We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, Clean, fresh... love the bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Ranked #699 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Beijing
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Simple, Clean, fresh... love the bed.”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

if youre on a budget but need a very good bed and nice view, pick this hotel. i stayed in this place for 3 times already and they maintained the property very well. lobby guys are all in casual, very friendly and fast. the hotel lobby itself is not fancy, just a typical receiving area and small but the room will surprise you. ask the guys to put you on riverview. the carpet is clean, lcd tv, good lightings, good AC, the bed is very soft........ clean, new, very white, fresh sheets with 4 thick squeezy pillows. internet is free, with complimentary self serving coffee and tea. the toilet and bathroom supplies are very simple, nice design though and clean. the area is not in the middle of nowhere but some might find it in an odd place along the river near the bridge. across the mainroad, youll find Carrefour- a huge french supermarket. if youre not in a hurry you can walk outside up to the bridge to find taxi or you can ask the reception to get one for you. at the foot of the bridge, theres Oakwood hotel with some nice restaurants in a very new shopping mall. they have also Zara there.I lived in this area before (Wuning Rd) so I can guarantee that the place is near downtown esp Jing An area. Not very far to Xintiandi, Huaihai. I often stay in posh 5 star hotels during business trips but on solo times, I usually stay in this location because it is very quiet and it is clean... just like home. Breakfast by the way is usual american and chinese. not much to choose from but they have enough to have a hearty meal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    137
    71
    8
    11
See reviews for
27
28
31
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The hotel is a 5-10 min walk to the Longde subway stop on Line 11. You need to transfer at Jiangsu Road (1 stop) on Line 2 to get anywhere interesting (not that Shanghai suburbs aren't interesting....). It takes a good half hour to get from the hotel to the French Concession, maybe 45 mins or more for the Bund and Pudong. The room was very clean and comfortable. A little small for 2 but in good condition. The hotel was obviously built in the run-up to the Shanghai Expo. I think in a few years the condition will most likely deteriorate. The staff were very young and their English was marginal. They didn't have much motivation to help. When we asked for a map, they said they didn't have any. AVOID THE BREAKFAST! The only edible thing were boiled eggs and mine had 2 yolks in it. Hormone eggs! We preferred to go to better places for breakfast even though it was free. Recommend: Kommune, Waga's, Origin. The hotel does have a nice view of the creek, if you get a room that overlooks it. Kind of peaceful. We paid 300RMB a night, and that was the deciding factor for staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. Because of the great rate we got on the rooms we decided that we could deal with the distance from the trade show location. The person in charge of making our reservations did not specify a king bed for me so I ended up with two twin beds. The bed had no top sheet just a fluffy comforter. The carpet had stains on it., but otherwise the room was clean. The staff spoke very little English which made it very difficult to communicate. There was no 'real' restaurant, just a caferia of sorts...and no bar. The biggest drawback, though, was getting a cab to pick us up from and take us back to the hotel because it was 'off the beaten path.' Several times we got into the cab, the cabbie looked at the map in the brochure we handed him, and promptly shooed us out of the cab. Very frustrating after a long day. The staff at the hotel was not very helpful in this regard. At one point the concierge (if that's what he was) was wandering aimlessly in the front of the hotel after we'd just been rejected from a cabbie, not making any effort to assist us. Next time I'll pay more to stay closer to the action.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We are so so tired after spent 8 days in China, We spent our last 2 days in Shanghai and stay in this hotel.

Although this hotel is far away from city centre, we are extremely happy stay here. It's definitely the best hotel we stay in China.

The room layout exactly similar with 5-star hotel. A high speed internet connection provided.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Two nights needed in Shanghai so booked in here because Shanghai always seems to have hotels fully booked. This was a little out of the way but walking distance to a station and the rail systen i Shanghai is very very good and cheap. Hotel is near river and surrounds are interesting enough and well kept. See photos. Walking distance to a shopping mall. We took the rail to the Maglev station and the Maglec out to the airport. Was much cheaper than a cab

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We been there for 4 nights in mid of January 2011. 37 Eur paid per double room per night incl. breakfast it is really good price for european style hotel in Shanghai. Located in front of the river with nice building around. Large Carrefur across the bridge will allow you to supply with huge selection of food, fruits and other things you need. Only short walking to Line 11 (station Longde) and than change to Line 2 for another 2 stop to the Peoples Square (city center) and Nanjing Road. Taxi also browsing behind the hotel.
Staff not so helpful, so preffer to do most of things on your own.
Generally speaking hotel in good, clean, and in well condition (looks like new). Sometimes water in bathroom become brown (from hot pipe), so look before use, especially in the morning.
Breakfast is usual chinese style - noodle, boiled eggs, lots of steamed vegetables, rice, two kinds of sausages, tea, nice coffee, toast and jam, two-three kinds of fresh vegetables (tomatoes, slices of cucumber and carrot), mandarins, flakes with milk. For lunch and dinner they can offer 5 kinds of set menu (48 yuan per each), which includes main plate with port and rice, cup of soup and one fruit, for example. But in Carrefour you can take half kilo of beijing duck for 10 yuan, for example.
During my next trip to Shanghai will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, Bulacan, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The travel agency picked it for us. I guess the other hotels are fully-booked. There is nothing much more to do in the area. We just visited the nearby new mall which is small.I appreciate the beauty of the bridge because of the golden lightning. The buffet breakfast is superb but always the same. The bathroom is different because it is glass door. If you are not close to your roommate it can be uncomfortable because he/she may see you from the outside. The closet is big. The room is always being cleaned. The wi-fi can only be used in the lobby. It is nice hotel but so far to the shopping district and tourist attraction. You would have to pay for your cab fare. Usually the Taxi don't know the place because it is far. So I don't recommend it because you only sleep there and not roam the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ims08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping
Caoyang / Zhenru
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wuj...
#1,336 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#138 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#104 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai

Property: Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Address: No.843 Guangfu West Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200063, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #699 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. Strategically located on Guang Fu Xi Road, cross Wu Ning Road, intersection of Pu Tuo, Jin An and Chang Ning districts, the hotel is only 10 minutes drive distance from City Center. Just 20 minutes drive from the Hong Qiao Airport, 55 minutes from the Pudong International Airport and 10 minutes from the Shanghai Railway station, the hotel is perfectly situated for business, sightseeing and shopping. Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai is situated in the central part of downtown Puxi shanghai, it is only 20 minutes drive distance from Shanghai Exhibition Center and Shanghai Mart, close to Jing'an Temple, Jade Buddy Temple and Zhong Shan Park, on the bank of Su Zhou River enjoying its scenic riverside and Garden view, with easy access to Shanghai's shopping center and tourist attractions. Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai, has 237 contemporarily designed guestrooms, Great Room can hold 118 guests for dinning, fully equipment meeting room. You'll enjoy a comfortable, convenient and peaceful stay, plus attentively selected services, complimentary breakfast and an impressive offering of business facilities and free High Speed Internet broadband access. The Smart Simplicity concept makes the Holiday Inn Express a smart choice for the visitor to bustling Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing