We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Costa Rican Food”
Review of Coffee Dreams Cafe

Coffee Dreams Cafe
Ranked #29 of 239 Restaurants in Alajuela
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Good food, reasonably priced. Staff was kind and patient. They did not speak English, but with patience they were able to understand me, and I, them. I made some inquires as to the names of drinks and dishes I saw other people having and accordingly made a decision on my order and I was not disappointed. Overall it was a good experience.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank poonamw829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2017

I gave it a 5 because the espresso is really top notch

The cafe accommodated us even when we arrived late - when they were about to close, thus, we had an exclusive private experience

The place is well maintained - old/traditional spanish-çolonial decor, floors, tiles, chairs, photo frames even tiny detail of the stairs and metal and wood carvings - utensils & presentation is dainty

Price matches what you pay for -- its not cheap, but really good food

Pastry highlights Costa Rican style, even the Mocha Cake we ordered had different texture but matched the strong solid taste of the espresso !!!

so far our experienced was more than great!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank EveR114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2017

I would say if you want to sample typical Costa Rican food this would be a good choice.Big variety at reasonable prices and all our choices tasted good. Service was friendly. Also nice location to just sit and enjoy a cup of coffee.Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TTBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Located in the centre of Alajuela this restaurant has good food and of course coffee! The service is good, and the prices very reasonable.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Robert_Hick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Nice cafe offering friendly service in a comfortable setting. Traditional meals like casados are available, along with fancier dishes like sea bass. Pork tamales are especially good -- though you will of course pay a premium for enjoying them here rather than on a stool at the nearby market. Coffee is also quite good. Definitely a nice place to relax and enjoy a hearty meal.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Dreams Cafe also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Coffee Dreams Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing