We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bereavement Thank You!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Sometimes, a Hotel needs a review when you don't stay there. My wife and I have stayed at our favorite hotel, Xandari, quite a few times before and we were looking forward to ending our trip in Costa Rica with a quick stop over prior to our morning flight back home. Sadly, just one week prior to our booked and confirmed stay there, my dear Father in Law passed away. Obviously, all our plans changed immediately and we needed to end our trip to be with family. Even though our stay at Xandari had already been billed to my American Express account, the booking staff at Xandari refunded every penny of the confirmed reservation. I think that speaks volumes for the integrity of this four star resort. If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, do yourself a favor. Do not miss Xandari. How could you ask for more? A great hotel with a heart.
So unusual in this day and age. Thank you, Xandari. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulandsuenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I can speak only to the restaurant and attendant staff, since I was staying at Tacacori Ecolodge just 600 meters up the road from the Xandari entrance gate. I made the walk down and up the hill twice and was most glad I did. To start with, the views of Alajuela and the Central Valley from the open-sided Xandari restaurant are fantastic. I really enjoyed the sunset and the lights of the cities below during dinner and the daylight views during lunch. My dinner entree was red snapper Xandari style; it was a generous serving, thoroughly cooked but not dry. The palmito salad and macademia cake were exquisite. The lunch was Taco Alemanda (I would have called it chicken fajitas), with the chicken accompanied by guacamole, black bean frijoles, fresh salsa and tortillas. Nicely presented and, most important, tasty. The service in both cases was very good. I was greeted and seated promptly by a courteous and friendly member of the wait staff who made sure that the dining experience exceeded my expectations. Definitely a place to visit again on future trips to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We only stayed at Xandari for one night on our way home back to Canada. We were flying out of San Jose airport and Xandari seemed like a great option. Xandari surpassed my expectations and made the end of our holiday as special as all of the other moments. The hotel itself is very unique...lots of colourful art installations everywhere. We were only there for a few short hours but during that time we enjoyed lunch by the pool - with a beautiful view over the valley and San Jose. Then we enjoyed a hike....it was getting dark so we couldn't make it to all the waterfalls on the property, but at least made it to the largest one! We couldn't believe this little paradise existed in such close proximity to San Jose and to the airport. Then we enjoyed a wonderful meal at the restaurant - with a view of the sparkling lights of San Jose - and bought a few souvenirs in their shop. The staff were excellent and because we had an early flight, they packed us a boxed breakfast to take along with us. The little things make all the difference. If you are flying out or into San Jose, I would most definitely recommend Xandari as a stopover...next time I'd like to spend 2 nights!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was absolutely delighted at this resort, lovely walking trails, excellent restaurant, fabulous staff and do I need to tell you about the Spa? This has it all, located on a hillside with beautiful views. The villas are clean and more than spacious with wonderful views. They grow much of the food they offer in their restaurant. You can stroll through the jungle down to waterfalls or flower gardens and fruit orchards. I understand they opened a beach front property and I plan on visiting someday. You cannot go wrong with this resort. We stayed at three very nice resorts and Xandari was by far the most beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Judy P. Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed Xandari.
In 2007, we opened our 2nd resort and spa, “Xandari by the Pacific,” on the beach at Playa Esterillos Este. Four years later this resort became a part of the Del Pacifico development and no longer relates to Xandari.
We look forward to your return trip to Xandari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you love:
-Artistic, airy rooms with bright colors and unique designs
-High-quality food at a reasonable price (the chocolate terrine and the filet of steak are magnificent)
-Private, thatched-roof spas with views of the central valley
-Friendly, helpful staff
-Clean swimming pools, outdoor showers, lovely walks and waterfalls right outside your door...

...then you will love Xandari.

They manage to blend the outdoor and the indoor perfectly - making you safe and cozy but letting you feel like you are always with nature. A job very well done. I keep going back... and I never get tired of it. Amazing that you can find something this lovely so close to the airport. A really relaxing spot that just feels good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OsoGata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Xandari resort and spa was the first stop on our honeymoon and was lovely. The setting is beautiful, with great views from the room balconies and from the restaurant (especially looking down on the city at night). Our room was big and tasteful, and we had a lovely outdoor area. The gardens are stunning and there are great trails onsite - we saw lots of birds. The food was lovely, particularly breakfast and lunch (try the "tower of health" for breakfast). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeymoon_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Xandari Resort & Spa, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Xandari is a true tropical paradise consisting of 23 individually designed villas on 45 acres overlooking the central valley of Costa Rica. The resort is conveniently located around 20 minutes from San Jose International airport and around a 10 minute ride to the colonial city of Alajuela (Costa Rica's 2nd largest city).

The resort features trails with 5 beautiful waterfalls, fantastic gardens, 3 pools and jacuzzis, a working farm and orchards. At an elevation of around 3900 feet, the temperatures are delightful - it was around 70 - 80F during our stay and cool in the evening. Individual villas, original artworks and the unique architectural design make Xandari a wonderful experience.

Our package was for 3 nights in a Prima Villa (there are also Premium Plus and Ultra villas, a unique round villa and a larger villa for a large group or family). The package included breakfast each morning - many choices of breads, bagels, fruit, muffins, yogurt, smoothies. You could add eggs or more substantial fare for an additional cost but we did not need to since the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and very good. Also included was 1 tour you could pick from 4 choices - we did not avail ourselves of this since we did all 4 of the options self guided. All 4 tours were on the property grounds and included an early morning bird tour, farm and gardens tour, trails and waterfalls and medicinal plant tour. There are around 85 species of birds and it was wonderful to wake up to the delightful birdsongs each morning. The trails and waterfalls are great and we did all the trails which took us around 2 hours round trip. The farm has chickens, turkeys, goats (Sparkle & Twinkle), and ducks. There is quite an extensive orchard with various fruit trees. Most of the salads at mealtimes come straight from the garden to the table!

Our Prima Villa was very spacious with colorful artwork, great design, 2 queen beds (you could also ask for a villa with 1 king bed), a generous seating area, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea, a refrigerator with complimentary water and fruit juices. The bathroom was very nice with bathrobes, a generous closet, a huge shower with full windows overlooking our private garden - what a nice way to take a shower! Our patio was very spacious with 2 lounge chairs and a table with 2 chairs overlooking the valley - the view was amazing as was the stargazing at night. We even had our own hummingbird who lived in the banana tree next to our patio. Every villa has its own private entrance and you never hear your neighbors and the patios are all private (if you like to air dry after your shower - no one will see you ;-)

The dining room was an indoor/outdoor combination - again with the great central valley views. The menu features an extensive variety of healthy and not so healthy choices - from Costa Rican dishes to filet mignon, chicken and pasta dishes. There are also creative vegetarian dishes and salads. Everything we had was very good and reasonably priced.

The common areas are very nice, reception was very friendly and efficient, there is a small shop featuring local crafts (we purchased a nice locally made blanket) and of course coffee! There is a computer and printer setup for guests to use and WiFi in the common areas. No TV in the rooms but there is a TV room in the common area with DVDs, etc. for guests to use - but who wants to or needs to when you are in this place with all there is to do. The pool and jacuzzi areas (there are 3) are nicely landscaped with plenty of lounge chairs and tables and chairs to use and big, fluffy towels and again with the amazing views of the valley. The only complaint we had was that the jacuzzi could have been a bit hotter.

I did partake of some of the spa treatments and Konrad, the spa manager & Carla, my therapist, were great. The spa itself is very nicely designed with 5 individual treatment palapas with jacuzzis and great views. There is even a resident spa cat, Pancha, who greets the guests (she likes to have her belly rubbed and her ears scratched). Prices are competitive and it was well worth it. I was so relaxed, I availed myself of the chauffer driven eco friendly golf cart to take me back to my villa.

Xandari has a pretty comprehensive program of sustainable tourism - solar power, irrigation system, etc. When the owners purchased the land it was a coffee plantation and everything had been cleared for coffee plants. They have planted hundreds of native trees & plants in an effort to restore the area to its native diversity and they succeeded -- this is now a wonderful habitat for birds, butterflies and other wildlife. Guests can participate in the reforestation effort by planting a tree. The owners, Californian architect, Sherrill Boudy & his wife Charlene, who created much of the artwork, have done a fantastic job in creating this wonderful oasis.

Thanks to Lucy Alfaro, the reservation manager, for helping us plan our Xandari stay around our Costa Rica Expeditions tour to Tortuga Lodge and Monteverde Lodge and Gardens and for arranging our airport transportation. All the staff at the resort were great! HIghly recommend this place - perfect for before and after explorations of other areas in Costa Rica since it is close to the airport but far enough away to be tranquil and peaceful.

Pictures coming soon - our villa, the grounds, dining room and menus, pool area, etc. We took so many pictures this trip that we have to get them organized before posting the link. Also stay tuned for my story (still writing it) of the Costa Rica Expeditions portion of our trip to Tortuga Lodge and Monteverde Lodge & Gardens.

We had not been back to Costa Rica for about 5-6 years and this trip was well worth it and very enjoyable. .

Room Tip: any room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
17.2 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
0.4 km away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
709 reviews
19.2 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
710 reviews
6.8 km away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $179 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing