We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic location, but UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #217 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 30 April 2012

PLUS:
- Very pretty hotel with lots of details, spacious rooms, reasonable price.
- Fantastic location in French concession, walking distance to shopping area around Huaihai road and less then 10 min walk to Xintiandi.
- Nice rooftop terrasse.

MINUS:
Such a pity, that staff is extremely unprofessional and unmotivated. Just to give some examples:
- Reception staff don't say hello to customer, when they walk in.
- When solving a problem, the receptionist interrupted me and picked up her private phone call.
- Noisy throat-clearing sound from receptionist
- Car-park guide spitting

Summarized, the facilities are very nice and the location is fantastic. Reception staff should be much better trained in hospitality and professionalism. Their manners are really unacceptable at the moment. I hope the management takes my critics seriously.
The hotel is member of Small luxury hotel in the world (SLH). I think SLH needs to check this points. I have stayed in several hotels, which are SLH members and was always fully satisfied. As a club member of SHL I put a strong question mark on this hotel, though???

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naoko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you very much for posting your comments on the Trip advisor Website. Our management team have discussed each point you mentioned and will take action to these problems.Please accept my sincerest apologies for your unpleasent experience during your stay with us.

Naturally we are keen to redeem our reputation and with this in mind may I kindly request that you contact me personally on fom@boutiquehotel.cc so that I can investigate all the issues addressed by you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

we have been there for some nights . There are some good aspects on this hotel but I cannot recomend it to all those people who like stylish hotels .
Good aspects :
Positioning is good ( few minutes walking distance from Xintiandi ) , Rooms are specious .
Negative aspects : breakfast is really poor
Staff seems to be not enough trained
rooms furniture too kitsch to be a design hotel
price is too espensive in comparison with similar design hotel with much better service and room design

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENRICOPTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you very much for posting your comments on the Trip advisor Website. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your unpleasent experience during your stay with us. our management will pay attention to these details. hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Reading the reviews of the Pudi before actually deciding to make a reservation, I was unprepared for what I saw when I arrived. The Pudi is located next to the one of the entrances of Fuxing Park and is a few steps away from Xiantiandi and the French Concession - basically a perfect location for exploring some of the most beautiful parts of Shanghai.

The room itself was very large, with a dramatic bed and plasma tv combination serving as a centerpiece to the room. The bathroom was nearly as large as the bedroom, with powerful showers that hosed down multiple body parts at the same time.

Breakfast was served on a top floor restaurant - the food wasn't spectacular, but was good enough. Plus you're in Shanghai - the best food is out on the streets.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again. Its a great deal in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfo2mnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel within walking distance of Shanghai's stylish Xin Tian Di. Several restraurants and shopping within walking distance, very safe area. Dragon Spa down the street, very reasonable and a welcome respite from the rigors of travel.

Room Tip: Construction going on in buiding so mornings, daytime were pretty noisy on my floor but the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerriW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

After going back and forth about staying in The French Concession vs. staying near The Bund, we choose the Pudi in order to attempt to experience less touristy Shanghai. The hotel is sort of in a strange but safe location, but in order to get to restaurants or nightlife, it was necessary to take a cab. The first night we arrived the cab driver charged us way more than he should have (make sure the cab pulls into the valet when getting dropped off) and Peter, one of the efficient staff members went above and beyond to investigate the situation and did his best to rectify it. If you are visiting on business, it was nice to have a printer and fully-equipped in the room. The rooms are spacious although a bit dark. We never went to the bar or restaurant, but checked out the roof which had nice views. Note that some of the front desk were more helpful/friendly than others and the lobby is quite unimpressive and not a good representation of the room quality. Seemed as though the noisy club many people talk about was under construction and closed during our visit.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor which was very quiet so I'd recommend it. It also seemed brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaykaysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I had the opportunity to stay in during my business travel and many of my experienced business travellers recommended me to experience this and i did...I loved it. absolutely unique experience, not commercial, very calming, as soon as you walk in the hotel and the room, your tiredness disappear. rooms are unbelievable, expensive of cause however you have experience this if you are a business traveller. everthing you see and touch in this hotel is unique. restaurant is small however again this is not commercial hotel, you feel like somewhere you fimiliar and instantly you love thisd place. you can see topend Shanghai shopping streets from the hotel windows. Hotel rooms consists of your own bar, office table, bathrooms are massive and fittings are very unique. Business travelers try this....get this experience, believe me !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in the Pudi Boutique. The hotel is very charming. It is in a great location--close to the subway and shopping. We also loved the free happy hour, internet and the very friendly staff.

Will definitely happily return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balt_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#180 of 5,161 in Shanghai
190 reviews
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#153 of 5,161 in Shanghai
99 reviews
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#169 of 5,161 in Shanghai
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#31 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,016 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#156 of 5,161 in Shanghai
210 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#216 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $143 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pudi Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pudi Boutique Hotel Shanghai is located near Fuxing Park, in the heart of the former French Concession area. The deluxe 8-storey hotel features 52 spacious European-style rooms, an executive lounge, cigar bar, meeting room and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pudi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudi Boutique Shanghai
Shanghai Pudi Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing