We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming history hotel, excellent Beijing Cuisines, and fantastic activities at lobby bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #158 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 December 2017

In the year of 2017 from September 22 to December 14, I stayed Park Hotel, Shanghai, China 3 times. Overall, I would like to rate five stars. Based on: It is a pleasant, friendly and warmth hotel with excellent location (the heart of city), 90 years fantastic and elegant history, and very convenient transportation; Very clean nice and comfortable room with a great city view; A good breakfast buffet with wide selections. Excellent Beijing Cuisines are at her traditional Beijing Style restaurant ( Fengze Lou) located at second floor with outstanding excellent amenities and very nice services; a signature Peking (Beijing) Duck characterized by its thin, crisp skin, and juicy meat, as well. An enjoyable bar is in the Lobby with Piano’s playing in later evening.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kevin3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

The only great thing about the hotel is the location. The facilities are dirty and old. The check in and out were smooth. When we got our room, we had to go and change it as it smelled badly, someone smoked cigarettes in the room prior our arrival. When we got our new room now the smell was different, and it came from the bathroom, the bathroom had mold, there was a window just in front of the toilet, so anyone that was on the bed could see when someone was using it, as the blinds on the window didn’t worked well. We found a cigarrete butt in between the bed sheets... and saw a little bug cockroach like in the chair. We called to the lobby cause the AC didn’t work, and they told us that they didn’t have AC at all... I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone, there are some other hotels in the area they looked better from the outside.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CherryBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Great location straight across from Peoples Square. Easy access to Metro Station. Close to Nanjing Rd Shopping strip. Was once Asias Tallest building. Whilst rooms are in need of a bit of an update, it's still comfortable. Good breakfast. Have stayed there on more than one occasion

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

the hotel is lovely to look at, very art deco, built in the 1930's, but looks are deceiving. we were the only 'white' people staying here. mainly chinese! the front of house staff have limited english, this included the concierge (although he did try to understand our questions) the room was okay, but had so much furniture in it that it made it very small!. the air con was noisy making it hard to sleep, in the 3 nights we were there the room was never dusted and there was mould in the grouting over the bath/shower (ugh!) breakfast was barely adequate as it was mainly chinese. eggs were cooked, but left on plates in the open (not on a hot plate) the juices tasted like cordial, best bit was the fruit. best part about the hotel was its proximity to the Nanjing Rd pedestrian street (shops, shops and more shops) dont stay at this hotel unless you speak chinese!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shazza1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Very unfriendly staff, took us 40' to check in. The room was average and the bathroom looked like it was still the same like in 1950. We asked to arrange a taxi in 20', when we came down, nothing was arranged so after waiting another 10' we did the trip on foot which caused us to miss our appointment by 20'. Never going back here when in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorgen_VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This hotel was built in the 1930s and at some point was probably the best in the area. Its been renovated over the years. It still has some traces of grandeur but it looks like its going to need some updating soon.

We arrived a couple of hours after midnight to the strong smell of cigarette smoke. The lobby was rather dark but the staff quickly processed our check in. We then lugged all our luggages ourselves to our room. The view from the window is not so good, and hampered by the chair and ottoman beside it. This same chair and ottoman makes the cabinet situated behind it (and the safe inside the cabinet) difficult to access.

For an old hotel, the noise coming from the hallways is quite considerable. Otherwise, sleep quality is good.

In-room wi-fi is free but spotty. And considering that there is no Google here looking for things up on the internet can be a chore.

The bathroom is spacious, but there is no bidet.

Breakfast is on the second floor, with a decent buffet spread. The spread hardly changes from day to day. I asked for 2 omelets with everything on it from the chef and for some reason, while he acknowledged that I asked for omelets, he gave me scrambled eggs. Otherwise, the breakfast staff are very, very friendly and helpful.

The best part about this hotel is its location. There are a lot of shops around it. Nanjing Road and People’s Square are a walking distance. You can also walk to the bus station that takes you to Zhujiajiao Water Town from here. A taxi from here will of course take you anywhere in Shanghai. In a street behind the hotel theres a whole stretch of restaurants to try. And theyre very good.

The hotel is a bit old. But for the price, its well worth looking into.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ac_agati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

I recommend this Art Deco hotel. It is really like a museum. The front desk is no exception. Like a deja vu of the old China (in a good way). Nice bar, and Chinese/Japanese breakfast. Very well located close to Nanjing Road and the Bund. Opposite a metro stop, so you can go anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#154 of 5,222 in Shanghai
374 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#244 of 5,222 in Shanghai
464 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#210 of 5,222 in Shanghai
97 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,222 in Shanghai
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.170 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#155 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $137 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel located in Shanghai, China, is considered an architectural milestone that lends a touch of historic charm to the animated cityscape. Park Hotel offers travelers around the world their 252 art deco-styled rooms. Park Hotel’s dining, business, and recreational offerings reflect the unwavering passion for great hospitality and service for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing