We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only way to see Costa Rica”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Juliette...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only way to see Costa Rica”
Reviewed July 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn’t recommend more highly seeing Costa Rica with this company. The vans are really well equipped with all the kitchen utensils, bedding fan etc you could need. We brought our own mosquito net to hang above the bed which was useful.

We took the van for a month and were able to see pretty much the whole country with the help of the app iOverlander which was invaluable in helping you to find good wild camping spots/ campgrounds. We felt completely safe everywhere we slept and were able to camp for free on the majority of nights, with a few nights in campgrounds here and there to make use of the amenities.

When we got the van stuck (compeltey our fault) Florian and his team were a huge help in sorting the situation out and ensuring the rest of our trip wasn’t affected.

At times the poor road conditions in Costa Rica would be better suited to a 4x4 but there is always a way around the problem roads even if the route takes a little longer, and the benefits of sleeping in the van in this beautiful country far outweigh this.

E.g the route 160 along the coast in Guanacaste looks legit on your phones maps but in reality is worth approaching with caution as some parts (around ostional/Nosara) can be pretty muddy and treacherous especially during rainy season. Maps.me is a great free app for offline sat navigation however it did take us down a few rogue dirt track roads which it thought were shortcuts, when there were actually paved highways close by which would have been a lot quicker and easier. Worth checking out all route options before setting off.

All in all an incredible trip! Special mention to our fave camping spots at the Arenal lake, puerto soley beach for sunset and thermales laureles campsite by the Arenal volcano. See pictures :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MimmiBlac...
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgetable journey!”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

As we like traveling individually and i had quote a few experiences which campervans in Australia, this guys with their compamy are the best! Easy and fast communication, the van was Delivered even a bit earlier, well then something broke and we had to get back yo their garage. But was fixex quickly and we took off.14days without any issues of the Car. We took the little USB internet which was great and used the recommended app for finding places to stay. I think in 2 weeks we paid 2 time a campground for showering. The rest we used recomended spots that used yo be the best! The shower motor on top of the Car didmt work but we managed. Fully equipped!all You need to enjoy costa Rica your way! We felt save all the time , locals approved of curiousity and loved the idea of the van, they even offered us their bathroom in need! Very friendly and open people se met.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chloeleau
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only way to see Costa Rica! ”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a van for over just over three weeks and had an amazing time! We never would have been able to visit or experience the places we did without the freedom of having this van. Great opportunity to try out van life while exploring a beautiful country. Would highly recommend Costa Rider, great vans and even greater customer service!! Thanks again guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily A
1 review
“Loved it !!”
Reviewed January 19, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The only way to see Costa Rica !! We what 14 days to see the beautiful country. Thanks to the camper van we were able to see most of it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The most amazing time was had !”
Reviewed January 13, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Me and my girlfriend had the best month ever and i would say cheapest.
The transport isnt as accessable in the remote parts of costa rica so this helped alot and accomadation is expensive. We loved it, even when we got our van stuck (our own doing) they sent for help. Florian and Frank are great, always just a call away. Vans are in great condition.everything you need. Book it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyHL
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
1 review
“Great fun, great service, awesome trip!”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My family and I rented a costa rider van for 7 days. We cruised from Puerto Viejo to the mountains, to the pacific coast, to San Jose and back. The van was comfortable and made an excellent platform to tour the country. The service of Costa Rider is excellent. When we had engine trouble Floran had us picked up within two hours and gave us a new camper. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and cruising it by camper van is the way to go. Renting a camper van is a cost effective way to travel, not to mention it is really fun! Thanks Floran and Costa Rider!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcusger...
Friedberg, Germany
1 review
“For us the best way to make good experiences with people and country”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It were great 4 weeks with this car.
We found really good places to camp in Costa Rica with this car.
The campervan is really fully equipted. The owners give even a mirror for shaving, witch a man needs after some days even in the joungle.
Very great ist the solar outside dush. Everywhere you want you have warm even hot water for a pleasant dush.
The engine runs in good condition we never had any problems.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing