We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xandari - a true Costa Rican paradise close to SJO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Our party of four adults spent three separate nights at Xandari during our 12 day trip to CR. It is close to the airport but away from it all! We stayed in Villa #24 which was beautifully designed (as is the whole resort) with original artwork and bright colors. Villa #24 has two queen sized beds and a sofa bed so it worked great for us! Also, the bathroom is HUGE and beautifully designed with a wall of windows overlooking a private “backyard” tropical garden. There was even space to do yoga in the small garden. The resort has very nice views day and night over the central valley.

The restaurant is quite good, with yummy mojitos, and a plentiful free breakfast. There is WiFi available in the main building.

The west pool and Jacuzzi are totally awesome! We used them each of the three nights we were there and loved it. When we arrived we were practically the only guests and had the run of the place!

On our last day in CR we were able to walk some of the lovely trails on the property. The waterfall trails are very nice though if it has rained recently you should know that the water will be quite brown which is not so inviting. But the trail is very well maintained and I would recommend it for everyone. We did not use the spa but it looked very inviting.

The location is very close to SJO but away from the crowded streets of San Jose. Close to Poas volcano and other attractions. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: The West Pool and Jacuzzi has unbelievable views of the valley. Stay in one of the Villas on that si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashimarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Staying here was a splurge for us with 2 children. What an amazing place. The gardens, food, art work, service, views, pools are incredable. Great before flying out of San jose, so close to the airport yet so far away. Day trip to Poas Volcano and the la Paz waterfall gardens. The highlight was my breakast of tropical fruit and cooffee, knowing that it all came from the property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This artistically designed and decorated resort is totally impressive. Even to those familiar with the lush exotic tropical plants of Costa Rica, this is a noteworthy place. The spacious rooms are each unique with unusual arquitecture, furniture design, art and massive views of the central valley.

The restaurant has excellent service and cuisine. The views at night from the Restaurant are indeed impressive.

The Spa is truely tropical and the services and staff are excellent. Be sure to include a hot tub with your partner before the massage. Definitely worth the money as it is done with luxury and style in a private cabana...

Room Tip: The fitness center is a walk through the grounds.. Go early in the day as rains in the afternoon are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Exceptional services. Rooms are spacious with Amazing views.
Lucy, Viviana are very helpful and prompt in making reservations. Their driver Rodrigo was very good and very helpful.
If you love colors u should say here.
I will definitely come back and stay there.
Beautiful Gardens!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHAWANADAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

every detail was thought of,incredibly friendly and helpful staff, artisticly beautiful and private villas phenomenal views and the most wonderful hiking trails you could ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I've now stayed at Xandari 6 times, and until this time I would not have hesitated to rank it with 5 stars (or even more if I could). This place approaches perfection: gorgeous architecture, wonderful food in an open air restaurent with a perfect view of the Central Valley and lots of birds for the bird lover, spacious and delightful rooms, lots of hiking trails with numerous waterfalls and great plants, 3 wonderful pools. And best of all, it is only a short ride from the international airport. Due to its proximity to the airport, I now stay here the first night I arrive in CR, and the night before I fly out. What a great way to start and end a Costa Rica vacation! I never had even the slightest complaint until my last stay. I was in a villa that was split in two like a duplex: I was on one side an another party was next door. And boy were these people loud talkers. I don't know if the villas are not well insulated for sound, or if these people are just the loudest loud talkers in the world (use your INSIDE voices), but it was so annoying that I just found the least objectionable station on the radio and turned it up to drown them out. If one pays more they can stay in a private villa--that would eliminate the chance of noisy neighbors. Or maybe one should just hope for the best, as my other 5 stays were perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

How do you describe heaven? Wonderful friendly nice people (staff & guests), physically stunning grounds-- vistas and gardens everywhere you turn, unique art and architecture that delights the eye (the photos on the web aren't even as dazzling as it actually is!), tasty fresh food, attention to the details. Not nearly as expensive as a place this lovely and qualitative could be. We stayed 3 days and never got bored for a second. Did all the hikes and trails, had a meditation session with Konrad (who works in the spa too), toured the whole property, slept, ate, read, swam in 2 of their 3 lovely pools, saw sunrises and sunsets, never wanted to leave. Bring warm clothes to layer on at night when it gets chilly both for evening wear and sleep wear. Blankets provided but it's still somewhat chilly inside the rooms even with the windows closed. No a/c or heat, no real need. During the day great breezes. Can dress casual or semi dressy, depending on you. They have a wet bar (sink and mini-fridge so bring things for lunch --cheese, bread, some veggies) and bring alcohol, which they'll sell you but it costs. Free soft drinks, water and coffee/tea. Internet and a computer only in the main building and no TV (YAY!) in the rooms, just in the main building. If you're a light sleeper, the birds will wake you so bring ear plugs. They provide eye shades if you don't want to wake with the sun or are light sensitive when you sleep (there are shades but they don't cover every inch of window). When you go on the hikes, grab a walking stick from the main building-- you'll need it. Not all rooms overlook the valley with the stunning view, so if you want that make sure to ask. We didn't get a treatment or massage at the spa but it is gorgeous and looks worth it...for next time!

Room Tip: If you don't want much walking, ask for a room near the main building, otherwise you'll be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NisiyaTova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
17.2 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
0.4 km away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
707 reviews
19.2 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
710 reviews
6.8 km away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $179 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing