We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great girls weekend - relaxing and regenerating!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great girls weekend - relaxing and regenerating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

From the moment we walked into the wellness center, we felt calm & tranquility. We did yoga every day, sometimes 2x per day and enjoyed the Hammam/plunge pool immensely. We had our stars read, did a nutrition counseling & had a very interesting Chi Kung class. We laid by the pool and read, with an attentive staff (Carlos) who happily brought us smoothies and chatted with us. The food was good, a little bland but very in-line with healthy spa food. We loved the Hummus, Almond Miso Chicken and all the fresh baked breads. We drank the tea (no coffee is offered, which is disappointing since it is Costa Rica) and drank the organic wine, it was good. The views from our rooms were amazing and we watched the sunset every night, with all the windows wide open.

We stayed 3 nights, 4 days - the perfect amount of time. Had we stayed day longer, we would have done one of the excursions. This is not a place to go to meet people, but to enjoy the ones you are with! I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a weekend to detox (kind of), relax and reconnect with your friends or family.

Room Tip: Take the 2nd floor, views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    28
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
60
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My sister and I just returned from a 7 day program Asclepios. Can't wait to go back. Everything was perfect. I can't think of anything I didn't love. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the grounds are beautiful. I was able to run or walk every morning at the sugar cane/coffee plantation next door. The food was unbelievably good. There is not a thing I didn't absolutely love. The chef, Dayanna, is very nice. We had two cooking classes with her and I already made one of the dishes at home. Can't wait to try out some of the other recipes. The service was impeccable. Our waiters, Augustine and Carlos were great. We never wanted for a thing. They really helped make our stay at Asclepios special. The spa was fantastic as well. I especially loved the hot stone massage with Melissa and the Thai massage with Ramon. We had different classes every morning, yoga, stretching, etc. The view from the pool was great. It was very relaxing to sit there during our limited free time. We also went on a tour to Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfall Gardens. Francisco, our guide was very knowledgeable and I highly recommend this excursion. We are already planning our return trip next year!

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor rooms with balcony as the view is better but all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauibabe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Randy and I had a wonderful time of healing here. We have been in marriage counseling with Imago Therapy with http://www.rickbrown.org/ which works! Then we decided to take a healing vacation here to Costa Rica. I can not say enough about the healing atmosphere of this special place. It is magical. Thanks to all staff and to Marisia Jiménez's vision. Your are a blessing.

We had wonderful wines from Central America each night with dinner on the terrace. They were excellent and reasonably priced. I took the cooking class and enjoyed it very much. The food is minimalist here but I felt so much better eating so lightly and healthy after our week here. It was fresh and well prepared. The salads are amazing. Although they did not have arugula as the menu stated. I think it must be hard to plan for so few people. This is an intimate place.

I really got into the whole healing process while here especially my emotions reading "Memory Palace" by Mira Bartok. The resting room is to be used properly. It would help to read up on healing modalities as this is a true healing place that seems ageless. Having studied Greek mythology helped too as this place oozes with it.

Ready to face the world and make life changes after our visit. Muchas gracias ,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The place is nice, although they could have done a better job with the landscaping. The treatments where expensive but good, and the staff was wonderful. The treatment rooms are really nice, brick with caña brava ceilings! We had a one day package that included steam room a full body scrub, vinichy shower (highly recommend it), meditation room, a facial and a massage. The steam room is awesome!!! It is a stand alone building built in the style of a Moroccan Hamman (I think thats how its spelled), anyhow, it was great! The rest of the treatments where very good, and the oils and soaps where all organic and smelled great! The pool is small but has an amazing view and comfortable lounge chairs. I must say that my only complaint was the food!!! It was bad and expensive. I know they where trying to go for organic and healthy, but it was just plain bad. I have eaten at many vegan, organic and healthy places, so I know that this type of food, although light, does not have to taste bad. The waiter was very polite about it but the front desk person was a little snooty at checkout stating that he was sorry we did not enjoy our meal but that it must be that we are not used to this "style" of cooking... kinda patronizing!! what we are not used to is crappy expensive food!!! Reading some of the other reviews it is clear that I am not the only one who feels this way about the food. Anyhow although we had a bad restaurant experience I do recommend the hotel and the spa treatments. We left rejuvenated :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubblyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent four nights here in January 2012. We had hoped for a wonderful experience but didn't get what we expected.

The view from the rooms is stunning, and the rooms are beautiful with folding doors opening one full wall to the outside which is great. Although with only sheer curtains, the room was blazing bright at 6 am making it impossible to sleep in. The grounds themselves are very minimal, mostly just grass. The pool is beautiful, but runs about 75 degress, so too cold for me (or anyone else when I was there). The jacuzzi runs about 85 degrees.

The staff are attentive, but it's a bit over the top at times, bordering on annoying. Still, the staff are customer oriented and try their best to make the stay pleasant given what they have to work with.

The restaurant is very limited with only 5 non vegitarian dishes on the menu, and the same menu at lunch and dinner. Only one dish did not involve fish, so I ate a lot of chicken there. I'm not a huge seafood fan, and steamed fish doesn't do it for me. And this is the crux of the issue here, the place is not about pampering you, it's about healthy. So while they talk about gourmet food they offer little selection and what they do offer is boring. A dinner would be a marinated fried chicken breast with a dozen or so green beans. Dessert would be soemthing like a half a strawberry and a quarter of a mango with three pieces of a parchment kind of pastry. I will say the salads were incredible. The continental breakfast was typically 2 orange segments and 2 or 3 slices of pinapple and papaya, wiht a half a glass of a smoothie.

We had quite a discussion about coffee as apparently the owner doesn't believe in it and won t' serve it. Our waiter, who was wonderful, went to bat for us and we did end up getting coffee as did everyone else there that weekend. But I never saw that waiter again. I asked about him, and the front desk swore he was not fired but I do worry about the poor man who worked so hard to make his guests happy.

The other waiter, Carlos, was excellent and really made the resort. Without him I can't imagine what our time there would have been like. He brought life to what otherwise seemed like a long term care facility.

Did I mention that the only alcohol they serve is a local wine which I found undrinkable? Nothing else. The only choices for beverage at all were tea, wine and smoothies. You couldn't even get a glass of juice and of course milk is impossible.

My wife did several treatments and found them to be fine, good, but nothing special, nothing you couldn't get at any other spa in Costa Rica, or a better version of at home. Although there are some treatments not offered at spas that may interest some.

All in all, the point is that this is not a spa. On reviewing the website again, it never lies, but it really doesn't properly convey that this is not a place to come for fun, it's a place to come if you want to do a program like Detox or weight control or some such thing.

So in the end, unless there is a service you really want that only they offer, you would be far better off to go to a spa retreat. There is a spa about 10 miles away with similar views, nature trails, organic foods and many treatments where you can feel pampered and spoiled rather than like you are recovering from surgery. If however you really want a wellness retreat I will say that this place is beautiful and the staff are very attentive and caring, so you may find what you want here.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms such as Eros and |Zeus are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I spent the day at Asclepios with a group of girlfriends. Most of us had a day package, though a few of us had a la carte treatments. My $95 facial was decent, not the best I've ever had, but definitely the most expensive I've ever had! It did not last a full hour.

We also had a full lunch at the restaurant. I am impressed that most of their food is organic and local, and the main courses were very good. However, I do believe the lunch was also slightly overpriced ($35). We had a choice between chicken, fish and yuca patties. Each dish came with a simple salad (greens with parmesan, figs and almonds), a dessert (papaya pure and grilled pineapple) and water.

The pool area is small but nice, and the view is superb. The rooms are simple, but very nice.

I would recommend it, but only for a discounted rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tstone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked for a few nights this past November 2011. The staff were professional and (Arelys in particular) extremely helpful in booking treatments and excursions. If you go on the excursions be sure to ask for Francisco. He speaks fluent English and can provide a wealth of information about Costa Rica, its people, history, and destinations. He works through the hotel and operates Tico Tours.
The resort is located in the picturesque mountains of Costa Rica's interior nestled among sugarcane fields, coffee bean fields, and nearby Alajuela (not a great place for tourists except for its awesome wood factory). It is not within walking distance to any other restaurants or shops. It does, however, have its own restaurant that serves fresh organic cuisine for the health conscious traveler. If you want burgers and steaks you will not want to dine here. They do serve wine, but do not serve cocktails or beer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. It is easier to access and offers more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krazeyraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
5.4 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
10.1 km away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
24.6 km away
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat

Property: Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat
Address: El Cacao | 750 mts Norte del Hotel Las Orquídeas, camino a San Pedro de Poas, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asclepios (honoring the Greek God of Health) is located in Alajuela, Costa Rica and offers its guests 12 rooms which evoke the most important medical traditions of the world, together with a regulated ionized swimming pool, amphitheatre, fitness center, exercise pavilion, sauna, hammam, nature paths, 6 treatment lodges, a relaxation room and a Conference room.We are located on the edge of a tropical forest with views of the surrounding sugar cane and coffee plantations, mountains and volcanoes.We work with a team of selected holistic practitioners and highly skilled spa therapists. We have put together a great understanding and passion for physical, emotional and spiritual health resulting in great wellbeing.Asclepios also seeks to educate in environmental appreciation and conservation. It is built in siding and brick, two sustainable materials. We use thermal solar collectors and take advantage of natural ventilation and natural lighting. Wild life has been preserved and our primary and secondary forests have been untouched. Our quest is to restore the person’s whole being to its natural state of balance, by correcting such diverse factors as improper diet, sedentary lifestyle, lack of a correct oxygenation, negative thought patterns and their emotional impact, and the lack of rest or restorative sleep, among others.We do this by five Special Wellness Programs that include Detoxification and Revitalization Programs, Stress and Weight Management and the Spa Experience Program.A la carte: Naturopathy, Meditation, Pranayamas, Acupuntura, Floral Therapy, Vichy and Scottish Showers; Kneipp, Shiatsu, Shirodhara, Yoga, Reiki, Tai chi…And, as health also includes your palate: bioenergetic gastronomy, where you can rediscover the original flavors of vegetables, fruits and fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asclepios Wellness And Healing Retreat
Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat Hotel Alajuela
Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing