We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xandari Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$133
US$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacande(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
742
175
34
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
175
34
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyorchid houseinfinity poolsan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricaoverlooking the valleybright colorscoffee plantationour honeymoonrooms are hugemain buildingbeautiful groundscity lightsbefore flying homelonger stay
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 966 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We spent the last three days of a four week journey in Costa Rica at the Xandari Resort. For the most part our trip in Costa Rica was "rustic" , outdoorsy but amazing.

We decided we wanted the last few days in Costa Rica to have Air Conditioning, no jungle creatures and alot of luxury. The Xandari fit the bill. The staff we friendly and always helpful. The gardens are amazing as are the two incredible swimming pools. The resort is only a 20 minute drive to the Airport , approximately a half hour to Poas Volcano and and hour to the artisan town of Sarchi.

The Xandari is in Alajuela a much more laid back city just outside San Jose, it is a much better alternative to staying in the City of San Jose at the beginning or end of your trip to Costa Rica.

We ate at the restaurant each day and all the meal choices on the menu were excellent

The location is amazing, it is an old coffee plantation that looks onto the mountains and city below. At night the lights of the city below and a passing lightening storm made for incredible views.

Highly recommended at the start or end of a trip to Cost Rica if you are flying into or out of San Jose International Airport

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Everything in Xandari is beautiful.
The rooms, the swimming pools, the grounds, the spa, the trails....
Just go there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Looking for handicap accessible hotel for myself, husband and wheelchair bound adult son.
We stayed night before leaving Costa Rica. Villa and view beautiful, however, ants and some worm creature in our bath area. Lights in living room so dim you could not read or play cards after dark. Lack of window coverings made it impossible to sleep after 5 am. Needed to get out flashlight in order to see lock on outside gate. Golf cart to take us to room was unsafe for handicapped person. No side to seat or seat belts. Had to hold onto our son to keep him from flying out. There was no bath bench to allow son to take shower. We would not have stayed another day there even if we had been booked there. Bed provided for my son was a section of sofa with sheets on it. Would not have booked here if we had been informed he would not have a bed.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggiecat-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My new husband and I came to Costa Rica for our honeymoon in June of 2010. Our first stop was the Xandari resort in Alajuela. We had a private driver from the airport to the resort, which I highly recommend, as the airport is a little crazy with all the taxi drivers vying for your business. He was very kind and professional. Our private villa was amazing--so much bigger than even our apartment back in NJ! The view is top notch of the mountains (resort used to be a coffee plantation) and private terrace is lovely. We took full advantage of the amenites - we explored the several trails around the property, visited their spa a few times (and it's worth it to get a private jacuzzi add-on after your massage--it's open air and so relaxing). The food is great and even though there is only one restaurant, we didn't feel bored with the choices. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and more than willing to help you with whatever whim you come up with. We felt that they genuinely cared and wanted our trip to be great. Even though our honeymoon was during the typical 'rainy season', it only rained a bit each day and we had lovely sun the rest of the time. Also, it is worth the price break to go during that time of year. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metravel7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We had a truly remarkable trip to Xandari early in August. With the "Green Season" discount we got 3 nights for the price of 2. We have a Ultra Premium Villa which was amazing. High quality location by any western standards. Great restaurant, wonderful spa, beautiful rooms, fantastic amenities. Really I have nothing but the best to stay about Xandari. I am hoping to go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryce85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews