We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 Happy Days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anting Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anting Villa Hotel
Ranked #137 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Poitiers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“10 Happy Days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here in a double room for 10 days and it was great! Our room, overlooking the gardens, was absolutely quiet and we woke to singing birds every morning. The beds were very comfy, the bathroom good size, the Internet (cable connection) worked reliably, plenty of international news channels on the TV. Loved the enormous breakfast buffet, too, with plenty of choices both Western and Chinese. I didn't eat there the other meals because there are excellent restaurants on Henshan Road, just a few minutes walk away and, if one really wants to be spoiled, the fabulous Cotton's is just on the corner with a full range of American favorites like Caesar salad and a Sunday brunch. There's also a great wine shop about 3 minutes away and several little grocery stores. Taxis are so inexpensive we didn't find it a burden to use them all the time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiffsterPoitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    73
    29
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
36
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel is very clean and has many amenities in the room. The staff are helpful, although they do not speak much English. While it felt comfortable to stay there, the restaurant downstairs has a very limited menu with almost no dishes that do not contain pork, so I couldn't eat there. Moreover, the area around the hotel is very quiet and has nothing nice. The hectic traffic in Shanghai makes it difficult to get a cab and go anywhere nice in less than 30-45 minutes which is a hassle.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. While it was a relatively nice hotel I thought it was a bit far away from everything. We needed to use the Subway all of the time. Not as many things within walking distance and the area not as nice as I thought.

The room we had was very small, no espresso machine in our room so maybe we got a lower class of room. Our room faced Anting Road and was very noisy. Also, the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. Bed and pillow was so hard it was like sleeping on an ironing board, probably the worst I have ever slep on. I tried to make it softer by folding the extra quilt across the bed but it was still far too hard.

Staff were okay, with the exception of one of the doormen who was really helpful. He had better english than the front office staff and helped us on a number of ocassions. No wifi in the room which is a shame in this day and age. Had to use the internet in the office, which only opened at 9am and closed at 9pm, and was rather expensive for China.

After our previous experience in China, we didn't opt to pay for the breakfast but chose to take the subway into one of the city stations and found somewhere to eat there.

If I return to Shanghai I would look for something nearer The Bund or on the other side of the river.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a soft bed and one that doesn't face Anting Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

A nicely decorated hotel that has been well-maintained. There were a couple of weddings hosted during our stay. Good location for shopping. Be sure to pick up a card at the reception desk. You can hand this to a taxi driver so he will know the hotel address.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

as other reviewers point out, this is a lovely hotel in a great location. the breakfast buffet isn't as good as that of comparable hotels in china, but it well does the trick. there are espresso coffee makers available both during the buffet as well as in each room (and it's complimentary). there's also free internet in the room. the rooms are ok, nothing spectacular, but everything works. great location, there's plenty of bars and pubs literally around the corner, yet the hotel in its quiet side street is a calm retreat from the hectic life on the streets of shanghai. basically you'll get a good night's sleep in a decent bed as well as good coffee in the morning if you feel like one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was the first hotel we stayed at with Wendy Wu tours on our trip to China and we where not disappointed.

Everything you needed was provided in the bedroom - internet access, iron & board, tea making facilities, hairdryer, safety deposit box.

The room was light and airy and of good standard of decor. It compared favourably with any 4* hotel I have stayed at in London.

The breakfast was of good quality with plenty of choice and breakfast was quite a leisurely affair here compared to the other hotels!

The location of the hotel is ideal if you want to go out of an evening on your own - plenty of bars within easy walking distance.

By far this was the best hotel of our trip - maybe because it was small compared to the others with very good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiger8MiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lots of hotels are comfortable and provide good service, but there aren't that many that have the ambience of AVH. Set in its own grounds off a quiet street, its the ideal place to relax after a busy day in Shanghai.
Locally (10-15 min walk) there are bars, smart shops and restaraunts and parks to visit. The hotel has a gym and free internet access.
We stayed for two nights at the end of a two week tour of China and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidayh0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#159 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#172 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xujiahui
Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel
Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel
#365 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#151 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#220 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anting Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anting Villa Hotel

Property: Anting Villa Hotel
Address: No.46 Anting Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anting Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a commanding facade and lush green lawns, Anting Villa Hotel in Shanghai, China, blends perfectly with Hengshan Road's magnificent buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Anting Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Ting Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing