We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
US$188
US$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
37
142
81
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
142
81
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese travelerssmell of cigarette smokenice hotelminutes walkingtwin roomnoodlessubway linecabdistrict
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 282 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hotel is a 5-10 min walk to the Longde subway stop on Line 11. You need to transfer at Jiangsu Road (1 stop) on Line 2 to get anywhere interesting (not that Shanghai suburbs aren't interesting....). It takes a good half hour to get from the hotel to the French Concession, maybe 45 mins or more for the Bund and Pudong. The room was very clean and comfortable. A little small for 2 but in good condition. The hotel was obviously built in the run-up to the Shanghai Expo. I think in a few years the condition will most likely deteriorate. The staff were very young and their English was marginal. They didn't have much motivation to help. When we asked for a map, they said they didn't have any. AVOID THE BREAKFAST! The only edible thing were boiled eggs and mine had 2 yolks in it. Hormone eggs! We preferred to go to better places for breakfast even though it was free. Recommend: Kommune, Waga's, Origin. The hotel does have a nice view of the creek, if you get a room that overlooks it. Kind of peaceful. We paid 300RMB a night, and that was the deciding factor for staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the creek
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. Because of the great rate we got on the rooms we decided that we could deal with the distance from the trade show location. The person in charge of making our reservations did not specify a king bed for me so I ended up with two twin beds. The bed had no top sheet just a fluffy comforter. The carpet had stains on it., but otherwise the room was clean. The staff spoke very little English which made it very difficult to communicate. There was no 'real' restaurant, just a caferia of sorts...and no bar. The biggest drawback, though, was getting a cab to pick us up from and take us back to the hotel because it was 'off the beaten path.' Several times we got into the cab, the cabbie looked at the map in the brochure we handed him, and promptly shooed us out of the cab. Very frustrating after a long day. The staff at the hotel was not very helpful in this regard. At one point the concierge (if that's what he was) was wandering aimlessly in the front of the hotel after we'd just been rejected from a cabbie, not making any effort to assist us. Next time I'll pay more to stay closer to the action.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We are so so tired after spent 8 days in China, We spent our last 2 days in Shanghai and stay in this hotel.

Although this hotel is far away from city centre, we are extremely happy stay here. It's definitely the best hotel we stay in China.

The room layout exactly similar with 5-star hotel. A high speed internet connection provided.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Two nights needed in Shanghai so booked in here because Shanghai always seems to have hotels fully booked. This was a little out of the way but walking distance to a station and the rail systen i Shanghai is very very good and cheap. Hotel is near river and surrounds are interesting enough and well kept. See photos. Walking distance to a shopping mall. We took the rail to the Maglev station and the Maglec out to the airport. Was much cheaper than a cab

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We been there for 4 nights in mid of January 2011. 37 Eur paid per double room per night incl. breakfast it is really good price for european style hotel in Shanghai. Located in front of the river with nice building around. Large Carrefur across the bridge will allow you to supply with huge selection of food, fruits and other things you need. Only short walking to Line 11 (station Longde) and than change to Line 2 for another 2 stop to the Peoples Square (city center) and Nanjing Road. Taxi also browsing behind the hotel.
Staff not so helpful, so preffer to do most of things on your own.
Generally speaking hotel in good, clean, and in well condition (looks like new). Sometimes water in bathroom become brown (from hot pipe), so look before use, especially in the morning.
Breakfast is usual chinese style - noodle, boiled eggs, lots of steamed vegetables, rice, two kinds of sausages, tea, nice coffee, toast and jam, two-three kinds of fresh vegetables (tomatoes, slices of cucumber and carrot), mandarins, flakes with milk. For lunch and dinner they can offer 5 kinds of set menu (48 yuan per each), which includes main plate with port and rice, cup of soup and one fruit, for example. But in Carrefour you can take half kilo of beijing duck for 10 yuan, for example.
During my next trip to Shanghai will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews