We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff ever”
Review of Hotel Casa Tago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Tago
Ranked #9 of 67 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2010

It was a pleasure to stay at Casa Tago. We have now stayed her twice, once on the way in and once on the way out and will be staying her again on our second way out thanks to the volcano in iceland.

The staff are lovely and go out of their way to help you. We got up late and they still gave us breakfast at 11am which you´d be hard pressed to get anywhere else.

Compared to getting a hostel this hotel is so much better value for money. You get a private room with television, bathroom, hot water, fan, breakfast and free wifi for only 30 dollars and it´s literally 5 minutes from the airport.

The rooms are very clean and although a one we stayed in looked like it may still need it´s finishing touches the second room (room 3!) was amazing, comfortable bed and good size. It´s the staff that make it, it could be a hovel and I would still stay here, but it is lovely, basic but clean, what more do you need?

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdAstra80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed at Casa Tago on the first and last nights of our trip.
I am usually very hot, complain about not having AC, but the fan rooms here are more than adequate.
Nice people are the key to this place. Each shift, we had fun talking to the staff, playing with their son.
Location is just in the middle of town, which gives you something more to do than to go to Dennys or sit in the Americanized hotels by the airport.
We tried the Tico place El Fondo del Jardin- which seemed touristy but fun. But, the Italian place around the corner had excellent food and more Ticos.
The rooms are clean. Shower is hot and with strong pressure.
The rooms were unbelievably quiet- though maybe the fan running helped.
We also had to stay an addtional night across the street at Mi Tierra. So to compare, Mi Tierra had a better breakfast, he room was larger. But we liked Casa Tago better.
Casa Tago breakfast we had was a plate of fruit, and some bread with jam or butter- simple. Though most other places give you some eggs and gallo pinto which is nice. Free Wi-fi always a plus- why can't the US do this?

Parking is apparently not safe at night, so we paid a few colones to park in a secure lot down the street, recommended by the desk guy.
Take a walk around Alajuela, check out the park in front of the church. Talk to the people. It is more than just an Airport town.
We did see Volcano Poas with some extra time. If you have been to Yellowstone or other places, it might not be worth the $11, but it is a great drive up from Alajueala.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights before heading off to travel around Costa Rica and 2 nights on the way back and couldn't be happier. The rooms were clean and beds really comfortable. We were greeted warmly and the warmth and friendliness continued right throughout our stay, from everyone who worked there. It's a small place with a family feel and great value for money.

It's very close to the airport and some lovely restaurants that were recommended to us - one is a Tico place just around the corner (the name of which I have already forgotten, but just ask when you get there!) and a Peruvian place not too far away. Both worth visiting! There's lots to do from Alajuela too, just ask someone at Casa Tago and they will help you out with some ideas, without forcing expensive tours on you! We went to a beautiful butterfly farm and to Volcan Poas. Both worth a visit but take a jacket to the volcano!

Breakfast was delicious and always ready for us whether we were up at 6.30am or 9am. There is a computer with free internet access and books availbale to borrow, also they sell water and beer and other drinks should you need them. We would definately recommend this place to anyone and will stay there again when we visit Costa Rica next time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefly2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed at Hotel Casa Tago for 2 nights before we flew home. The hotel was under construction for renovations but it really didn't get in the way of our stay. The hotel is very close to the airport and downtown Alejeula. It is a very clean hotel with a wonderful owner/operator that goes out of her way to assist you, before you get there and while your there. She offered to purchase bus tickets to panama for us prior to getting to the country. She arranged for airport pickup for us when we did fly into San Jose, recommended good food restaurants, she arranged for taxi to the airport when we had to leave, she was just there to help with anything you might need and so very pleasant as was the rest of her staff. She served a simple but delicious breakfast, just exactly what we like. It is a great value place. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueNorthJ_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to flying home. The room was spotless with cable TV and a spotless bathroom. It was fantastic value for money. Constanza, the hostess, was excellent for giving us really good advice on reasonably priced activities and was a great help throughout our stay. The rooms are off a wide corridor and therefore have no natural direct sunlight but we didn't mind. We got our breakfast at 630am on the morning that we left before getting a taxi to the airport ($4 one-way). There was also high speed internet available. This hotel is great value and I would recommend it for staying in before or after a long flight.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corkcam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Geisha03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
0.5 km away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
109 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#4 of 67 in Alajuela
192 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#34 of 67 in Alajuela
38 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
#35 of 67 in Alajuela
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tago

Address: Calle 3 Avenida 2 | 75 Este Del Antiguo Seguro, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: C$42 - C$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA TAGO is located down town Alajuela, 5 minutes from the international airport Juan Santamaría. We are a small hotel run by the owners who are willing to give a personalized service to our guests. We are a Hotel with policies and practices that go in support of a sustainable environment; due to this the Costa Rican Tourism Institute has certified us as a sustainable hotel. For Hotel Casa Tago, it is important to involve our guests in our objectives to fulfill the propose goals, therefore, during their stay they will find information on actions they can perform.Our rates include breakfast, parking, Internet / WI FI, storage and tourist information. We also provide car rental service, tours, and international calls. The rooms are designed to make you feel at home. In each of them you can find, private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, and a/c or fan.The so-called "city of mangoes" (Alajuela) is very quiet, you can find shopping centers, souvenir shops, supermarkets, and it is close to national parks like Poas volcano, coffee tour, waterfall park, butterfly farm and bird zoo, among others. For us more than a tourist you are our friend who we invite to spend "Pura Vida" vacations in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Tago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Tago Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing