We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gary and Carol S
Manhattan Beach, California

Very comfortable, very quiet, very relaxing hotel!! Highly recommend!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 12, 2024
We loved staying at PiBi Boreal! We came from two different countries to visit Costa Rica and were unsure about all the flight arrangements working well and on time so we arranged for PiBi Boreal as a meeting spot. It is fairly close to the airport (30 minute drive) and much easier to access than driving into San Jose! The hotel was easy to find with our iphone navigation. It is small, very quiet, very comfortable. Each of the rooms has a private balcony overlooking the forest, which was great for early morning birdwatching. (We had an owl visit one night!) There is a lovely fresh breakfast delivered to your door each morning ... fruit, coffee, breads ... . which was just wonderful to enjoy on the balcony. The hotel was convenient to several local attractions and we spent two nights here before heading off to see more of Costa Rica. I would definitely stay here again on our next visit!
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: We had to room that is sized for families, since our daughter was with us. It was comfortable in...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathieu de Watrigant, Director General at Hotel Pibi Boreal, responded to this review
Responded Apr 24, 2024
Thank you very much for your visit and feedback. 30mn ride from the airport take a long time as usual, because of road construction.
Now it takes only 16mn ride from the airport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$206
C$174
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$174
  • Priceline
    C$174
3.6 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$76
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$72
  • Agoda.com
    C$75
  • Priceline
    C$84
3.4 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
C$191
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
  • Agoda.com
    C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$190
3.1 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$284
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$264
  • Trip.com
    C$213
  • Expedia.com
    C$284
3.8 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$258
C$232
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$232
  • Expedia.com
    C$232
  • Priceline
    C$258
7.1 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$119
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$118
  • Expedia.com
    C$118
  • Tripadvisor
    C$118
8.6 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$175
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$151
  • HIExpress.com
3.7 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$837
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$837
  • Official Site
    C$836
  • Tripadvisor
    C$837
19.2 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$162
  • Hotels.com
    C$162
  • Expedia.com
    C$162
4.0 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$177
  • Hilton Garden Inn
4.1 km from Hotel Pibi Boreal
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
84
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
84
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable beds floor to ceiling windows sim card view from the balcony excellent place to stay san jose family run hotel ride from the airport lovely garden first morning costa rica close to the airport night's sleep other guests one night stay would definitely stay here again long flight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 90 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2024

Cozy place to stay on our first trip to Costa Rica! Great light breakfast and coffee in the AM on the terrace, served to your room. Good transportation, picked us up from the airport! Excellent hosts! Will def stay again when in Costa Rica! Pura Vida!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 4, 2024

Wonderful boutique hotel with excellent service. Away from the big city but also close to the airport! Woke up to the sound of birds instead of vehicles! Breakfast delivered to the room which we enjoyed while watching the hummingbirds. Lovely owners!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donnell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 13, 2024

Always a pleasure to spend time at Pibi Boreal. Lidia and Mateo are perfect hosts. Lidia took care of restaurant reservations and Mateo got up EARLY to take us to the airport.
The balcony was a perfect retreat to prepare to leave the country. Rooms are immaculate.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PapergirlTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathieu de Watrigant, Director General at Hotel Pibi Boreal, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2024

Thank you very much for your visit and feedback

Nidia and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2023

Our hosts went above and beyond by picking us up at the airport and returning us the next morning so we could pick up our car. The rooms were clean and the private covered patio/balcony was the perfect place to hang out and listen to the birds.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thimbles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 17, 2023

My husband and I loved our stay at Pibi Boreal. It is a quiet, private property 20 minutes from the San Jose airport with nature and some walking grounds. It truly does not even feel like you’re in the city when you’re here. Owners Matthiu and Nidia were very helpful in making sure we had everything handled for our stay including breakfast, airport pick up and drop off, etc. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty modern too especially for the affordable price. Highly recommend for a convenient stay by the SJO airport.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews