We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pacande(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
302
66
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
66
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgehello goodbyetwo nightscosta ricalast nightsan joseself containedpoas volcanobreakfast is servedrestful nightnext morningthe breakfast areaindividual casitasbeautiful groundsbunk bedsearly departureclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 384 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2016

We took the 'Hello/Goodbye' package staying 2 nights at the start of our trip and one night at the end. So glad we did, this is a lovely place situated in a quiet location yet not far from the airport and only a short drive from Alajuela town. We made use of the restaurant at the Hotel Xandari (about 15 minute walk down hill) the food was tasty and not too expensive.

The accommodation at Tacacori is roomy and clean with fridge and tea making facilities. The bed was comfortable and the large bathroom had a lovely hot shower. Each bungalow is quite separate and felt very private with its own patio area to sit and enjoy the gardens and peace. We enjoyed the tasty and ample breakfast sitting on the veranda overlooking the beautiful, well kept gardens and watching the humming birds. Nadine was a very friendly and helpful hostess and is doing a sterling job keeping this place running so smoothly and she made us feel very much at home. Would definitely recommend this place and if we ever return to Costa Rica, we will certainly go back to Tacacori. Pam & Frank, Manchester UK

Room Tip: We had the first bungalow 'Orchidea' the first one down the path
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sifika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2016

This small lodge has 4 casitas and is about a 15 minute drive from the San Jose airport located just above the city of Alajuela. To be honest we were not sure whether to stay here or somewhere closer to the airport, but we found out we made the right decision. The lodge is secure within a gated compound and beautifully landscaped. The owner, Nadine, has applied her personal touches to the casitas and property grounds. She has a gift of making everything look and feel beautiful. I appreciate staying at smaller more intimate properties, such as Tacacori Lodge, because you get a better feel of the local area and more personal touches and experiences.

We stayed in the Bamboo Room which has a 4 poster bed, two small tables on each side of the bed, a desk and closest combo, locking safe, small refrigerator, ceiling fan, and wonderful little patio outside our room exclusively for our use. The bathroom was simple with handsome stone tile counter and shower.

The king bed has a firm mattress which was comfortable for us. We were glad to have no TV or phone in our room. There is WIFI provided for all guest though if you feel the need to be connected with the rest of the world.

The best thing we enjoyed was the wonderful breakfast on the deck of the Lodge reception area. Here we were able to take in the the beauty of the landscaping and converse with the other patrons. Our breakfast included fruit plate, with toast, jams, eggs (cooked to your specifications) along with assorted fresh fruit juices, coffee, tea or water. We had to leave very early to catch our flight and Nadiine provided us a great breakfast that we could eat in our room along with some travel snacks. That was very gracious.

Nadine, it a wealth of information regarding what to do in the local area or all of Costa Rica. She has many reference books to provide information plus her personal experience. She loaned us one of her travel books to use for the day because it gave us a short review of the small towns we driving through. We ended up changing our itinerary and going with one of the recommendations she provided us.

We chose the Hello and Goodbye package (3 days) which allowed us to acclimatize on our arrival to Costa Rica and then relax before heading home. Overall, this was a very safe, pleasant and restful place for us.

Another bonus is gaining free access to Xandari property which has a spa, very nice restaurant, spas and many miles of wonderful hiking trails. See my review of Xandari Restaurant.

Room Tip: all rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this beautiful place. The rooms are huge and clean, the garden is amazing and perfectly maintained. The owner Nadine is nice and helpful. This hotel is perfect if you have a car and don't want to sleep in a boring big hotel in San Jose.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank max78usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2016

This small lodge is a short drive from the airport. It has nice gardens and our room (Bambu) was fine. We weren't there much as we were out sight-seeing during the day but all was well while we were there. We had arranged car hire via the lodge and that worked out fine. The only issue we had was that our prearranged airport transfer didn't turn up. We hung about for a while, called the lodge (got answerphone) and ended up just taking a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElainewUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Composed of only four casitas, this lodge is nestled in the hills above Alajuela. Beautifully landscaped, you feel as if you are miles away from the nearest city. Each casita is decorated with a theme. We stayed in Casita Bambu, painted in shades of green with a bambu poster bed with mosquito netting. The lovely bathroom is tiled in tones of brown with a big, glassed shower. No trees were cut down to build the casitas. We made our reservations with Carmen, and she was a model of efficiency in getting back to us......excellent customer service. She arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport for $25. The rates are around $120 per night, with a light breakfast included. The lodge and the setting are lovely, but with a few caveats. It is located about ten minutes from town, so to go to eat requires a taxi ride, about $10 each way. You can walk to Xandari, a high end resort with dining and great views. However, it is about a 20 minute walk down a narrow, winding road with no shoulders. The road is not lit, and I would not recommend walking back in the dark....you can take a cab. The lodge has parking so you would have more flexibility if you had a car. Coffee in the rooms was instant and was awful. There was a fridge in our room, but it periodically made rattling noises until I unplugged it to silence it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews