We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Farrah K
Herndon, Virginia

A gorgeous few nights at this charming hotel!

Review of Hotel Robledal
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 27, 2024
The staff is kind and friendly. This is a small family run hotel and they take care of all of their guests.

I stayed here as a solo traveler on my way to surf camp. This hotel had been recommended by the owners of the surf camp.

My room was super clean and had a great view of the courtyard. I dined at the restaurant at the hotel for most of my meals and very much enjoyed every dish.

One of the main perks was the shuttle to and from the airport.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$180
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hampton
6.3 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$76
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
C$220
C$197
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$197
9.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$144
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$144
  • eDreams
6.4 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$153
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$152
4.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,251
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    C$1,256
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,256
26.3 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$129
  • Expedia.com
    C$132
2.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    C$157
  • Expedia.com
    C$169
6.3 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$256
  • Expedia.com
    C$299
9.1 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Expedia.com
    C$197
  • Hotels.com
4.9 km from Hotel Robledal
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
268
113
19
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
268
113
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pygmy owl close to the airport costa rica san jose a family run business last night free shuttle two week trip would stay here again on site restaurant grounds are lovely about minutes from the airport pollo comfortable rooms an airport hotel poas volcano emmanuel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 411 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2024

Garden sanctuary attracts birds and birdwatchers, yet still conveniently close to SJO airport. Pleasant on-site restaurant with full menu. Breakfast included. Friendly, very responsive, accommodating staff. Delightful place to spend our last night in Costa Rica.

Room tip: Grateful for airport shuttle. Drop offs available hourly, early AM to late PM.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 29, 2024 via mobile

This hotel is rated officially at two stars in CR, but that does it a bit of a disservice. I stayed two nights ant the beginning and end of a log birding trip and was well received, lodged and cared for both times.

It is clean, comfortable and generally very well maintained accommodation, if you are not looking for super luxury decor and amenities. The beds are comfortable, the AC works and the property is safe and secure. All the staff with whom I dealt were very kind, courteous, helpful and caring.

If you speak any Spanish, they appreciate the effort you put into it but for most get along well in English.

The restaurant food is good. Camerones al diablo is a good pick for dinner if you like spicy sauce/soup and rice. (Good enough that I had it a second time.)

The grounds are lovely, well maintained and alive with birds, if only mostly the usual suspects. Still, the Cinnamon Hummingbird visits every morning and owls are not unheard of. I didn’t use the pool, but it looked well maintained.

All in all, not super-luxury, but not at all shabby. Avery good choice for a single traveller, couples or birding/naturalist types.

The owner, Emmanuel, is an excellent guide to local birding spots, as well as a most courteous, companionable and intelligent businessman.

I have no qualms in recommending this property highly.

Room tip: Rooms 15 to 18 are newer and are at ground level. Room 10 is up a flight of stairs. This hotel is on the airport flight path. So, AC noise
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JLicharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 16, 2024

This little hotel has a few benefits. Close to the airport for a quick one-night stay over. Nice for birders due to the gardens at the back of the property (saw the pygmy owl!). Nice enough breakfast buffet. The hotel offered airport shuttle service for free. And very low cost per night. . No real negatives. It is just a simple hotel. Rooms are air conditioned. Wifi worked. Clean, safe. Good for sure.

Room tip: Get up early for a quick birding peek. - Worth it.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 13, 2023

The hotel overcharged me by $100 for ONE extra person for ONE night!!! They refuse to give me a credit! Terrible customer service. Would NOT recommend this hotel at all. The grounds are nice but it is not worth the hassle when you are charged too much.

Room tip: Check your receipts closely! They overcharge me $100 and refuse to refund my money!!!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JLPLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Robledal, Dueño at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2024

This guest made reservations for two rooms, for one person each. Our rates are occupancy based and there were in total 6 people. They arrived in different times and were travelling with another family who had a separate reservation. We provided different airport shuttles and breakfast for everyone. Rates were adjusted accordingly to the real occupation and a statement was provided on check out. We received an excellent review from them. A week after we received communications about the amount differences and request for reimburse. It was explained in detail the charges for the extra 4 people ($20+tax per person), but then we received responses all in capital letters and conditioned the reimburse or we would receive bad reviews. They state their reservation was OK, delete the good review and provided this one instead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2023

Convenient to the airport, flight path overhead but as this is not a very busy airport - no problem. Set in beautiful, well maintained grounds, great for birdwatching. The rooms are spacious with showere, hairdryer,A/C & good wifi. Breakfast is fresh fruit followed by eggs, pancakes. Dinner is very good, the fish is excellent. A family run business, they are extremely obliging, sorting out transfers to & from the airport at any time you require. Emmanuel's birding trip was excellent.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank r0bert870
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews