We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BOB760
Carlsbad, California

Not Bad

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 13, 2024
Decent hotel a couple miles from the airport. Despite its name, too far to walk to the terminals from here. One way free shuttle service, but it would be nice if it was both ways. Decent restaurant attached to property. Typical CR rooms, pool on premises, coffee makers in rooms, friendly staff.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$143
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$151
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Hotels.com
    C$151
2.5 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$173
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Algotels
    C$142
  • Hotels.com
    C$173
5.1 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$172
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$172
  • Trip.com
    C$166
  • Hotels.com
    C$172
3.6 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$166
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • HIExpress.com
    C$166
  • Algotels
    C$144
  • Hotels.com
    C$166
5.1 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$140
No prepayment needed
  • Fairfield Inn
    C$140
  • Expedia.com
    C$140
  • Hotels.com
    C$140
3.6 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$213
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$213
  • Vio.com
    C$189
  • Hotels.com
    C$213
8.4 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$256
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$207
  • Expedia.com
    C$256
3.6 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$332
  • Expedia.com
    C$315
  • Priceline
    C$280
  • Hotels.com
    C$315
7.6 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$143
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$143
  • Tripadvisor
    C$143
  • StayForLong
5.3 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,038
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$1,036
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,038
24.9 km from Hotel Aeropuerto
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
183
205
74
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
205
74
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jose costa rica free shuttle air conditioning late flight near airport last night beds were comfortable an oasis next morning car rental grounds driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 518 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2024

The problems with this hotel started before we got there- it took 45 min together from the airport to the hotel, traffic in San Jose is terrible. We had stayed at the hampton on the way and I wish we had stayed there again. The hotel rooms itself were pretty sketchy and only semi clean, think a Super 8. My husband had chosen the hotel for the brewery and he did like that

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 19, 2024 via mobile

On the plus side:

Clean enough
Beds comfortable (brought our own pillows)
Bar and restaurant adequate
(Food very so-so)—no nearby restaurant options

Cons:

Most room with 2 queen beds sleep more than 2 people. We had 3 in one room and had to pay an additional $15 per night. Why have 2 queens and charge for an extra person?!

Breakfast advertised on Trip Advisor as FREE—is not. $8 per person and very basic. If free breakfast were included, we MIGHT have understood the extra room charge. It was not.

Two towels in the room. No bath mat.
No hooks for towels in the bathroom.
One room had tv channels in English, but the other rooms did not, and it couldn’t be programmed for English. The front desk personnel were not interested in helping, could not have cared less. More or less just shrugged shoulders and reiterated that they had nothing to do with the management style, which of course is true.

We had a general overall feeling that we did not get what we paid for. The hotel advertises itself as “budget”, but at $270 for 2 nights, breakfast not included, that’s no budget price.

I’ve stayed in many Costa Rican hotels over the past 20 years. I brag on the quality of Costa Rican hotels to friends and family. But if you want a budget experience, there are several hotels easier to get to, closer to airport, with free breakfast and free shuttle. The price is generally $50-80 per night, depending. Much more bang for the buck.

So disappointed. Will not return.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jillm722
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2023 via mobile

Clean, affordable, close to airport. But also a breath of fresh air in the traffic! Garden with animals, birds and butterflies. Pool. Great restaurant. Appreciated the large comfy room, AC, clean bathroom. Used it on our first and last night of our vacation. Will come back.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank geebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2023

Beautiful, tropical grounds around the hotel and pool. Convenient to airport and offer one airport transfer for free per day of stay. Craft brewery, bar and restaurant attached. Nice room with air conditioning and CNN.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 2, 2023 via mobile

As out flight was landing late in the evening, we chose to spend our first night in Costa Rica here at Hotel Aeropuerto. It was a perfect choice with all of the conveniences you need in an airport hotel without that big chain feel or price. Locally owned and run, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the garden was delicious and our free shuttle to the car rental was waiting for us at our scheduled time.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jet34968037805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews