heard any noise from this area at all but our room was very cold and damp, this was however immediately fixed as all bedding including duvets were replaced and air conditioning switched off resulting in room warming up and being nice and cosy for the 3 nights we stayed. I would imagine this is not a new problem though as wall paper on walls and ceiling was peeling at the edges and there was evidence of damp on the ceilings and in the bathroom, as its a very old building maybe a bit of room decoration and tlc wouldn't go amiss. With exception of the elderley little porter with the black hat and huge Chinese toothless grin at the front door were not very sociable but I think this was because they had limited English, the little porter at the door was lovely and helpful always holding doors open taking your umbrella and bagging it and giving you a huge welcome every time you came and went. The hotel was nice and clean with a spacious entrance and large seating area with a little bar on the ground floor, beware of the prices at the bar though as extremely expensive, approx. 55rmb (£6) per cup of tea, we ordered 6 cups of tea/coffee and cost us £40 one afternoon. Alcohol also expensive equivalent of £100 for 6 brandys. Breakfast large buffett style and lots on offer from cooked to traditional Chinese to continental cereals toast etc, wouldn't say top quality but nice. Taxis easy to flag down at front door and Chinese door man more than happy to help get you one if raining. If you don't like beggars don't stand out front of hotel as approx. 4 work this area of Shanghai and from 6am to 11pm continually work this area, two of them have missing limbs and one of these lies on an extended skateboard with a dog bowl and slides right up to your feet throwing the dog bowl infront of you, must say they are extremely grateful when you give them something and don't bother you for the rest of that day. Overall a nice hotel don't know if I was returning to Shanghai I would use again as now I know the area better might try one of the newer ones which are very close by, certainly an excellent choice for first time travellers as couldn't be closer to everything you want to see. Taxi to Pudong airport approx. 45mins and costs 200rmb (£25). Not a great deal for Children to do at this hotel.

Room Tip: less noise the higher you go and corner rooms much bigger
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fifi62684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkhotel170, Public Relations Manager at Park Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thank you for your comment! We are honor that you have a nice time in our hotel. Welcome to Park Hotel next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Stayed on holiday for 4 nights. Room was damp - sheets had to be changed as wet and there were areas of mould on walls. Hotel is quirky and nice features but decor tired and drab. Could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank admaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkhotel170, Public Relations Manager at Park Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thank you for your recommendation in Park Hotel. We will regularly maintain guestrooms. Hope to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

I stayed here on business and so had a transfer from the airport, but it looks as if public transportation would also be easy: the hotel is very close to the metro. There is a pedestrianised street just along to the left which is buzzing with restaurants and coffee shops, although the hotel also has its own restaurant should you prefer. It's within easy walking distance (15 minutes or so) of Shanghai Museum, on the other side of the park.

My room was comfortable and spacious, and although I could hear people working out in the corridor during the day, at night it was very quiet. I didn't have many interactions with the staff, as I was just there for one night, but they were very helpful (for example, when I had trouble with the room safe). Breakfast was a delicious spread of Chinese and Western food, perfect for stocking up before a busy day.

There is a small exhibition on the 1st floor telling the history of the hotel, which was built in the 1930s and was the tallest building in Asia at the time. That has now been long superseded by the towering skyscrapers around it, but it remains a charming and very elegant place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank The_Idle_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkhotel170, Public Relations Manager at Park Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thank you for your comment! Welcome to Park Hotel next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2016

I had a deluxe room, which was really great, very spacious, comfortable, quiet, strong wifi and nice amenities. There were a number of opening windows, which was good to get some frsh air, but the aircon was good anyway.
Staff were helpful and it was easy to get to, being right next to exit 9 of the Peoples Square metro station

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room, which was very impressive.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkhotel170, Public Relations Manager at Park Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thank you for your comment! We are honor that you have a nice time in our hotel. Welcome to Park Hotel next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016

The rooms are will provided with all the necessities for a business traveller. Within distance to the BUND as well as to the city square. Many shops and eating places around just that not all eating places are visible at street level.moving around is ratehr conveneient wirh the taxis in abundance and near to the underground train station.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Dui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkhotel170, Public Relations Manager at Park Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Thank you for your comment! We are honor that you have a nice time in our hotel. Welcome to Park Hotel next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews