We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to tourist attractions...but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #199 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at corner studio of Pudi 3 nights. The hotel is location at around 5 mins walk from metro station and is close to the famous Hui Hai Middle Road.
If you like to walk, you may even walk to Tai Kang Road (where the art lane is located) and People's Square.
We did not try breakfast at hotel because of average reviews here.
Room is spacious, good wifi, huge bathroom, small kitchenette with microwave.
Gym room is tiny with a lot of dumbbells and two running/step machine, but acceptable for boutique hotel.
The problem with Pudi is also related to its location. There is a KTV lounge next to the hotel, that means noisy at midnight. We suffered three nights of poor qualifty sleep because KTV noises continued till 2 am or so. One more thing, the mattress is too soft based on Asian standard (likely this hotel is designed for foreigners)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel_HK097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We are coordinating with the night club, and a solution might be coming soon. Wish there is another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here 3 nights with friends. We got upgraded to a suite because of a special they were running. We had 3 twin beds in one and there was still a huge amount of room left. The bathroom was huge and very nice. The staff had a can do attitude, very very nice. One exception was a girl who had one breakfast and evening duty. She was not very nice even just when asking for coffee. But we just by passed her to the front desk and everything was taken care of. We were given Eric as our go to guy and he was a great to help us with any questions or services we needed. This is a great hotel to stay at because the staff is so nice and the hotel is very nice and comfortable. Oh, they have a great deck on top to enjoy the wine tasting in the evenings too!

Room Tip: I slept very well in the very comfortable beds but some in our group did have some noise so please a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnycup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your comments, I have talked with our restaurant manager, he will find out what's going wrong and improve our F&B standards. Hope there is another chance to serve you in the future.


Kimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Pudi Boutique Hotel is located right around the corner from Fuxing Park and within easy walking distance to Sinan Mansion, Xiantaindi and Taikang Road. The rooms are quite large, nicely appointed with very comfortable beds and nice bathroom amenities. Breakfast was included in our rate but was quite average - not bad but certainly not up to par with many breakfast buffets in Shanghai or elsewhere in Asia. If it’s included in your room rate it’s okay but would not pay extra for it. The staff was friendly with good English but there were only a few at the desk and restaurant so if it was crowded you might have a wait. If you’re in Shanghai at a time of year when you can stroll around the neighborhoods I would highly recommend this hotel for it’s fabulous location and large comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PAexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your comments, I have talked with our restaurant manager, he will find out what's going wrong and improve our F&B standards. Hope there is another chance to serve you in the future.


Kimi Sui
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent location, great service. Walking distance to Metro 1 and 10 and shops and restaurants. Just great.

Room Tip: Choose a coner studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GAMACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

Thank you very much for your comments, and wish there is another chance to serve you in the future.


Kimi
Front Office Manager
Pudi boutiquehotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We were on a girls trip to Shanghai for some shopping, spa and fun. I found this hotel on tripadvisor and booked four nights. WE LOVED IT!!! Big rooms, comfy beds and very helpful staff. The only thing that was a bit disapointing was the breakfast, but since that was not included for our stay, it didn´t matter. Very good value and we will definatly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you very much for your comments, and wish there is another chance to serve you in the future.


Kimi
Front Office Manager
Pudi boutiquehotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is carefully designed and illuminated to achieve an elegant and cozy atmosphere. Very large rooms with the most impressive shower room I've ever seen.
Despite the usual language barrier, the staff are focused and keep everything perfect ( when I ask about a restaurant directions, the bell boy, left his position and walk 3 blocks to take me there!).Take a look at the room's writing desk drawers and you will understand the sentence: 'God is in details'.
The location is nice, just a short walk to the subway and Xintiandi. They could improve the (expensive!!!) breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chmcsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

Thank you for your comments, and wish there is another chance to serve you in the future.


Kimi
Front Office Manager
Pudi boutiquehotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We had the fortune to choose this hotel through a Travelzoo offer. On previous occasions we had stayed near the Bund but felt we wanted a different location. This came up - unless you want a view down the Bund this is the place to come!
As mentioned in other reviews this is in a very quiet location (construction work nearby has now finished) near to Fuxing Park with walks to lovely areas in all directions. It is only 8 stories high but from most rooms you can see across much of Shanghai.The whole hotel is of 'executive' style. The rooms, the service, the amenities are all of very high quality. You can even get your own aromatherapy bath prepared by your butler - a free service. In spite of all this it is not expensive. The breakfast is in the 'library' with an excellent choice of cereals and fruit and your main course (hot) is prepared to your taste - the choice includes such items as eggs benedict with smoked salmon or champagne scrambled eggs. Wonderful.
The staff couldn't do enough to help. This is indeed a place to savour in all ways.
We didn't try the restaurant this time but we will when we return at the end of this month! We did try the afternoon 'tasting' and the 'afternoon tea'. Delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sultanoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#157 of 5,206 in Shanghai
100 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#182 of 5,206 in Shanghai
191 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#173 of 5,206 in Shanghai
287 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,206 in Shanghai
620 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#162 of 5,206 in Shanghai
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#170 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $131 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pudi Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pudi Boutique Hotel Shanghai is located near Fuxing Park, in the heart of the former French Concession area. The deluxe 8-storey hotel features 52 spacious European-style rooms, an executive lounge, cigar bar, meeting room and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pudi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudi Boutique Shanghai
Shanghai Pudi Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing