We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
111
79
34
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
79
34
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fuxing park french concession long hallway cd dvd player tv stand quiet neighborhood signs of wear walking distance falling asleep huaihai road large bathroom high end shopping soaking tub light switches hotel entrance turn down service upgraded to a suite
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 252 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2011

As a member of SLH club we were accorded a complimentary upgrade to a corner studio room for our 2 nights stay.

Pudi is a stylish 52 rooms boutique hotel in Shanghai French Concession and a short stroll to Xintiandi (dining and entertainment area). Tianzifang (maze of charming art shops, souvenirs, accessories in the old quarter) is also within walking distance.

Each room features contemporary art works by Chinese artists. Breakfast and complimentary pudi tasting (cocktail hour) is served on the 8th floor which has a charming roof terrace.

Service by its front desk and beverage staff is polite but seemingly aloof perhaps due to their lack of fluency in English.

Overall, Pudi's corner studio room is very comfortable, spacious and beautifully furnished. Breakfast spread, though not extensive, allows you to order 2 items from their ala carte western and Chinese menu. Quality is good.

We will stay here again should we return to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments, we are currently organizing a English Training for our front office and F&B staffs. Hope there is another chance to serve you in the future.

Kimi Sui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Very modern with all the conveniences, spacious rooms with wonderful bathrooms, adequate staff, ok breakfast, very good location in the French Concession next to Fuxing Park which was a nice walking respite. If you book direct, be sure to ask for a discount. Nice little coffee shop across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabethfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at corner studio of Pudi 3 nights. The hotel is location at around 5 mins walk from metro station and is close to the famous Hui Hai Middle Road.
If you like to walk, you may even walk to Tai Kang Road (where the art lane is located) and People's Square.
We did not try breakfast at hotel because of average reviews here.
Room is spacious, good wifi, huge bathroom, small kitchenette with microwave.
Gym room is tiny with a lot of dumbbells and two running/step machine, but acceptable for boutique hotel.
The problem with Pudi is also related to its location. There is a KTV lounge next to the hotel, that means noisy at midnight. We suffered three nights of poor qualifty sleep because KTV noises continued till 2 am or so. One more thing, the mattress is too soft based on Asian standard (likely this hotel is designed for foreigners)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel_HK097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We are coordinating with the night club, and a solution might be coming soon. Wish there is another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights with friends. We got upgraded to a suite because of a special they were running. We had 3 twin beds in one and there was still a huge amount of room left. The bathroom was huge and very nice. The staff had a can do attitude, very very nice. One exception was a girl who had one breakfast and evening duty. She was not very nice even just when asking for coffee. But we just by passed her to the front desk and everything was taken care of. We were given Eric as our go to guy and he was a great to help us with any questions or services we needed. This is a great hotel to stay at because the staff is so nice and the hotel is very nice and comfortable. Oh, they have a great deck on top to enjoy the wine tasting in the evenings too!

Room Tip: I slept very well in the very comfortable beds but some in our group did have some noise so please ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnycup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you for your comments, I have talked with our restaurant manager, he will find out what's going wrong and improve our F&B standards. Hope there is another chance to serve you in the future.


Kimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Pudi Boutique Hotel is located right around the corner from Fuxing Park and within easy walking distance to Sinan Mansion, Xiantaindi and Taikang Road. The rooms are quite large, nicely appointed with very comfortable beds and nice bathroom amenities. Breakfast was included in our rate but was quite average - not bad but certainly not up to par with many breakfast buffets in Shanghai or elsewhere in Asia. If it’s included in your room rate it’s okay but would not pay extra for it. The staff was friendly with good English but there were only a few at the desk and restaurant so if it was crowded you might have a wait. If you’re in Shanghai at a time of year when you can stroll around the neighborhoods I would highly recommend this hotel for it’s fabulous location and large comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PAexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for your comments, I have talked with our restaurant manager, he will find out what's going wrong and improve our F&B standards. Hope there is another chance to serve you in the future.


Kimi Sui
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews