We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacande(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$68
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
756
177
36
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
177
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolorchid housesan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricaoverlooking the valleybright colorscoffee plantationour honeymoonrooms are hugebeautiful groundsmain buildingcity lightsbefore flying homedogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 987 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This resort is so unique and special it defies imagination. The architecture is fabulous, modern, clean and perfect. The grounds are a tropical garden. The staff is spectacularly good and helpful. Food is brilliant. Location is superb... on a hilltop. Only small thing to improve is the view... it's of Alajeula valley which is okay but not the Pacific beach (I have not visited Xandari on the Pacific so that may be a future trip). We absolutely loved our 3 days here. Would recommend it highly to anybody. It was a tad hard to find at first - map said "go on the road to Poas Volcano" but almost every road in Alajeula goes to Poas Volcano so of course we got on the wrong one at first. Took awhile to find the right one... LOL. But it is a lovely home base from which to explore many parts of Costa Rica. Arenal is a bit far (4-5 hours one way given the roads and traffic) but we did do that on one day. I would instead stay nearer to or in La Fortuna. The hot tub and pool we were able to use all to ourselves as nobody else came out to play that night. But if you want a place you will never forget, and that inspires you to create your own living space with the incredible clean lines and lovely features of this place, please do yourself a favour and come to Xandari. The staff even mailed back a camera bag that we accidentally left behind ... at no charge to us!! They also have lovely art and wood for sale. It was the perfect way to end our 2 weeks in Costa Rica. Memorable, incredible, lovely and airy. Pure perfection!

Room Tip: Find the most westerly "road to Poas Volcano" and you will be okay in finding this place. We got lost in Alajeula on the way in and wasted a good 1.5 hours driving around before we got oriented and found the right one... then it was easy and well marked.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Our love, excellent, beautiful, marvellous, top food, luxurious, paradise, very clean, very secure, greatest view, breathtaking, ingenious, paradise garden, sensational, top friendly, very helpful and flexible staff team became sort of family for us, lovingly, royal........ just to come back again and again! more than excellent!! see you again on christmas in the paradise of paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabruli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Excellent service, very nice staff, lovely food and great grounds.
We walked their trail to the waterfalls with our children (6&8) and had a swim there, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichielMazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We spent an extraordinary long weekend there 12 years ago and returned a few months later because of the exceptional service and unbelieable natural beauty.We have travelled the world since and finally came "HOME" Nov.14th!! With our travel budget cut by 75% due to the economy I used the Luxury Link website to book and was treated like a princess by all!! The staff is just fabulous and the quality of accommodations and drinks and cuisine are TOP NOTCH!! I just cannot tell you what a wonderful surprise it was to feel greeted by family all these years!! The beauty of the property is unsurpassed and the friendly, warm and down to earth people of Costa Rica are a treasure to warm your heart!! Thanks Lucy, Marco, Jose, and Jose and Rodrigo and most especially Diana and the rest of your loving and gracious staff!! Bravo!!! god Bless you all!! Lydia Caldwell, Tampa, Florida

Room Tip: We are older now since our first visit 12 years ago and had Villa 8 was so close to the lobby and just near the first pool and jacuzzi. This was ideal given my medical issues and the "rainy" season in which we travelled. We are older now since our first visit 12 years ago and had a villa near the first pool and jacuzzi and also by the lobby. This was really helpful especially in the "rainy" season!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junglefun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We spent the first and last night of our Costa Rica honeymoon at Xandari as our home base to the main airport in San Jose. The staff was very responsive and helpful in arranging reasonably priced airport shuttles, and we had great service in the restaurant for both breakfast (complimentary!) and dinner as well. The rooms are very colorful, and while it wasn't the most extravagant stay, it was certainly satisfactory and comfortable.

One of the factors that persuaded us to stay at Xandari rather than the "transition from the U.S." hotels close to the airport were the other reviews noting the amazing grounds and delicious food, and I have to echo those comments. Our first night there we arrived when it was already dark, so we just enjoyed a great dinner at the restaurant (very fresh fish, delicious salsas) and relaxed. The morning before we left to head back home, our eyes popped open at 6:30 AM, so we took that opportunity to relax in the jacuzzi for a while and then head out on a hike through the grounds to the waterfalls - we earned our breakfast that morning! The grounds really are gorgeous and merit some exploration, and they have plenty of tours available for a more extended stay.

Room Tip: If you want to stay closer to the main building (fewer hills, not having to deal with the rain), request villas 7-12. We stayed in 20 our first night (stand-alone villa right by the pool) and 9 our last night (shares a building with 10, very close to the main building and a pool/jacuzzi).
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delpha_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews