We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Claire M
France

Perfect if you need somewhere close to SJO

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 21, 2024via mobile
Needed a hotel close to SJO as we landed early evening and didn’t want a generic chain hotel. Did everything it needed to as a stop over hotel. Food was good, service was good , rooms were comfortable and clean. Some road noise but as we were up early to start our holiday it didn’t matter
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$130
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$129
  • Hotels.com
    C$129
  • Tripadvisor
    C$129
2.3 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$325
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$325
  • Priceline
    C$274
  • Hotels.com
    C$325
5.5 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$173
  • Booking.com
  • Hampton
  • Hotels.com
6.7 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$214
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$214
  • Vio.com
    C$192
  • Hotels.com
    C$214
6.7 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$146
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$146
  • Expedia.com
    C$146
  • Hotels.com
    C$146
5.0 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$175
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$175
  • Expedia.com
    C$175
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$76
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$73
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$73
4.2 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
C$144
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$144
  • eDreams
6.9 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,042
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$1,040
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,042
22.2 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • HIExpress.com
    C$156
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$167
6.7 km from Villa San Ignacio
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
191
107
26
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
191
107
26
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely common areas great water pressure in the shower great pool area one night costa rica last night species of birds coffee maker in the room quaint hotel air conditioning poas volcano early morning located close an oasis bottled water comfortable beds tropical paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 333 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2024

This hotel is a little gem and I will definitely stay there again if/when I get back to Costa Rica. The two buildings have been beautifully restored, and the result is beautiful boutique like hotel with amazing gardens and trails. I would never have expected to stay so close to the airport and yet put on my hiking boots in the morning for one final look for birds. And there were plenty, I even saw a toucan. The food was pretty good too, and most welcome after coming in from a more basic lodge. My bedroom was lovely and very comfortable.

Room tip: Ask for a room that is not on the main road. It’s noisy.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiap771
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 28, 2024

Villa Ignacio is a really nice hotel, split over 2 nicely decorated buildings with gardens between. Bar is nice (mixes a good mojito) and the restaurant on an evening was really good. Breakfast service was a little slow though.

Our room was big with a nice bathroom, comfy bed and good shower.

Very handy for airport, about 25 minutes in a taxi (though there I no airport noise).

4 not 5 stars as gardens need some work, have become a little scruffy, and breakfast service was slow. However still very good spot to relax before or after flight.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonM_and_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 25, 2024

This is a lovely hotel about 30 minutes drive from the International Airport of San Jose. There is the main area with restaurant, reception, pool, terrasse and the original rooms as well as another larger building a short drive or hike up the hill with more rooms.
We stayed at the Villa at the beginning and the end of our tour in rooms 8 and 11 which are identical except that nr 11 is on the first floor above nr 8. There was a comfortable double bed with a very good mattress and the room was decorated very nicely. The bathroom is small but perfectly adequate. The room itself is spaceous and well appointed with a second washbasin, an A/C, ceiling fan and a safe.
The gardens are magical and there are trails to explore. The view from the top of the property is beautiful and benches throughout the garden invite guests to sit and watch the butterflies, humming birds monkeys and the lovely vegetation.
The pool is beautiful but gets busy at times because this place is popular with families. Dogs are welcome too (though not allowed in the pool...). There is a good pool table and books and games in the large entertainment area.
The food was excellent and the menu quite varied with a good wine list and lovely cocktails.
The staff are charming and very happy to arrange taxi rides or tours.
We had our rental car delivered to and picked up from the hotel which worked very well.
We can definitely recommend the Villa San Ignacio !

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingasiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 15, 2024

Perfect for a first night hotel on arrival in Costa Rica at such a reasonable price. Therefore bear that in mind as for the money it is a very good hotel. Lovely pool and more importantly clean comfortable rooms (ours looked recently renovated). The staff are great and food and drinks reasonable. We had an early start and breakfast was available early eg 7am and the staff very helpful in organising cabs etc. The journey from the airport was in the dark and you go through a local area with what looks like no sign of a hotel but it’s there and is behind a private gated entrance. We’d definitely stay again based on value, comfort and location.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flopsy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 16, 2024

This gated hotel was lovely to stay at. The room was fair sized and clean, though the bathroom door was a bit strange (think sliding barn-door). There was a safe available in our room, though we didn't feel unsafe at all. The onsite restaurant had delicious options and excellent service. Best of all, it was very reasonably priced! The hotel grounds and pool appeared well kept and there was a lounge area with a billard table, chess, and other entertainment.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews