We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paul and Sharon
Toronto

A nice local hotel near the airport

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 22, 2021
We stayed here a few nights post and pre flights. This is a very nice location with a pool, wifi and breakfast. The rooms are cleans, smell fresh and are comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would stay here again when near the airport in San Jose.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$139
  • Expedia.com
    C$151
  • Destinia.com
    C$124
  • Priceline
    C$144
3.4 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$209
C$173
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
  • Priceline
    C$173
  • Hotels.com
    C$173
4.9 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$156
No prepayment needed
  • HIExpress.com
    C$156
  • Algotels
    C$144
  • Expedia.com
    C$167
4.8 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$173
No prepayment needed
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Vio.com
    C$163
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
3.5 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$333
  • Priceline
    C$274
  • Expedia.com
    C$324
  • Hotels.com
    C$325
8.2 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$146
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$146
3.5 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$213
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$213
  • Vio.com
    C$194
  • Priceline
    C$213
8.9 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$256
C$231
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$231
  • Hotels.com
    C$231
  • Priceline
    C$231
4.5 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$144
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$144
  • Tripadvisor
    C$144
  • StayForLong
5.0 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,038
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,040
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,042
  • eDreams
    C$1,040
25.5 km from Hotel Brillasol Airport
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
125
171
53
31
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
171
53
31
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle airplanes fly breakfast and dinner hot water late arrival first night in costa rica airport gate garden country plants proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 408 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2020

Brilla Sol is located in the very vicinity of the San José airport. The Maps.me navigator app was not able to find the rather complicated way thereto, whereas Waze made it. The beautiful courtyard behind a huge gate is surrounded by high walls isolating the hotel from the less developed neighbourhood, like an oasis in the desert.

Although wearing ear plugs, the air traffic woke us up a few times during the first night. According to the map the planes pass the hotel at a distance of 300 m. Anyway, we liked the room, staff, garden and the pool so much that we returned there at the end of the vacation and were not disappointed. For some reason, this time the air traffic did not disturb sleeping. Perhaps the bypassing planes were landing, not taking off.

The breakfast and the room were good.

As a bonus they offer a free transport to the airport.

We travelled before the COVID-19 pandemia.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikk0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 22, 2020

Very clean rooms, nice reasonable restaurant and service excellent and a very relaxing lounge area/s.
*I would note it can be a bit nosy with airplanes taking off overhead (right in flight path)and probably why price is cheapest than most and swimming pool should be kept cleaner.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

This little hotel near the San Jose airport was a gem. Spotless rooms, lovely gardens, nice pool and super staff. The best place to stay when you need to be near the airport. The grounds are very secure and though the planes overhead can be loud, they didn't seem to fly at night so we weren't bothered by them. A real surprise as the cost is low and so were my expectations.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

The five star review that Brilla Sol is given is totally false. This is the worst hotel ONE star hotel because there is not a ZERO option. The neighborhood location leaves a lot to be desired. There is a locked gate and one has to knock to enter and it is very scary at night. The hotel is not the cleanest and roaches have free range even into your suitcase and bed at night. The bathroom is terrible and dated. We could not stay and they refused to return our money. This hotel gives a very poor view of Costa Rica. I DO NOT RECOMMEND. San Jose, Costa Rica has so much better to offer.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Passenger589782
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

cape Verde sal airport was clean and very high security, fantastic, and tui aircraft was very clean and well equipped, flight was amazing. beautiful hot 3 course meal on board, but limited duty free, but other wise excellent.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews