We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was a radisson blu now a mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Ranked #85 of 5,203 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 13 July 2017

good hotel in residential district of Century Park, Shanghai
quiet area (if there is one) in Shanghai and a good shopping / resturant area just behind the hotel
easy access to the maglev to the Pudong Airport

Room Tip: make sure deluxe room is booked there is an older wing with inferior rooms which is only a little ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
li l, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Greg W,
We would like to thank you for taking the time and having shared your experience with us via TripAdvisor. I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again with us.
Yours sincerely,
Dickens Li
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

in general good hotel with fancy room, very good internet connection that can even connect to netflex! great breakfast. close to few shopping and a lot of restaurants. friendly hotel stuff. Hua Mu subway station is some distance away but still walkable. I had some incidents with transpo, but Hotel Manager Dicksens Li helped me clarified that root case in speedy manner and also proposed the solution. happy that my voice is heard. would come back in the future.

Room Tip: make sure to only ask for hotel stuff with proper name tag to order real transport for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJJH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
li l, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Mr. Chan,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
I have shared your kind words with the team. We are also very glad that you enjoy hotel's location and facilities. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back soon. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.
Yours sincerely, Dickens Li
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

My colleague and I stayed here for a nearby conference and we encountered problematic taxis on two separate occasions, both of which the hotel staffs were of great help.

1. A taxi driver was demanding 'extra payment' from my colleague (who doesn't speak any Chinese) upon dropping her off at the hotel. The concierge staffs came to her aid and negotiated her out of the ridiculous demand.

2. Upon my check out day, my taxi overcharged my trip by a large margin (the receipt from his meter doubled my travel distance). Upon notifying the hotel, the concierge who picked up my issue personally contacted me via WeChat for information, checked the hotel record, and helped sorted out my complaint to the taxi company. As a result, I received the money (and extra compensation) back within a few days.

This personal touch and sense of service is amazing!

Room Tip: The hotel is far away from the nearest metro station (shanghai science and technology museum station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
li l, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Mr. Kongboonma,

Thank you for taking time to sharing your experience recently staying at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park. My colleague and I take pride in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests. We are committed to making a difference every day, continually getting better to keep us the best. Only by candid comments such as yours are we able to identify opportunities to continue to improve on the products and services of the hotel.
I am naturally delighted that you ranked your overall experience and other services at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park as 'Great'. Nothing will give me greater pleasure than to be able to convey your kind words of praise onto my colleagues at Concierge team. It gives us all great pleasure to know that our efforts to provide quality service to our guests are recognized.
Mr.Kongboonma, on behalf of my colleagues, thank you again for you time and feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park in the not too distant future.
Yours,
Dickens Li
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Had a couple of nights in this hotel on business and it was my first time staying at this hotel. Had a suite on the 11th floor. Room was clean but design looked tired.

So the good stuff first. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Had a good sleep. Breakfast was great. Lots of choices. If you have a suite, you get to access the Club Lounge which is a quiet place for you to dine which is much appreciated. The hotel is located next to a complex with lots of restaurants, pubs and shops. Close to the SNIEC but note that taxis do not like to take you from the hotel to the SNIEC because it is too close and they don't earn much money so they try to drive a circuitous route.

There is a nearby park, Century Park, that is quite pretty and one round around the outside of the park is about 5 kms. Great for an evening jog.

Next, the not so good stuff. Bottled water provided was not enough as the bottles were much smaller than normal. There was no sign stating if the tap water was drinkable or not. Shower door would not close properly resulting in water wetting the floor which gets quite slippery as it's marble. Since it was a short stay, I did not request that maintenance fix this issue. Just stuck a towel there to soak up the water.

Staff at the egg counter would make me an omelette and give it away to someone else. Same for the soup noodle counter. They need additional training. Room Wifi speeds were acceptable but slowed down in the evenings.

Finally, when it came time to leave after checking out, the staff at the front hailed one of the dark blue taxis waiting outside. This turned out to be a scam as I caught the driver manually increasing the metered distance to the point that the distance was already more than the actual distance to the airport with 8 kms still to go! I told him that he was cheating and that I would report him. He shut down his meter and agreed to charge me 120 RMB which is about right as I paid 114 RMB on the trip in. If he had left the meter on, it would have ended up at 180 RMB or more! Although this is not the hotel's issue, I cannot help but feel that the front door staff are in on it. There are other Trip Advisor reports that state that others from this hotel have been cheated in similar ways. So beware.

Room Tip: Get a club lounge room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Veloblur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
li l, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Veloblur,
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to share your comments with us regarding to your recent stay at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our rooms, facilities as well as breakfast. We will do better training to our staff to improve their service standard and quality. As to the taxi problem, we believe it belongs to the third party transportation. We have no relationship with such third party. Additionally, I have reinforced with all my management team to ensure that this does not happen again, furthermore, we will call police when we find such situation. We are taking the necessary steps to delight our guests. Your feedback has been shared and well appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back if your travels take you to Shanghai again.
Yours,
Dickens Li
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Room was quite spacious and good, spacious bathroom as well but the service quality didn't match the property.
1. There was a weird sound in the room all the time coming from window fixtures, like thak thak
2. Asked for bed linen change twice but it wasn't done, asked for free shoe shine service but it wasn't done
3. Breakfast items which got over wasn't refilled. A hot chocolate was served which wasn't hot at all.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
li l, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Amit A,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park and posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. It is such a shame that, because of the sounds from window, you had an uncomfortable stay. Kindly be informed that we are just working on fixing our windows to insure that our guest have a comfortable stay. We will do better training to our housekeeping and Food & beverage department about service standard and quality. I really hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver a memorable experience for your future stay. Yours sincerely, Dickens Li
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

For three days I got room in old short building. The room is quite clean and spacious but it's old.The bathroom is also standard.
The last day I got room in separate wing, the tall one. This one is newer, lot better. The room is more spacious. The bathroom is also larger, have bathtub and shower box

Anyway the location is good. Near to the century park, near to carrefour and lots of dining places.

Room Tip: ask for new building, tall one. Not the old short building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
li l, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Christine H,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park. We are happy that in general you are satisfied with your stay in our hotel.

We understand that you were not satisfied with the condition of room in our tower B. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are planning to renovate hotel rooms recently. We have already discussed this matter with The Head of Department concerned and actions will be taken immediately.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We thank you your sharing your concerns, and we wish you a pleasant stay in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dickens Li
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The rooms are nice and spacious and some of the top floor rooms have a nice view towards the city centre. The internet connection works pretty well and there is a desk from where you can work if needed. The bath room has a tub and a shower. Mini bar and coffee are available in the rooms. Breakfast is served from 6-10 and there is a wide variety of choices. The rooms are fairly quiet and prices are fair for Shanghai

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Henrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
li l, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Henrik N,
Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review of our property on TripAdvisor. I am really glad to read that you enjoyed our internet access,hotel facilities,room amenities,food as well as our breakfast. We also deeply appreciate that you trust our property and our Grand Mercure brand for your stays in Shanghai. Having loyal guests is indeed the best reward we can have. We look forward to welcoming you back if your travels take you to Shanghai again. Yours sincerely,
Dickens Li
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#71 of 5,203 in Shanghai
489 reviews
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,203 in Shanghai
916 reviews
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park

Address: No.1199 Yingchun Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200135, China (Formerly Radisson Blu Hotel Pudong Century Park)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#72 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $97 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Pudong Century Park
Radisson Hotel Shanghai
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing