We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alan M

Welcoming ๐Ÿ™

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 17, 2024
What a beautiful lodge! Nadine and her wonderful Schnauzer welcomed us to thier beautiful place. Lush rich gardens with plenty of birds to watch. Close to the airport and all amenities of Alajuela. We enjoyed the back trail to the stream and the wonderful views of the surrounding coffee farms.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$195
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$195
  • Agoda.com
    C$184
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$302
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$302
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$250
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$108
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$84
  • Hotels.com
    C$108
6.0 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$174
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Algotels
    C$150
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$76
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    C$73
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
C$157
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$158
  • Hotels.com
    C$157
  • Expedia.com
    C$157
6.0 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$196
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$194
  • Expedia.com
    C$194
  • Trip.com
6.1 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$174
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • HIExpress.com
    C$174
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$159
  • Expedia.com
    C$174
6.7 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$144
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$144
  • Agoda.com
    C$142
  • StayForLong
6.7 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    C$1,041
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,043
  • eDreams
16.9 km from Tacacori EcoLodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
334
76
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
334
76
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco lodge beautiful garden breakfast consisted of fresh fruit scrambled eggs and toast costa rica san jose car hire the main house long flight close to the airport the perfect place to stay central valley first stop pollo gate remote sjo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 430 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2024

Don't be put off if the owner seems at first a bit strict with rules. We had an amazing 2 nights here and Nadine was warm and very kind. Chalets are in luxuriant garden and bfast is served on pretty terrace. No mot mot though as it crashed into a window. Would recommendgoing on tour with Nadine: we did Poas and La Paz combo which was great : Poas crater is amazing and La Paz pretty if expensive. Nothing was too much trouble and Nadine sorted taxis etc for us. Whilst the meal in evening was tasty, portions were a bit small so go out. Very pleasant and warm stay.

Room tip: Doka coffee farm good for last morning or day.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joesphb897
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 21, 2023

We made a reservation at Tacacori Econolodge in San Jose Costa Rica for April 4, 2023. My girlfriend requested a room that didn't have stairs and easy access to the room since I was recovering from knee surgery. It took us awhile to find the resort since it was buried in a residential neighborhood on a windy mountains road. Once we entered the hotel, we immediately knew that I would not be able to get to the hotel room due to the hill the hotel was on. But we made it to the hotel room without our luggage to to see if I could get in/out of the hotel easily. Not only could I not get in/out of the hotel room, the room had two small beds, nothing like the pictures they posted on their website. We told the manager we couldn't stay there and she didn't have a problem and understood my concerns with my knee. But the manager charged my credit card for the room and I have been fighting with Booking.com to get a refund for over a month. Sadly, this manager of the hotel was not only dishonest, she posted pictures of a different room. STAY AWAY!

Room tip: Don't trust the property manager, they posted pictures of a different room with a large bed, but the room had small beds.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Voyager06574437783
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2023

We spent our last night in Costa Rica here, and were so very glad. The โ€œcabinitasโ€ are basic, very clean, and in a beautiful garden. The owner is lovely and the food delicious (we shared the dinner tray and enjoyed breakfast). And there is a short-but-nice walk in a private woods, down to a stream.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 18, 2023 via mobile

Room had seen better days and in need of a good clean and renovation. Our room had mould and damp issues and ants were running up the wall behind the bed. We had to move the bed away from the wall to prevent the ants running over our bed in the night. We mentioned this to the owner in the morning and she said she knew about the ants, but they donโ€™t bite! The property was quite hard to find and to get into, with the gate in a difficult position on a narrow steep road. We had to drive along the road three times before we figured out how to get into it, which wasnโ€™t what we wanted after a long drive. The property could be lovely, but currently offers poor value for money and in need of renovation.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RLimbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 27, 2022

We spent our last day and departure day here. The bungalows were great and the garden wonderful. Nadine was a great hostess. We had a lot of time on the day of departure and she gave us a perfect last day in Costa Rica. We would love to come back anytime!

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank corinna1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews