We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
87
84
25
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
84
25
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown alajuela san jose within easy walking distance recommend casa rooms are clean an early flight pollo umberto tv hallway airport departure costa shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 207 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed at Casa Tago on the first and last nights of our trip.
I am usually very hot, complain about not having AC, but the fan rooms here are more than adequate.
Nice people are the key to this place. Each shift, we had fun talking to the staff, playing with their son.
Location is just in the middle of town, which gives you something more to do than to go to Dennys or sit in the Americanized hotels by the airport.
We tried the Tico place El Fondo del Jardin- which seemed touristy but fun. But, the Italian place around the corner had excellent food and more Ticos.
The rooms are clean. Shower is hot and with strong pressure.
The rooms were unbelievably quiet- though maybe the fan running helped.
We also had to stay an addtional night across the street at Mi Tierra. So to compare, Mi Tierra had a better breakfast, he room was larger. But we liked Casa Tago better.
Casa Tago breakfast we had was a plate of fruit, and some bread with jam or butter- simple. Though most other places give you some eggs and gallo pinto which is nice. Free Wi-fi always a plus- why can't the US do this?

Parking is apparently not safe at night, so we paid a few colones to park in a secure lot down the street, recommended by the desk guy.
Take a walk around Alajuela, check out the park in front of the church. Talk to the people. It is more than just an Airport town.
We did see Volcano Poas with some extra time. If you have been to Yellowstone or other places, it might not be worth the $11, but it is a great drive up from Alajueala.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights before heading off to travel around Costa Rica and 2 nights on the way back and couldn't be happier. The rooms were clean and beds really comfortable. We were greeted warmly and the warmth and friendliness continued right throughout our stay, from everyone who worked there. It's a small place with a family feel and great value for money.

It's very close to the airport and some lovely restaurants that were recommended to us - one is a Tico place just around the corner (the name of which I have already forgotten, but just ask when you get there!) and a Peruvian place not too far away. Both worth visiting! There's lots to do from Alajuela too, just ask someone at Casa Tago and they will help you out with some ideas, without forcing expensive tours on you! We went to a beautiful butterfly farm and to Volcan Poas. Both worth a visit but take a jacket to the volcano!

Breakfast was delicious and always ready for us whether we were up at 6.30am or 9am. There is a computer with free internet access and books availbale to borrow, also they sell water and beer and other drinks should you need them. We would definately recommend this place to anyone and will stay there again when we visit Costa Rica next time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefly2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Casa Tago for 2 nights before we flew home. The hotel was under construction for renovations but it really didn't get in the way of our stay. The hotel is very close to the airport and downtown Alejeula. It is a very clean hotel with a wonderful owner/operator that goes out of her way to assist you, before you get there and while your there. She offered to purchase bus tickets to panama for us prior to getting to the country. She arranged for airport pickup for us when we did fly into San Jose, recommended good food restaurants, she arranged for taxi to the airport when we had to leave, she was just there to help with anything you might need and so very pleasant as was the rest of her staff. She served a simple but delicious breakfast, just exactly what we like. It is a great value place. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueNorthJ_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to flying home. The room was spotless with cable TV and a spotless bathroom. It was fantastic value for money. Constanza, the hostess, was excellent for giving us really good advice on reasonably priced activities and was a great help throughout our stay. The rooms are off a wide corridor and therefore have no natural direct sunlight but we didn't mind. We got our breakfast at 630am on the morning that we left before getting a taxi to the airport ($4 one-way). There was also high speed internet available. This hotel is great value and I would recommend it for staying in before or after a long flight.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corkcam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews