We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel in quiet area”
Review of Anting Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anting Villa Hotel
Ranked #144 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
newcastle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in quiet area”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lots of hotels are comfortable and provide good service, but there aren't that many that have the ambience of AVH. Set in its own grounds off a quiet street, its the ideal place to relax after a busy day in Shanghai.
Locally (10-15 min walk) there are bars, smart shops and restaraunts and parks to visit. The hotel has a gym and free internet access.
We stayed for two nights at the end of a two week tour of China and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidayh0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    32
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
38
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Traveled to Shanghai for pleasure and to visit expo. Wanted to stay in the French concession, and while not right in the heart was very convenient. Looks from the outside can be deceptive, looks a little garish but inside very clean. Daily buffet breakfast good, 5 minute walk to underground - rail system fantastic, world class, good English signage and ticketing sales. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This place is close to Hengshan Road and all that has to offer. It is used heavily for Shanghai weddings. The rooms were small and dated, but the a/c worked. I think I paid around RMB450. Overall, I wouldn't return and I would choose something a bit more updated instead. The staff were rude (most in the Shanghai hotel industry seem to be) and not helpful. They wanted to charge me for a map. The corridors are loud and the doors are flimsy. I could hear everything, even my neighbor spitting and hacking in the hallway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights during a recent trip to Shanghai. We chose this hotel because of its location in the French Concession area. The hotel grounds were lovely and the room, although not luxurious, was certainly adequate. Internet access was provided free of charge, and although a little slow, was okay. We only ate at the restaurant once and that was for a breakfast buffet which was mediocre for me. The room was clean and quiet, as long as you kept your windows closed in the morning. The subway was a short walk around the corner and was conveniently located. We did find several restaurants within walking distance about 5-10 minutes away, including Japanese, Italian, Pappa Joes Pizza and a Brazilian Steakhouse. The two negative things I would comment on would be the extremely hard beds (which is typical of moderately priced hotels, and you will probably not get away from this unless you book a more expensive western chain hotel) and the air conditioning (or lack thereof). There was a control on the wall but you could not control the temperature, even though it had a temperature control, and was apparently controlled by the hotel. You could only turn it on and off, and at times the room was a little warm for us, but really not bad. The staff was pleasant and spoke enough English to be able to communicate adequately. We booked the Superior Twin Room, the least expensive accommodation, for 5 nights in May at a rate of $101 including taxes and service fee. Considering the accommodations, location and the lovely setting, we thought this was a reasonable price for this hotel and would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandddurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This was the only hotel out all that we visited that did not respond to email requests to confirm booking, and reflects the overall management of the hotel.
A lovely classic building that was clearly a major hotel in the past, but now more of a tired old lady that needs a makeover. Nothing majorly wrong, but just all those small things that add up to making it a very average place, that many people may be disappointed by. Chipped mugs for the coffee at the buffet breakfast, waiter wearing the same stained uniform day after day, waitresses that do virtually nothing, a beat up coffee machine that works harder than anybody, food that's western...almost, and pervasive smell of cleaning/painting fumes through the whole place.

It's not bad, it's just average...but the location in the French Concession area is great. A two minute walk to the metro, which is easy to use and you can get to anywhere you need. Locally a good choice of bars and restaurants. Area seems to be popular with expats.

So if in Shanghai don't scratch this one of your list, but don't expect as Sheraton. The uniformed guy at the gate who salutes will put a smile on your face.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purplesmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Our friends living in Shanghai recommended this hotel partly because of the reviews here and I am happy they did. The hotel was great, the staff were helpful, spoke a bit of English, wrote us directions for cab drivers in Chinese (a must) and generally made sure they understood all our requests. Yes, the beds are hard, but according to our friends they generally are in China. And to my surprise I slept really well despite not being too keen on hard beds. The breakfast was also good, with both Western and Chinese fare, which changed from day to day. My only gripe would be the wall to wall carpet in the room and the quite small bathroom. The locations is excellent, in the heart of the French Concession which is a nice and very Chinese neighbourhood. Close to the metro and great restaurants are only a short cab drive away. Had a great 10 days in Shanghai and would def stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed for 3 nights. A very comfortable long established hotel with good service and facilities. Our superior room was spacious. The bed was hard but we slept very well, despite a bit of noise from the corridors. We liked the location, away from the city centre but handy for the metro and local shops and restaurants on Hengshan Road. Good value if you book through an agency. Nice grounds surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#170 of 5,059 in Shanghai
266 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#376 of 5,059 in Shanghai
67 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#183 of 5,059 in Shanghai
186 reviews
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anting Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anting Villa Hotel

Property: Anting Villa Hotel
Address: No.46 Anting Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#129 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anting Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a commanding facade and lush green lawns, Anting Villa Hotel in Shanghai, China, blends perfectly with Hengshan Road's magnificent buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anting Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Ting Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing