We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John H
Westmount, Canada

Very Good for What It Is and the Price - Just Not Luxurious (3 star)

Review of Hotel Robledal
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 16, 2024
This little hotel has a few benefits. Close to the airport for a quick one-night stay over. Nice for birders due to the gardens at the back of the property (saw the pygmy owl!). Nice enough breakfast buffet. The hotel offered airport shuttle service for free. And very low cost per night. . No real negatives. It is just a simple hotel. Rooms are air conditioned. Wifi worked. Clean, safe. Good for sure.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Get up early for a quick birding peek. - Worth it.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$216
C$179
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$180
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • Tripadvisor
    C$180
6.3 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$299
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$298
  • Priceline
    C$243
  • Hotels.com
    C$298
9.1 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$210
C$197
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$197
  • Hotels.com
    C$197
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$201
C$157
No prepayment needed
  • HIExpress.com
    C$157
  • Expedia.com
    C$169
  • Hotels.com
    C$168
6.3 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    C$76
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$76
5.4 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
C$197
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$197
  • Agoda.com
    C$186
  • Hotels.com
    C$196
9.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$154
C$144
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$145
  • Agoda.com
    C$145
  • Tripadvisor
    C$144
6.4 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,251
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,255
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,256
  • eDreams
    C$1,255
26.3 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$114
  • Agoda.com
    C$106
  • Hotels.com
    C$132
2.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$153
  • Expedia.com
    C$152
  • Hotels.com
    C$153
4.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
268
113
19
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
268
113
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pygmy owl close to the airport costa rica san jose a family run business last night free shuttle two week trip would stay here again on site restaurant grounds are lovely about minutes from the airport pollo comfortable rooms an airport hotel poas volcano emmanuel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 411 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2023

The hotel overcharged me by $100 for ONE extra person for ONE night!!! They refuse to give me a credit! Terrible customer service. Would NOT recommend this hotel at all. The grounds are nice but it is not worth the hassle when you are charged too much.

Room tip: Check your receipts closely! They overcharge me $100 and refuse to refund my money!!!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JLPLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Robledal, Dueño at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2024

This guest made reservations for two rooms, for one person each. Our rates are occupancy based and there were in total 6 people. They arrived in different times and were travelling with another family who had a separate reservation. We provided different airport shuttles and breakfast for everyone. Rates were adjusted accordingly to the real occupation and a statement was provided on check out. We received an excellent review from them. A week after we received communications about the amount differences and request for reimburse. It was explained in detail the charges for the extra 4 people ($20+tax per person), but then we received responses all in capital letters and conditioned the reimburse or we would receive bad reviews. They state their reservation was OK, delete the good review and provided this one instead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2023

Convenient to the airport, flight path overhead but as this is not a very busy airport - no problem. Set in beautiful, well maintained grounds, great for birdwatching. The rooms are spacious with showere, hairdryer,A/C & good wifi. Breakfast is fresh fruit followed by eggs, pancakes. Dinner is very good, the fish is excellent. A family run business, they are extremely obliging, sorting out transfers to & from the airport at any time you require. Emmanuel's birding trip was excellent.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank r0bert870
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 20, 2023

Absolutely wonderful hotel! Stayed here the last night after a two-week trip around Costa Rica, before heading to the airport the next day. What a peaceful, relaxing way to wind down from a busy trip. Very friendly people, and excellent food at the restaurant for dinner and the breakfast that's included with the stay -- best food we had the whole trip, which was a great surprise. The hotel maintains a nest box for Ferruginous Pygmy Owls on the property, and I got to see them several times during my stay, which was a nice bonus! Beautiful gardens as well, attracting various hummingbirds. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank norrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2023

Exceeded all expectations! Wonderfully friendly, helpful staff, very comfortable rooms, with aircon. Great restaurant with lots of varied choices, all of which were delicious. The grounds were absolutely magnificent, full of beautiful flowering and foliage plants/trees chosen to attract wildlife eg butterflies, variegated squirrel, and so many birds - humming birds, tanangers, orioles, wrens, grackles, pygmy owls, woodpeckers, kiskadees, kingfisher, squirrel cuckoo and so much more! Also good views across to scrub land opposite hotel where we saw vultures etc. Lovely swimming pool with attractive waterfall feature. Emmanuel was the most wonderful wildlife guide, taking us to Poas volcano, a waterfall, a cafe with wildlife feeding station, and a wild bird trip near the hotel.

Room tip: Just the most perfect place to start and end a holiday in Costa Rica, close enough to airport, with shuttle service
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CatrionaKomlosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2023

We stayed for a total of two nights, at the beginning and end of our trip. It's a pretty property about 10-15 minutes from the airport, with a good restaurant on site and plenty of birding right on the grounds. We had fantastic looks at a nesting ferruginous pygmy-owl, several hummingbirds, and more. Emmanuel and his family make you feel at home; we wish we had a little more time to do tours from there. The rooms are simple but clean and many open right on to the beautiful plantings and gardens.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank demetrios212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews