We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tacacori EcoLodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Fantastic! Clean, quiet and simply fantastic. For sure will be going back if I fly to San Jose again. Being so close to the city you would'nt think that such a quiet and beautiful place would exist so near... It's very well kept, the gardens and trees are beautiful. Breakfast is included but need to go out for dinner. Who cares?

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

6 - 12 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2017

This is a great jumping off point for the airport, or making day trips to surrounding parks etc. The grounds are beautiful! We were not able to see the Volcano near by for one of our day trips so we spent the day next door with a day pass to Xandari Hotel. The day pass included lunch, walking the grounds with a beautiful waterfall, and use of the swimming pools/hot tubs for $35 per person. This is a nice deal they have worked out with Tacacori Eco Lodge. The breakfast was fresh and light, and the owner is very sweet and helpful! If you love humming birds, you will love this property. The grounds are spectacular, filled with lots of birds and plants! It is in a neighborhood, so you can hear some traffic, barking dogs, motorcycles etc at certain times of the day. The taxi driver they arranged for us at 4:45 a.m. was GREAT! If you MUST have wifi in your room, ask for a room close to the breakfast area. (Which was my favorite Casita...the Orchid Casita)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank theflowerhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We loved the peaceful, beautifully landscaped property and felt like we were the only ones there. The casita was immaculate and we greatly appreciated the staff's help in having a rental car delivered to the property. We enjoyed visiting Alajuela and Territorio de Zaguates which were not far from this lovely property.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Staying at Tacacori was a wonderful start into our trip to Costa Rica. Having breakfast on the sunny porch after a restful night in the modern and nicely decorated rooms was amazing. The lodge is located ideally on a mountain above Alajuela, so much better air and about 45 minutes to the volcano Poas. Since the volcano was all in clouds the first time, we tried a second time and were lucky to see it clearly in all its beauty. Natalie is a fabulous host offering tips about other activities (e.g. The Doka Coffee plantation) and restaurants e.g Xandari hotel). We should have stayed there for our last night too, because staying in San José or at the other side of a large bridge which will be under construction for quite some time would have saved us a lot of time and nerves before getting to the airport.
We stayed four nights at Tacacori which was not too much to relax, fight the jetlag and get to see San José and drive through the mountains. All in all we highly recommend the lodge for beginning and end of a Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miz2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful evening and breakfast at this Ecolodge. Given our concern for the Costa Rican environment, we were very pleased with the focus on sustainability at this EcoLodge. The rooms were pleasant and comfortable. You are largely immersed in the forest, but it is completely accessible. The small on-site cafe where we ate breakfast was charming and we had a pleasant chat with the owner and with another couple enjoying a tasty, local breakfast of fruits, generous amounts of toast, and scrambled eggs. The freshly squeezed juices and the sliced local fruits were delicious. We would certainly return here. Our room also had bunk beds so it would be great for a couple with two smaller children. We arrived from the airport very late because of delays and the owners kindly met us at the gate of the hotel at quite a late hour and where very welcoming.

Room Tip: Sustainable, beautiful grounds, semi-rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sorexman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We arrived in mid afternoon after travelling, and immediately felt the peace, and the kind and considerate welcome from our host, Nadine. A great breakfast with lots of fresh tropical fruit and good coffee, and so much to enjoy in the garden, and a restful very clean room and veranda. Nadine was unforgettably generous with her time, helping us to enjoy the area, a visit to Volcan Poas, a coffee finca, etc.
Evening meals are not nearby - an excellent one at Zandari hotel, though not cheap, and two typical Costa Rican ones at Nadine' suggestion. Recommend this strongly.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MibbSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

One of the most charming EcoLodges I have ever stayed in! Highly recommend this place for the following reasons:
1. It's an oasis of calm and beauty, 20 minute drive from the airport. Gorgeous garden and well appointed bungalows that offer guests a tranquil setting.
2. Bungalows are spacious, beautifully designed and beds are very comfortable. Washroom is large, and also well designed and decorated.
3. The owner, Nadine, is a gracious hostess that makes guests feel very welcome. She is also a great source of information!
4. Breakfast on the terrace is beautiful, plentiful, fresh and delicious. We had an early flight to catch on our final day and Nadine prepared a prettily arranged breakfast plate for us the evening before.

Tip: if you enjoy hiking, there is a coffee plantation with trails very near.

I highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.4 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#2 of 27 in Alajuela
927 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#6 of 27 in Alajuela
717 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
152 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#3 of 27 in Alajuela
324 reviews
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: Calle Burios | Tacacori, Alajuela 20106, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $143 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing