We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This place reeked and management was less than sincere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place reeked and management was less than sincere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This place reeks of cigarrette smoke- management was less than willing to provide comfort- bad experience here- go down the road. They don't care about the customer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesCrow87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    8
    13
    15
See reviews for
20
13
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed at this property a few years ago and felt it was adequate for our needs-reasonable price for a good night's sleep while taking care of family business nearby. This visit however did not meet our expectations. The hotel is very run down. Our room contained extremely out dated furniture which was dirty. The mattresses were lumpy, the linens were scratchy. We chose a handicapped room. The bathroom was large but the tub/shower was inaccessible to the handicapped person in our group because it was a standard tub. The only handicap accomodations in the bathroom was the bars next to the toilet. The hair dryer literally looked like it was made around 1960 and was broken. The carpeting was filthy. This trip was unexpected and this hotel was the only Choice property that had rooms available due to a huge UA event. Therefore we just went to bed and checked out the next day to find another motel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbringdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

If you are looking for the best combination of a clean room, courteous staff, and price, this is the place to stay in Tuscaloosa.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabanized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The staff was super friendly and responsive to our needs. The only negative we had
was the phone was dirty in our room. Everything else was clean and had a good
smell to the room. The continental breakfast was very good and the people running it
were very attentive to the breakfast and kept it well stocked. I would definitley stay
there again when in Tuscaloosa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamarph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times, and was sad to see the bad reviews considering I have had no issues myself. The hotel is on the older side, but well kept, and I have yet to have issues with anything working. Breakfast has been upgraded this year to include eggs, and "You make it" waffles in addition to the typical Sleep Inn spread. The workout room is a little small, but functional. The addition of a TV is nice. The rooms are still in need of a little updating, but to be honest I have not found another hotel in the area that is better for the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivieracadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

We really liked our room here, and thought it was a good value. It is as clean as new, not a "remodel," and we liked that it was not on top of the interstate, yet conveniently by it--and bout 4-5 miles from all of the Univ of Ala activity. The staff was pretty businesslike, and the place seemed to be filled up with contractors who liked unwinding with beer by the pool under our window, which, being day-owls, we didn't care for. The cleanliness of the room, the newness of the facility and the convenience of its location make this a safe bet if you're passing through Tuscaloosa.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChessyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We loved having the suite with two bedrooms. The large standing shower was really nice, and our girls loved it. They called it the shower room. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaDool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
4.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#27 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.4 km away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#16 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#18 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.6 km away
WoodSpring Suites Tuscaloosa
WoodSpring Suites Tuscaloosa
#25 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 4300 Skyland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4712 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing