We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Burle1
Saint Louis, Missouri

Hotel Mi Tierra Casablanca

Review of Hotel Mi Tierra
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 13, 2018via mobile
I actually stayed at the sister hotel called Mi Tierra Casablanca which was a great experience. It is a beautiful white building on a hill in a quiet/safe neighborhood. The floors were filled with modern art which the owner made. The rooftop balcony offers spectacular views. This hotel is an easy walk to modern convenience stores and a few minutes walk from the downtown square. The owner set me up with a taxi for the early morning flight home. Good vibes, unique art and American music was played during my stay:-)
Date of stay: February 2018
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$179
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$220
C$196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$196
4.9 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$145
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    C$145
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.5 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$132
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$132
5.5 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,254
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,254
21.6 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$258
  • Expedia.com
    C$298
4.5 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$197
  • Hilton Garden Inn
1.3 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    C$157
  • Expedia.com
    C$169
2.5 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$153
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$62
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel Mi Tierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alajuela
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
52
44
28
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
44
28
14
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 158 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

Couldn’t have had a better stay in Alajuela! Located only 5 mins from SJO, the hotel itself is incredibly clean, and rooms are not very expensive, especially considering that some of them have private bathrooms. My favorite thing to do here is have morning coffee was on the rooftop Bonsai garden. From the rooftop, you have an incredible views of San Jose and the whole Central Valley, and 5 different volcanoes (Poas and Turrialba to name a few)! Roberto Cacho, the owner of Hotel mi Tierra, was very hospitable, friendly and laid back. He is running an art collective with his friends at the hotel, so it is decorated with so much beautiful and original art! Staff is friendly, willing to give recommendations, and they have a kayaking adventure company as well, so if you are looking for a bit of adventure, this is the place to be! I can not recommend this place enough, Roberto helped made my stay in Costa Rica truly unforgettable.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank eileenm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 20, 2017

This place is not only the easiest gateway to the airport, it's well located in the quiet and beautiful Alajuela rather than the bustling and crowdy San Jose. Walking distance from the city center, mall providing bars, restaurant and cinema at his door step, easy access to the suroundings such as Poas Volcan, La Paz Waterfall Garden, ... if you have some extra time. The place offer a great local breakfast every morning and the staff is genuinly friendly ! Did I mention the astonishing view all over the beautiful central valley at night ? I had an early flight in the morning and the owner Roberto organized a taxi for me which literally took less than 5 min because there is no traffic on that side of the city !

I recommend this hotel 100% and would come back anytime if I have a flight to catch the next day.

Pura Vida !!!

Room tip: The room on the top as the best view on the central valley and it's incredible at night !
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B4012ZPlorenzob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We stayed at this property's sister hotel, Hotel Mi Tierra Casablanca, which doesn't seem to be rated separately in TripAdvisor because it is new. We booked the Hotel Mi Tierra in downtown Alajuela but were asked to go to the new hotel instead. It is not as well located...you can walk to downtown but it takes about 15-20 minutes...but it is located in a quiet neighborhood.

The Casablanca is in a large white house. We had a very spacious family room on the top floor. It is not fancy but it is clean. The owner, Roberto, was very friendly and he has decorated the hotel with his artwork. We had the best gallo pinto of our whole trip here (and it's included in the room price). Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget option near the airport.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zippy-Pamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Hotel Mi Tierra is run by some incredible folks. If you need to stay near the airport (lots of 6am flights) THIS is the spot. The hotel is about 10mins from the airport. If you want to spend some time in Alajuela the location couldn't be better. The central plaza is only a few blocks away and a few blocks more you are at the central market.

The hotel is has simple, clean rooms with TV and fan. The price is great and there are options for even more economical stays (such as shared bathroom). The pool is just right for a cool dip or hanging around. Breakfast is included.

This is a great option for those staying in the central valley.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 11, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel close to the airport ($4-6 in cab), perfect for late or early flights. Clean, comfortable rooms, breakfast included, showers were hot, and most of all Roberto and his staff are incredibly welcoming. Helped us with buses, cabs, and recommended restaurants nearby. We arrived at 1am and had no problems checking in, front desk is 24hrs but still send an email to let them know your timing, they respond within a day. We liked it so much we booked our last night here too. Thanks for a wonderful stay Roberto, Pura Vida!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews