We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meat - viande extraordinaire ! ”

Restaurante El Sabor de la Montana
Ranked #15 of 239 Restaurants in Alajuela
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: Follow the footsteps of the road, indulge your palate with specialties in grilled meats and foods.
Restaurant details
Description: Follow the footsteps of the road, indulge your palate with specialties in grilled meats and foods.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

We got there around 2:00 pm and the restaurant was empty. But our children ( 8 and 2) were starving. The waiter was nice and friendly and we got served very quickly and with a smile, although we clearly were asking the chef to start again when she just finished cleaning her kitchen.
The beef I ate was one of the best I had in my whole life, it was tender but tasty. I will remember it for years. The rest of the family was also very happy with their dishes.
Great experience. Thanks again to the chef, who I congratulated and she seemed almost ashamed.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Anne738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant looked inviting from the outside and became better inside.

Nice variety of meals even for kids. Good portions. Reasonable prices. EXCELLENT SERVICE.

Quite local dishes. And you know what they say when it's filled with locals :-) it's a winner. We came about 12 on a Sunday and 30 min later no space left.... all local families. Big place too.
Great place and would definitely go back.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank MikionVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018

We stumbled across this restaurant after taking a wrong turn to La Fortuna and I'm glad we did! The Casado is fantastic -- chicken or fish. Beautiful inside and excellent service.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

Food was very good, service time was normal, the staff was very friendly, would definitely recommend the agua dulce and the platano maduro, VERY tasty!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melib2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

Somewhat pricey.. But the service, quality and taste is worth it. I tried the pork chop, and requested veggies instead of rice, no extra charge for that. A must in the area. Best "agua dulce" you can find.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank And506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante El Sabor de la Montana also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Fraijanes, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Restaurante El Sabor de la Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing