We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but a little out of the way”
Review of Anting Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anting Villa Hotel
Ranked #144 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but a little out of the way”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. While it was a relatively nice hotel I thought it was a bit far away from everything. We needed to use the Subway all of the time. Not as many things within walking distance and the area not as nice as I thought.

The room we had was very small, no espresso machine in our room so maybe we got a lower class of room. Our room faced Anting Road and was very noisy. Also, the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. Bed and pillow was so hard it was like sleeping on an ironing board, probably the worst I have ever slep on. I tried to make it softer by folding the extra quilt across the bed but it was still far too hard.

Staff were okay, with the exception of one of the doormen who was really helpful. He had better english than the front office staff and helped us on a number of ocassions. No wifi in the room which is a shame in this day and age. Had to use the internet in the office, which only opened at 9am and closed at 9pm, and was rather expensive for China.

After our previous experience in China, we didn't opt to pay for the breakfast but chose to take the subway into one of the city stations and found somewhere to eat there.

If I return to Shanghai I would look for something nearer The Bund or on the other side of the river.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a soft bed and one that doesn't face Anting Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    32
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
38
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

A nicely decorated hotel that has been well-maintained. There were a couple of weddings hosted during our stay. Good location for shopping. Be sure to pick up a card at the reception desk. You can hand this to a taxi driver so he will know the hotel address.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

as other reviewers point out, this is a lovely hotel in a great location. the breakfast buffet isn't as good as that of comparable hotels in china, but it well does the trick. there are espresso coffee makers available both during the buffet as well as in each room (and it's complimentary). there's also free internet in the room. the rooms are ok, nothing spectacular, but everything works. great location, there's plenty of bars and pubs literally around the corner, yet the hotel in its quiet side street is a calm retreat from the hectic life on the streets of shanghai. basically you'll get a good night's sleep in a decent bed as well as good coffee in the morning if you feel like one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was the first hotel we stayed at with Wendy Wu tours on our trip to China and we where not disappointed.

Everything you needed was provided in the bedroom - internet access, iron & board, tea making facilities, hairdryer, safety deposit box.

The room was light and airy and of good standard of decor. It compared favourably with any 4* hotel I have stayed at in London.

The breakfast was of good quality with plenty of choice and breakfast was quite a leisurely affair here compared to the other hotels!

The location of the hotel is ideal if you want to go out of an evening on your own - plenty of bars within easy walking distance.

By far this was the best hotel of our trip - maybe because it was small compared to the others with very good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiger8MiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lots of hotels are comfortable and provide good service, but there aren't that many that have the ambience of AVH. Set in its own grounds off a quiet street, its the ideal place to relax after a busy day in Shanghai.
Locally (10-15 min walk) there are bars, smart shops and restaraunts and parks to visit. The hotel has a gym and free internet access.
We stayed for two nights at the end of a two week tour of China and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidayh0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Traveled to Shanghai for pleasure and to visit expo. Wanted to stay in the French concession, and while not right in the heart was very convenient. Looks from the outside can be deceptive, looks a little garish but inside very clean. Daily buffet breakfast good, 5 minute walk to underground - rail system fantastic, world class, good English signage and ticketing sales. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This place is close to Hengshan Road and all that has to offer. It is used heavily for Shanghai weddings. The rooms were small and dated, but the a/c worked. I think I paid around RMB450. Overall, I wouldn't return and I would choose something a bit more updated instead. The staff were rude (most in the Shanghai hotel industry seem to be) and not helpful. They wanted to charge me for a map. The corridors are loud and the doors are flimsy. I could hear everything, even my neighbor spitting and hacking in the hallway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#170 of 5,059 in Shanghai
266 reviews
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#378 of 5,059 in Shanghai
67 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#182 of 5,059 in Shanghai
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anting Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anting Villa Hotel

Property: Anting Villa Hotel
Address: No.46 Anting Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#128 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anting Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a commanding facade and lush green lawns, Anting Villa Hotel in Shanghai, China, blends perfectly with Hengshan Road's magnificent buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anting Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Ting Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing